What to get for $80?

pcpal

pcpal

I've been putting off getting a new card now for more than four months now it's time. I can spend around $80. I play games once in a while but since HL 2 and Deus Ex 2 is coming out I'll be playing a lot more. That's it $80...

phenix

phenix

If you're going to want to play HL2 and Deus EX2 i wouldn't recommend wasting $80 on any card on the market right now. I would either A: Wait until the Radeon 9500 series comes down to $80 or some other cheaper version of DX9 card comes out or B: Spend more money and buy a better card by selling that Geforce2 and adding the funds to your videocard pool.
I would highly recommend focusing on buying something that will support dx9 if you can stand to wait a little longer. those games won't be out for a few months anyway.

Last edited:
wrathchild_67

wrathchild_67

Hidden Member
The sad thing is is that he'd only get about $20 for that Geforce2. No one wants them anymore, I told my friend to do the same thing with his Geforce2 and then I went to eBay and saw just how low they were going for. The only way to up that resale value is to pawn it off to an unsuspecting friend/family member in dire need of an upgrade. Underhanded? I know. But hey, if you really want to be able to play the two best games coming out this year...

pcpal

pcpal

I wouldn't even get $20 for that card. No way not today! I couldn't even give it away. I have stuff for sale now that's almost free but still no takers. It's funny when one has hardware/software for sale and at a great price nobody ever buys it.

All I want is a decent $80 video card. I'm not looking to show up anyone with bragging rights about how fast or great MY card is. And I don't care about the "latest" technology x9yx85x or whatever.

agw_01

agw_01

Modified Member
As has already been mentioned, it would be best to wait for a bit to see if the 9500 comes down in price, but I'm sure for $80 you could pick up a second-hand GF3 Ti500 or something similar.