theoretical maximum speed of 4ns ram
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: theoretical maximum speed of 4ns ram

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    walnut creek, CA, usa
    Posts
    1,682

    theoretical maximum speed of 4ns ram

    anyone know what it would be?

    ------------------
    http://members.home.net/zachv/Cartman/Cartman.htm

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    8,720
    4ns into 1000 = 250mhz. But usually, you should be able to clock a little higher.

    ------------------
    Gilles Lussier
    Go visit Virtual Dr forums
    Gilles Lussier

    HWC Folding@Home Team

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    250Mhz.

    4ns is the time for one memory cycle which is equal to 4x10^-9 seconds

    So in one second, there are (1/4x10^-9) memory cycles = 250000000Hz = 250MHz.

    MuFu.



    ------------------
    XP1700+@1672MHz, 1.85V
    Cooler Master HHC-001@7V
    Abit KG7-R
    Crucial 512MB
    90GB of IBM GXP Worry!
    15 GF4 Ti4400 :-)
    WinXP

    GOTcentral?
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Dang.
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Mooville
    Posts
    1,129
    My memory just got fried with that little thing mufu did, im no math dude.


    Jeff

    ------------------
    I LOVE ol'man he is my honey bunny.

    I want his 1.6ghz cel-t, because I want to be cool like him.
    There are experts in many fields, but one thing is certain. You don't have to be an expert to speculate.. So speculate on!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    LOL! Basically, what MuFu said can be simplified into...

    SF = 1000 or 1000/S = F

    Where:
    S is the speed of the RAM in ns
    F is the clock frequency of the RAM in MHz

    So, 1000/4 = 250MHz
    1000/5 = 200MHz, 1000/3.6 = 275MHz, etc.


    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v/4.05v mods
    Certified as "Turbo2-R" by me
    AthlonXP 1600+ @ 1.55v
    256MB Corsair? PC133 CL3
    Radeon 64DDR @ 184/234 so far

    [This message has been edited by DuronClocker (edited 05-18-2002).]
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    8,720
    Originally posted by Mutha Funker:
    250Mhz.

    4ns is the time for one memory cycle which is equal to 4x10^-9 seconds

    So in one second, there are (1/4x10^-9) memory cycles = 250000000Hz = 250MHz.

    MuFu.

    When I posted my reply, I knew somebody like you would post and try to simplify things.



    ------------------
    Gilles Lussier
    Go visit Virtual Dr forums
    Gilles Lussier

    HWC Folding@Home Team

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Uh huh.

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    XP1700+@1672MHz, 1.85V
    Cooler Master HHC-001@7V
    Abit KG7-R
    Crucial 512MB
    90GB of IBM GXP Worry!
    15 GF4 Ti4400 :-)
    WinXP

    GOTcentral?
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    BTW my Hercules 8500LE (4ns Ram) runs quite happily along at 275Mhz (BIOS update from Gigabayte)
    did no extra cooling or voltage mod

    does anybody think this is pushing a bit to far or am I OK as long as I don't have any visual artifacts or lockups

    ------------------
    XP1600+ @ XP1800+(1.75V/43C under load)
    Vulcano7
    ABIT KG7-RAID
    512MB DDR
    Hercules 8500LE 275/275 (AP64DH BIOS)
    40GB Quantum 7200rpm
    80GB Maxtor 5400rpm
    Hercules Fortissimo II
    400W Maxpower

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Memory usually has quite a bit of head room built into it. Expect at least 10% overclock out of memory or more. They rate it WITHOUT cooling too, so if you cool you can get a bit more. Also if the memory is out for a bit and yeilds improve, it usually overclcoks even more. 3.6ns memory is already pretty widely used, so the 4ns memory should do quite well.

    I just ordered a GainWard GeForce4 Ti 4200 with 64MB 4ns DDR. I'm going to add some home made ram sinks to the memory. I'm expecting to go from 500Mhz to at least 550Mhz if not 600Mhz. Supposadly the core on these things are hitting tha same as the 4400 and 4600 and Anand got theirs up to 330/540Mhz and he had the 128MB version that runs at 250/444Mhz. 300/600 is the speed of the 4600 and I likely can get pretty close to that. This thing should perform VERY nicely.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ 1.65v 42'C
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm 30db
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266 cas2
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Originally posted by F_A_L_C_O_N:
    BTW my Hercules 8500LE (4ns Ram) runs quite happily along at 275Mhz (BIOS update from Gigabayte)
    did no extra cooling or voltage mod

    does anybody think this is pushing a bit to far or am I OK as long as I don't have any visual artifacts or lockups

    No, that's fine. Is is VERY hard to do short-term damage to a graphics card by overclocking it. In the long run you may shorten the life of it by extreme overclocking, but what's 1 year gone out of 10 anyway?! Is that the highest you can take it? Pretty good going, as the Hercules cards aren't supposed to be the best overclockers. Don't hold back because you are afraid of damaging your card, you won't.

    Good point bout the yields of slower memory, Todd. The 5ns Samsung RAM on some cheaper 8500LE 128MB's is hitting 275MHz+ and that's way out of spec!

    Voltage modification and extra cooling goes very far (not quite as effective with BGA RAM though). The 3.6ns RAM on my 8500LE wouldn't do a whisker over 260MHz when I bought it (ATi undervolt the memory on LE's). After the pencil mod and some decent RAMsinks, even 330MHz was artifact-free.

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    XP1700+@1672MHz, 1.85V
    Cooler Master HHC-001@7V
    Abit KG7-R
    Crucial 512MB
    90GB of IBM GXP Worry!
    15 GF4 Ti4400 :-)
    WinXP

    GOTcentral?

    [This message has been edited by Mutha Funker (edited 05-18-2002).]
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    by Mutha Funker "Is that the highest you can take it?"

    it goes to 285/285 without hickups

    290/290 has some screen anomalies but it can still do Q3 timedemo at 300/300

    didn't want to push it further though

    ------------------
    XP1600+ @ XP1800+(1.75V/43C under load)
    Vulcano7
    ABIT KG7-RAID
    512MB DDR
    Hercules 8500LE 275/275 (AP64DH BIOS)
    40GB Quantum 7200rpm
    80GB Maxtor 5400rpm
    Hercules Fortissimo II
    400W Maxpower

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    You don't have to run the clocks in sync, mate. The old Radeon used to be pretty fussy about sync/non-sync but the 8500's are usually "highest is best" whether they are in sync or not. Looks good for 300/285Mhz if you ask me. That'd be a really really nice result without volt modding.

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    XP1700+@1672MHz, 1.85V
    Cooler Master HHC-001@7V
    Abit KG7-R
    Crucial 512MB
    90GB of IBM GXP Worry!
    15 GF4 Ti4400 :-)
    WinXP

    GOTcentral?
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    Well it goes 285/300 (300 being memory)

    weird I thought it should be the other way around but this ram just keeps on going

    I get a lock-up in Q3 at mem 305 so I guess some mem heatsinks would be needed to keep it stable

    Engine craps out at 290 though (I get visual distortions in Q3)

    Might try different heatsink+fan to see what happens
    Would something like a smaller CPU cooler do a better job then what you get with Hercules?

    ------------------
    XP1600+ @ XP1800+(1.75V/43C under load)
    Vulcano7
    ABIT KG7-RAID
    512MB DDR
    Hercules 8500LE 275/275 (AP64DH BIOS)
    40GB Quantum 7200rpm
    80GB Maxtor 5400rpm
    Hercules Fortissimo II
    400W Maxpower

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Yup..CPU sink would do great...in fact that's what I'm going to get around to doing eventually. Right now I have my card clocked down to 166 to prevent it from overheating. When clocked at 184 or 200, it puts up weird characters on the screen upon reboot because the core gets really warm. Runs fine at 166 though. Actually it runs fine at 215....but like I said it gets warm. So I'm going to be putting a cut down SocketA sink on it with a 30w peltier I think...

    MuFu I've read that the "old" Radeon you refer to *cough* new for me *cough* performs best at synchronized clock speeds. Does that mean I would get better performance by running at 200/200 instead of 200/234 or something of the likes? Just how much does it matter that I don't sync my clocks?

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v/4.05v mods
    Certified as "Turbo2-R" by me
    AthlonXP 1600+ @ 1.55v
    256MB Corsair? PC133 CL3
    Radeon 64DDR @ 184/234 so far
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •