Promise Ultra66
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Promise Ultra66

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    laie, HI, USA
    Posts
    252

    Promise Ultra66

    Hi there. I bought a Promise Ultra66 card for my PC. I want to be able to boot my system from it. The question is:

    will i have to reinstall win98 on it for the PC to boot correctly?
    I have tried booting another system (abit bh6 with P2@233)from that card, but, everytime i get stuck.

    i have a scsi card on that pc with a yamaha 4x4x16 cdrw, a modem, isa video card, 64mb of ram and a sound card (from an HP8370 model). could someone tell me if i really have to install the O.S back on the hard drive if i want to boot from the card?

    i am reinstalling win98 on that hard drive on the other PC just to see if it would work or not. anyways, i want to put that card in my current system (athlon@800).

    your help would be much appreciated.

    thanks.

    ------------------
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SC11
    Athlon Classic 700@800 (850 stable still)
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 WD 4.1gig
    384MB RAM (2 PC100 & 1 PC133)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    Some cooling fans inside
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SD11
    Athlon Classic 700@800
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii / Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    95
    you shouldn't have to format and reinstall win98. windows should recognize the hardware (card) as any other hardware you would install. one thing you might want to do is load the software (promise 66) first then put the card in.

    good luck.
    Intel Pentium 150mhz and 200 mhz
    K6-2 400mhz
    K6-2+ 500mhz
    Coming soon: Athlon 750mhz

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    laie, HI, USA
    Posts
    252
    ok... so the best thing to do will be:

    1. before installing the promise ultra66 in my other pc, i should load the drivers onto the hard drive.

    2. then install the card

    3. should i do that next?
    a. put hard drive on the ultra66
    b. or leave it on the motherboard -> boot the pc -> shut down -> plug hard drive on the utra66 -> reboot. will everything be okay like that or should i just go for option 3.a ? thanks for the help



    ------------------
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SC11
    Athlon Classic 700@800 (850 stable still)
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 WD 4.1gig
    384MB RAM (2 PC100 & 1 PC133)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    Some cooling fans inside
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SD11
    Athlon Classic 700@800
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Brunswick, Ohio USA
    Posts
    1,372
    The best thing to do is visit the Promise Site and follow the instructions for installing an Ultra card along side a SCSI card.
    www.promise.com

    Michael

    ------------------
    "The Most Important Things in Life are not Things"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    BoB-free Zone
    Posts
    770
    I think I had to set my bios to boot from SCSI to get the Ultra/66 to be the boot controller. Of course, an existing SCSI card will complicate that. Moving the card to a lower numbered PCI slot than the SCSI may give it precedence, depending on your mainboard's design.

    I didn't have to re-install an existing dual-boot WinNT4/Win95B setup, and a subsequent install of Windows 2000 went off without a hitch.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    2,331
    Depending on your BIOS there is usually a off board IDE option

    I've got the same controller but I'm not using it because it didn't improve a thing. I doubt its even an independent controller.

    Another intersting point is the hardware hack for the controller to turn it into a raid controller... and it works, but if you do it you will need to flash the cards bios with a dummy bios first then the raid bios

    Just a point to ponder
    AMD Mobile 2500+
    A7N8X Deluxe rev2.0
    1GB Corsair XMS PC2700
    GeCube Radeon 9800 Pro
    Seagate SATA 80GB
    2xSegate 160GB in RAID0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    2,331
    Oh yeah and if you are not using your onboard IDE disable it to free resources
    AMD Mobile 2500+
    A7N8X Deluxe rev2.0
    1GB Corsair XMS PC2700
    GeCube Radeon 9800 Pro
    Seagate SATA 80GB
    2xSegate 160GB in RAID0

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •