How to watch DVD on tv from dvd drive in computer?

S

Scarface

hi guys, i thought i should post this in this forum instead of 'general'

anyhow, a friend of mine is interested in watching dvd on his tv from his dvd drive in his computer. what does he need to accomplish this?? is this a diffucult task??
does he need a video card with tv-out, s-video & composite??? or is it just tv-out?? what connection does his tv need to have?? sorry for all the questions, but i've never done a set up like this before.

------------------
"The achievement of your goal is assured the moment you commit youself to it."

Stuff

Stuff

Well, of course TV displays and computer displays are different so you definately need a TV-out card of some type. If your computer isn't, say over 800mhz, you also need a hardware decoder card. These have TV-out built into them.
S-video and composite are different types of video output the TV-out card does. S-video is the ps/2 looking, and higher quality, connection. Composite, sometimes called RCA, is the round cable looking connection on TVs and VCRs. Usually yellow of the red, white, yellow combination.
Get get one of those cables and a way to output it and the sound to your TV, and thats about it.

What is your system like?
CPU, Video card, OS

------------------
Thunderbird [email protected] on Abit KT7A-Raid, 256mb PC133, 60gb IBM HD, AIW Radeon, Acoustic Edge 5.1, ActionTec Modem, on WinXP Pro.

S

Scarface

thanks for your help Stuff, and it's not for me but for my friend.

he has a PIII @750Mhz, Win ME, but a cheap ass video card, not sure what kind. but he'll upgrade to a GeForce 2 MX with tv-out.

any card in particular that you think it's pretty good???

------------------
"The achievement of your goal is assured the moment you commit youself to it."

S

sbcanada