anything I can do about Bad sectors on HDD??
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: anything I can do about Bad sectors on HDD??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361

    anything I can do about Bad sectors on HDD??

    I have a 4.3 gig SCSI IBM HDD with bad sectors, is there anything I can do to use it as it would be an awful thing to waste it
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    Trash is the place for that HD.

    But if you only have few bad sectors then live them and continue to use HD.

    Bad sectors could be removed (repaired) with some utilityes for surface scaning, and it works good for few days but it appears again on the same place, and you know how big problem is, if on bad sector, you have part of some important file.

    I think dumpt the crap and forget about it.

    also for SCSI HD is important to have good cooling cous heat is reason why bad sectors appears, usualy.

    [This message has been edited by miha76 (edited 05-14-2000).]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Riverside...Southern cali
    Posts
    351



    ...Don't junk it, send it back to the manufacturer, they should replace it.
    ..."As Iron sharpens Iron, so one man sharpens another"...
    Proverbs 27:17

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Puget Sound, WA
    Posts
    237
    Most SCSI's have a 5 year warrantee....
    your 4.3 might still be covered.

    Gibson Research sells "Spinrite", a drive great recovery tool (I dont know if it is SCSI compatable though.)
    V

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,114
    Bad sectors are physical to the HD. Sometimes bad sectors spread throughout the HD. If this is the case, have the drive replaced by the manufacturer. If you use Windows, the bad sectors will be marked as being bad, and those bad sectors will not be used.

    ------------------
    ~My mind works in digital~
    "Money does grow on trees, but the banks own all the branches."

    Phenom 9550 Quad Core
    8GB Kingston HyperX
    ASUS M3A78
    LG GH22NS30
    Seagate 320GB (boot)
    WDC RE3 500GB x2 on Highpoint RocketRAID 3120 with RAID1
    Sapphire 4830
    Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G
    CoolerMaster RC-690

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    well, there's 204,800 in bad setors and it seems to be staying at that.
    I have a HDD cooler for it so I'm not sure about heat
    I'll see how I go
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Morelia, Mexico
    Posts
    1,717
    Sometimes a low-level format will repair those sectors.

    once i had that problem, i format the drive with the dos format command (high-level) and work fine (format c: /C, the C parameter it's needed in this case), this is due to bad sectors not always are bad, sometimes happens that the sector loose the control-flow information, and might be marked as bad.

    That's a posibilitie, but if you can get the low-level formater for that drive, would be better, if this doesn't solve your problem then the drive it's faulty....
    If you were in a world full of crazy people, who would be the crazy person?
    OTCentral

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •