using a cell phone to connect to the net
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: using a cell phone to connect to the net

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    terra, just outside of sol.
    Posts
    229

    using a cell phone to connect to the net

    i was wondering if anyone happened to know what kind of connection speed you would be looking at if you were connecting to the internet using a laptop w/ a 56k modem running through a digital cell phone?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    What cell phone is it? If it's a GPRS, it's 56k. If it's GSM, I think it's 14.4k if you're lucky.

    GSM is only useful for checking emails tbh. I use a Nokia 8850 (GSM) with my Palm (using IR). I can use MSN messenger and Avantgo ok, but I think anything else on a PC would be very slow, the connections on GSM are pretty unreliable.

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 1.2
    Abit KT7a RAID
    DiamondMax Plus 60 - 40Gb 7200rpm
    Elsa GeForce2MX 32Mb SDR
    10mbps internet
    ------------------
    University?
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    terra, just outside of sol.
    Posts
    229
    sorry, forgot to put the type of digital didn't i. it's a cdma qualcom<sp> phone. i am unsure of the exact model number.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    624
    If it's a recent phone and you are on a Verizon Wireless plan, it will probably support G3 mobile internet. G3 is coming either April or May and will offer DSL speeds over your phone. Problem is that you need to buy a $70 adapter to hook your phone into a computer.

    -unfrgivn
    If god hadn't intended for us to eat animals then why'd he make them out of meat?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    most likely it will only do 9600 but as said before if it's GPRS then it can do 56k but only if your GSM provider will let you use GPRS service

    And as said before by CenturionStrategy it's usefull for mail checking only for now (unlike with WAP however it's easy to connect with POP3 when using GSM+Palm, I never managed to do that with WAP so I use Yahoo on that one and when I go abroad use the combo)

    ------------------
    Duron 750@1Ghz
    Elite ECS K7S5A
    256MB DDR Infineon
    Radeon 7500
    (got to love that TV-out)
    40GB Quantum 7200rpm
    SB Live value
    300W PS

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,461
    If the phone is a cdma (code division multiple access) he's probably only going to get an average of 14400+ although it would be possible for his isp to use data compression software to reach theoretical speeds of 56k.

    ------------------
    Duron 900@1100
    512mb PC133 RAM Micron
    Geforce 2 Ti 275/425
    40Gb Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 7200rpm
    `\O/
    /////////////////////
    \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
    _/ \_

    [This message has been edited by nodnod (edited 03-29-2002).]
    CPU: Athlon X2 7850 Blackbox edition o/c'd to 3400mhz
    Motherboard: Asus M2N68-AM SE2
    Memory: 4gb Kingston KVR RAM
    Video: BFG Geforce gtx 260 oc v2
    Hard Drives: 1TB Barracuda 7200.12, 500GB WD, 320GB WD, 320GB WD 250GB WD, 250GB Seagate
    Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel case
    Power Supply: OCZ 700W StealthXStream Power Supply
    Optical: 22x LG DVD R/W

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    57
    I beleive that cdma is channel division multiple access

    ------------------
    My Homepage

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,461
    No, actually it IS code division multiple access. I work for a major wireless communications provider and we are required to know the terminology. TDMA is time division multiple access, GSM is Global System for Mobile communications and so on.

    ------------------
    Duron 900@1100
    512mb PC133 RAM Micron
    Geforce 2 Ti 275/425
    40Gb Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 7200rpm
    `\O/
    /////////////////////
    \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
    _/ \_
    CPU: Athlon X2 7850 Blackbox edition o/c'd to 3400mhz
    Motherboard: Asus M2N68-AM SE2
    Memory: 4gb Kingston KVR RAM
    Video: BFG Geforce gtx 260 oc v2
    Hard Drives: 1TB Barracuda 7200.12, 500GB WD, 320GB WD, 320GB WD 250GB WD, 250GB Seagate
    Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel case
    Power Supply: OCZ 700W StealthXStream Power Supply
    Optical: 22x LG DVD R/W

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •