Peer-to-Peer

T

TCrom

I'm still new at this, but when setting up a peer-to-peer network, why do you have to have 'Client for Microsoft Network' for log-on checked instead of 'Windows Logon'? I set my network up with 'Windows Logon' and everything seems to work fine.

G

Geoff

Just use windows logon. The Client for MS Networks is only really needed when you have a server that you have to log into in order to function properly. In a peer-to-peer network you don't need this, just select Windows Logon.

T

TCrom

Geoff, thanks for the reply. I had an idea that this worked, but in the article on this site about setting up a home network it says you should set the 'Client for Microsoft Network' as the default logon, so I thought I'd ask the question.

G

Geoff

TC: as a general rule, take anything you read on this site with a bucket of salt. I read a very very WRONG comparison on SCSI vs IDE where they compared a garden variety 5,400RPM UDMA drive to an 11GB, 10,000RPM SCSI Cheetah drive, and concluded that since the Cheetah was faster therefore SCSI was better. I couldn't believe it, I never touch the hardware section on this site because it's so full of shit.

E

Eccentric

Geoff,
LSHIATPOM(Laughing So Hard I'm about to piss on myself)
You are hilarious. Just talk shit about someone's furniture inside their living room!!

G

Geoff

And why not? This is the perfect place to say it. Some reviews I have read on hardware central's site have been very poorly done, they're not even remotely near equal comparisons. That's not to say there aren't any good reviews, but I'd rather trust a more reliable source than one that chooses to pit a really budget IDE drive ($) against a really high-end SCSI model ($$$$$$$$) and make terrible generalisations about the outcome.

B

beatle