Two-eyed optical mice
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Two-eyed optical mice

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,235

    Two-eyed optical mice

    Are they really smoother e.g. in playing games than the ones with one sensor?
    Did anyone who tried both types notice an appreciable difference?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    I haven't seen those before, do you know of any companies that make them?

    Have you tried normal optical mice? I've found those are smooth enough.

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 1.2@1.44 (272MHz FSB)
    Abit KT7a RAID
    DiamondMax Plus 60 - 40Gb 7200rpm
    Elsa GeForce2MX 32Mb SDR
    10mbps internet
    ------------------
    you what??
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Nanaimo,B.C. Canada
    Posts
    2,162
    Originally posted by CenturionStrategy:
    I haven't seen those before, do you know of any companies that make them?

    Have you tried normal optical mice? I've found those are smooth enough.

    Most of the Logitech Optical mice have two sensors as opposed to the original versions that only had one sensor.

    Never had the one sensor type ,but both the Logitech Opticals I have work great. http://www.logitech.com/cf/products/...rview.cfm/2821 http://www.logitech.com/cf/products/...erview.cfm/104
    Win 7
    Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
    I5 2500k @4ghz
    8Gb DDR3 2133Mhz
    Crucial M4 128Gb SataIII SSd
    Sapphire Radeon 6870
    Samsung 931bf 19" LCD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,235
    Originally posted by CenturionStrategy:
    Have you tried normal optical mice? I've found those are smooth enough.
    Yes, I have the Logitech Wheelmouse Optical (one sensor), and I'm happy with it.
    The ones with two sensors are quite new. I'm wondering if it makes an improvement or if it's just a marketing gag.



    [This message has been edited by Mephisto (edited 12-05-2001).]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    697
    There's a good review here.

    Excerpt from review:
    Perhaps if you spend a lot of time using a mouse on shag pile carpet or leaf litter or coffee grounds or something, then the Dual Optical will be obviously superior.
    Personally, I choose A4Tech 520DPI OK-520 (serial) or OK-720 (PS/2) mouse. They only cost me USD 2.70 each; directly from the importer.

    PS: Mephisto, are you all set for the 2002 World Cup fever?

    ------------------
    "Believe me! The secret of reaping the greatest fruitfulness and the greatest enjoyment from life is to live dangerously!"
    Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche

    [This message has been edited by Ratt (edited 12-05-2001).]
    "Believe me! The secret of reaping the greatest fruitfulness and the greatest enjoyment from life is to live dangerously!"
    Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks, Ratt!
    That article is exactly what I was looking for.
    No need to upgrade!
    And, no football fever yet. Besides, because of time zone difference between Germany and Japan, most of the matches will take place during working hours!
    In 2006 the World Cup will take place in Germany, much better!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    ooh, cool!

    I love logitech mice.

    That is a cool site Ratt, it seems tho that the dual sensors are just a gimmick unless you are using your mouse on silly surfaces.

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 1.2@1.44 (272MHz FSB)
    Abit KT7a RAID
    DiamondMax Plus 60 - 40Gb 7200rpm
    Elsa GeForce2MX 32Mb SDR
    10mbps internet
    ------------------
    you what??
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •