Whats the best notebook/laptop to get? Help!

R

ravedave

Gamer Member
Hi,

I just wanted someone to tell me whats the best notebook/laptop for around £500 as this is my first time buying one, i would like to get one that i can play games on, games like The movies,Ghost recon etc, any help would would be fantastic.

Regards
Dave

jankerson

jankerson

Super Moderator
ravedave said:
Hi,

I just wanted someone to tell me whats the best notebook/laptop for around £500 as this is my first time buying one, i would like to get one that i can play games on, games like The movies,Ghost recon etc, any help would would be fantastic.

Regards
Dave

You really aren't going to get much for that. ;)

If you want something to play games on you need to more than double your budget.

Laptops that you can really play games on with good graphics cards in them are around £1,300.

ThreeOnTheTree

ThreeOnTheTree

Agreed. At that budget, you'll end up with something very basic. Graphics won't be that great, nor will battery life. Most entry level notebooks have integrated graphics (they use system RAM) like Intel Extreme, SiS-based, or Via based graphics. About the best you can hope for is ATI X200, but even then it won't be earth-shaking power.

jankerson

jankerson

Super Moderator
Something like a Dell Inspiron 9300 or Latitude D810 both with the upgraded graphics Card would be good choices. (256 mb 6800 Go in the 9300) (128 mb Radeon X600 in the Latitude D810)

That will also be a good price point to see what it takes to get what you want.

R

ravedave

Gamer Member
Hi,

Thanks for the replies i just got them as i was away over xmas and new year.

I've been looking on ebay alot for a laptop and there are lots of excellent high spec laptops on there but it's hard trying to find a seller to trust as there's alot of people getting riped off just now which is a shame :mad: .