just got a GeForce 2 MX 400--graphics are screwed UP! thoughts please?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: just got a GeForce 2 MX 400--graphics are screwed UP! thoughts please?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    18

    just got a GeForce 2 MX 400--graphics are screwed UP! thoughts please?

    Ok, here's the deal, I installed a new motherboard, processor and video card in my computer. Tyan motherboard, 400 mhz fsb, 1.5 ghz P4----I installed the GeForce 2 MX 400, I installed some 3d games, Motocross Madness, Aliens vs. Predator.....the games load ok, but when the actual game play comes up, the graphics are flashing multicolored all over. It's like a bunch of led's, you can see the game fine, but it's in multi color all over....weird. please help, this is really aggravating...lol---
    P4 1.5 GHz
    400 MHz FSB Tyan i845 chipset
    GEForce 2 MX400 64 MB RAM
    256 MB RAM
    Microsoft Digital USB Sound System (no sound card in my system!) :-)
    Optical Intellimouse

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    18
    Oh yeah, my motherboard is a tyan s2090 trinity i845

    hope this helps.
    P4 1.5 GHz
    400 MHz FSB Tyan i845 chipset
    GEForce 2 MX400 64 MB RAM
    256 MB RAM
    Microsoft Digital USB Sound System (no sound card in my system!) :-)
    Optical Intellimouse

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    I've had similar problems with Midtown Madness, and I have yet to figure out the cause (or the fix) . A while back, I returned a GF2 MX that had the same problems you describe, as I thought the card was defective. That wasn't the case, because the GF3 Ti200 I have now does exactly the same thing. That means it has to be a bug with GeForce cards. I don't know if that helps you much, but at least you know your video card isn't faulty. Try to download game patches, maybe it will help.

    Good luck.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Make sure nothing is set wrong in BIOS. Check to see what your card supports and go into BIOS and set AGP 2x/4x/Side Band/Fast Writes... Also set the AGP appiture size to 1/2 your system memory.

    You might also reseat your card. It might be loose. Likely not though.

    Reinstall DirectX 8.1. Uninstall the video drivers... goto contol pannel/system/devise manager/vido addaptor and update driver. Select it manually and set it to default AGP graphics. This will remove all the old drivers. Then install the drivers that came with the disk and reinstall the latest drivers from nVidia. they have sertified the 28.32 drivers and they are pretty good.

    Hey I almost forgot. Make sure you have the latest drivers for your motherboard installed (including the latest AGP miniport drivers). Also see if there are any patches for teh games you are using.
    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ 1.65v 42'C
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm 30db
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266 cas2
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS

    [This message has been edited by Todd a (edited 05-12-2002).]
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    18
    Thanx for your reply, I figured out what the problem was and came back to share what the problem was. When I had installed Win98 on my new hard drive, I was in the process of installing all the software that I had on my other hard drive, when I installed a game, it had Direct X 7 with it, THAT WAS the problem! I retrieved Direct X 8 off a saved CD of mine, and there were no problems after that. So hopefully this will help anyone else who may have this problem.

    thanx again 3 and todd
    P4 1.5 GHz
    400 MHz FSB Tyan i845 chipset
    GEForce 2 MX400 64 MB RAM
    256 MB RAM
    Microsoft Digital USB Sound System (no sound card in my system!) :-)
    Optical Intellimouse

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    DOH!

    Even with DX8 I still have that problem!
    I guess Midtown madness runs a little funny. Oh well, I've played that game out anyway.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Falköping, Sweden
    Posts
    364
    A weak PSU caused me a similar problem. Got a new one, everything was fine.

    ------------------
    "In the end, the one with the biggest gun wins."
    - General Custard
    "In the end, the one with the biggest gun wins."
    - General Custard

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •