1700+ @ 1760 Mh
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 1700+ @ 1760 Mh

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Brewster, WA USA
    Posts
    357

    1700+ @ 1760 Mh

    I received my Big Brother Chiller and Turbinator block and "Black" box from #Roto. 1700+@ 11.0x160 FSB=1760 @ 1.7v. H20 Temp @ a -5'C and core Temp -1 to 0 as we speak. Not bad don't ya think. I have my Drift.8 172 Watt Pelt. and I am waiting on the transformer and rectifier to power it. Then I should hit a -35 to -40' C. Then I will hit that 166 FSB. By then though I will or might have a 2000+ to play with.
    Thanks,
    John

    ------------------
    "Close to the edge, down by the River"
    "Nothing really maters and so what if it does"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    2,676
    Save it for clawhammer. Sounds like a nice setup - too bad it only gets you another 50 MHZ so far. Nice achievement though! Keep up the good work.

    Current Main Rig:
    AMD FX55 @ 2.9 GHz
    2 GB PC 3200 DDR RAM
    ABIT KN8 SLi motherboard
    ATI X1900XT O/C to XTX speeds

    Retired Rig:
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @ 2387 MHz. (217*11)
    512MB DDR RAM @ 436 MHz. (PC 3700)
    Abit AN7 motherboard
    BFG GeForce 6800GT OC!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Kingston, England
    Posts
    595
    That's a Model 1700 - which runs at 1.5ghz or something, so thats a 260mhz increase. Not bad at all, watch out for condensation tho.
    O

    ------------------
    Everyone makes mistakes.
    I create disasters
    Website

  4. #4
    Justintime Guest
    1700+ runs at 1.46GHz so thats a decent OC.

    ------------------
    Jr
    Bink's HWC gallery http://hwcmembersgallery.cjb.net/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Pa USA
    Posts
    155
    AMD GUY

    XP 1700+ = 1.47 Ghz.
    1.760-1.470= 290Mhz.

    well 75% of the places i see it say 1.47
    the other 25% say 1.46
    which ever it really is.

    I'm damn impressed to see that @ 1.7v
    Do the voltage mod and give that system some heat. 2.0v = maybe get close to 2 gig
    But wouldent you say it's the ram keeping you from 166fsb not the CPU??
    My 1600+ did 10.5X166fsb, but that was @ 1.9v too
    It was the ram that was puking out on me.


    ------------------
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you

    [This message has been edited by 1moreMHZ (edited 01-20-2002).]
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Eastern USA
    Posts
    385
    Unlock it. Get that multi up. I know you guys dont like it, but if the ram or other perifs are holding you back ..... leave them behind and clock the helll outa that cpu!!!

    Here's a quick unlock kit....
    http://www.highspeedpc.com/

    [This message has been edited by Cleveland (edited 01-20-2002).]
    010000100110010101101000011011110110110001100100001000000111010001101000011001010010000001110100
    011101010111001001110100011011000110010100101110001000000100100001100101001000000110110101100001
    011010110110010101110011001000000111000001110010011011110110011101110010011001010111001101110011
    001000000110111101101110011011000111100100100000011101110110100001100101011011100010000001101000
    011001010010000001110011011101000110100101100011011010110111001100100000011010000110100101110011
    001000000110111001100101011000110110101100100000011011110111010101110100001011100010000000101101
    001000000100101001100001011011010110010101110011001000000100001001110010011110010110000101101110
    011101000010000001000011011011110110111001100001011011100111010000000000


    http://nickciske.com/tools/binary.php

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    If you want to be picky it is 11x133Mhz bus speed for about 1466Mhz, but whos counting the little numbers. AMD just rounds it off a bit to 1.47 for the 1700+ or 1.53 (instead of 1.533) for the 1800+.

    Well it looks like the Inqirer is backing off on theri statements over the last few days saying 2200+ at .18 micron this quarter and 2500+ at .13 micron next quarter. Now he is saying 2000+ is it for this quarter and the shift to .13 micron is next quarter with a 2000+ and 2200+ and 2600+ in 3 quarter. That likely means a 2400 in late 2Q or early 3Q. They are not sure about the Barton core. It almost sounds like it might not come out at all. I guess it depends on how the Thuroughbread core is doing and when the ClawHammer will hit (.13 micron SOI). Either way it will likely not be until late 3Q or 4Q for either (or both).

    He also stated that AMD is keeping the same socket, bus speed, and memory cache for all (266Mhz bus and 256K L2). He did say the both have 3DNow! Pro (3DNow! and SSE1). It is still up in the air if they will have SSE2 implimented with the first ClawHammers.

    Hopefully this means I can dump in a .13 micron AthlonXP 2000+ and overclock the daylights out of it. 2500+ is 2Ghz, so they will launch at least a 2.066Ghz CPU. A 166Mhz bus speed would give me 2.075Ghz from a 1.67Ghz. That would be a nice speed. They are looking at 1.60v. The only thing I am not too sure about is if the core surface area will shrink. If it does they really need a good heatspreader. The larger surface area is one reason why the AthlonXP is so much easier to cool than the older Athlons.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Brewster, WA USA
    Posts
    357
    I am just starting to play with diff. combos. I wish I knew how to do a voltage mod on this board AZZA 366-as ? I will try 12.0 x whatever and see what I hit. The whole point of getting so cold is keeping the voltage down and still accomplish the great O/C's. If this is not true then I am in the wrong forum. I have 7, yes count them (T-Birds) in my drawer ranging from 850(1ea), 1gig (2ea.) and the rest 1.4 gig Birds that I fried along with 5 Asus $180 MB (fried) all because I went nuts with the volt mods and improper cooling. All my fault of course but nun the less I think I am doing damn well now with this cheap MB and below freezing core temps. Like I said, once I get my Drift .8 employed and hit -35 to -40'C, I will hit 2gig's with this 1700+ with 1volt or less, " You watch me". I will try my 1.85v board max and see what I hit and see if I can still stay below 0'C, I am @ -3'C right now. I can run the Prime 95 & SETI all night and be solid as a rock in the AM. Good Day All.
    Thanks for the ear,
    John

    ------------------
    "Close to the edge, down by the River"
    "Nothing really maters and so what if it does"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Brewster, WA USA
    Posts
    357
    And by the way it is unlocked but I cant get the .5 voltages i.e. 10.5, 11.5. Just 10.0, 11.0, 12.0. I don't know if its the chip, MB or what? Any help?
    Thanks,
    John

    ------------------
    "Close to the edge, down by the River"
    "Nothing really maters and so what if it does"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    Nice O/C


    The one thing that I don't understand, is that you are willing to spend $200+ on your cooling setup but you put it on a POS mobo???????? There are several Kicka*s O/C Mobos' out there for around $100 that would really make all this effort/expense worthwhile.

    IMO

    ------------------
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •