When do you need DMA66?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: When do you need DMA66?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Leuven, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    65

    When do you need DMA66?

    Hi,

    When do you need DMA66? I'm planning to buy a Quantum HD KA PLUS 7200 rpm. Someone told me I should buy a Mobo with DMA66? Why?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Butler, Pa. USA
    Posts
    786
    is that quantum HD ATA66 compatible? If it is, grab an ATA66 enabled motherboard or get an ATA66 hotrod card. It will double your transfer rates, and speed up loading times for everything you do, its very nice, I have a Western Digital Drive that has ATA66 and Abit's BE6 that has ATA66 support, they are great and a lot of my stuff loads so much faster.

    ------------------
    Vidfreek: The master Wizard.
    Visit us at http://members.xoom.com/wizardofcomp

    Vidfreek:
    I have gone to look for myself, If I get back before I return.....Keep me here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Leuven, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    65
    Vidfreek: Yep, the Quantum FireBall KA Plus has 'Interface Options: Ultra ATA/66'. I also hear I should buy Abit BE6.
    Do you know what type of Western DIgital you have?
    bye

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,771
    I have a WD 9.1GB Expert 7200RPM ATA66 running on an ABIT Hotrod66 Controller. It is extremely fast compared to my WD 13.0GB 5400RPM ATA66 drive. Both of those drives just "blow the doors off" of my seagate UDMA33 drive.


    ------------------
    Mike
    www.monster-machines.com
    Mike
    Mechanical Engineer
    Dell Computer Corporation
    Server Development

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Butler, Pa. USA
    Posts
    786
    Yea I have the same 13 gig drive that Dimarini has, that has ATA66 support, of course its only 5400 rpms, but a 7200 ones costs quite a bit more for me to handle, but this one runs great anyway, im very pleased with it.

    ------------------
    Vidfreek: The master Wizard.
    Visit us at http://members.xoom.com/wizardofcomp

    Vidfreek:
    I have gone to look for myself, If I get back before I return.....Keep me here

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,550
    http://www.anandtech.com/html/review...m?document=919

    ------------------
    "Do you want to restart your computer now?" ...oh, as if I have a choice!



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •