Radeon 7500 a good buy?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Radeon 7500 a good buy?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,281

    Radeon 7500 a good buy?

    Need to change my v5. Is the readon 7500 a good choice? And does it support truform or only the 8500?

    ------------------
    P3 800 133mhz
    Asus CUSL2-C 256mb 133
    15.3 Maxtor 7200 ATA100
    DVD 5X Samsung
    Cd-Rw 12x8x32
    Voodoo5 Agp
    Sb live Value
    Win98se
    Asus P5Q
    Intel core 2 Duo 3ghz 1333 fsb 6mb L2 cache
    OCZ Gold XTC 4GB DDR2-1066
    Asus ati3870 512mb pci express 16
    80Gig Hd Sata
    Vista Home premium

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    I think the 7500 is the best card in its price category by quite a margin. It surpasses the GF2Ti in standard features alone in my opinion and is a very good overclocker.

    The 7500 does support Truform, but not in hardware. Unlike the 8500 it has to emulate Truform calculations through software which means that its performance is severly degraded when Truform is enabled. Nevertheless, it's a good buy that should give you a nice performance boost over your V5 whilst maintaining excellent image quality.

    MuFu.



    ------------------
    More # please...

    Bink's HWC GALLERY
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,281
    thx Mufu. Btw you have the 8500 right? With my current system do you think i can have enough good fps even with the truform enable?

    And does the 7500 use the charisma and hyperz 2 engine or only the same engine as the previous radeon card? thx

    DarkT3

    ------------------
    P3 800 133mhz
    Asus CUSL2-C 256mb 133
    15.3 Maxtor 7200 ATA100
    DVD 5X Samsung
    Cd-Rw 12x8x32
    Voodoo5 Agp
    Sb live Value
    Win98se
    Asus P5Q
    Intel core 2 Duo 3ghz 1333 fsb 6mb L2 cache
    OCZ Gold XTC 4GB DDR2-1066
    Asus ati3870 512mb pci express 16
    80Gig Hd Sata
    Vista Home premium

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    I don't think enabling Truform with the 7500 on any system is practical 100% of the time... it depends on the game. You may get away with it in a older game like Half-Life, but for games like Serious Sam 2 and Soul Reaver you'll probably find that software-emulated Truform won't give you the fps you need.

    The 7500 has the same features as the old Radeon (Rage 6C core). It has first generation HyperZ and Charisma engines which are older versions of those on the 8500.

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    More # please...

    Bink's HWC GALLERY
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,281
    ok thx mufu
    Damn i want that 8500 but its 499$ here
    ------------------
    P3 800 133mhz
    Asus CUSL2-C 256mb 133
    15.3 Maxtor 7200 ATA100
    DVD 5X Samsung
    Cd-Rw 12x8x32
    Voodoo5 Agp
    Sb live Value
    Win98se

    [This message has been edited by Darkterritory3 (edited 02-10-2002).]
    Asus P5Q
    Intel core 2 Duo 3ghz 1333 fsb 6mb L2 cache
    OCZ Gold XTC 4GB DDR2-1066
    Asus ati3870 512mb pci express 16
    80Gig Hd Sata
    Vista Home premium

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    68
    Hi! I say keep your Voodoo 5 card or at least get a better card than the ATI Radeon 7500! I say get a Geforce 2 Titanium - they're faster than the ATI Radeon 7500 in 99.9% of games, they have better drivers, and most of the games I have don't work properly with the ATI Radeon 7500!

    Better yet, wait for a Geforce 4 MX 460. Best value for money card out there, when it comes out.

    Don't make the same mistake I did - read my post about it: http://discussions.hardwarecentral.c...ML/016245.html and see if it helps you. If you can, get a Geforce 2 Titanium/Geforce 4 MX, without any of that TV and DVI rubbish.

    I have no idea why they have been put on GAMING cards! You'll be saving money and time. If you MUST get then ATI Radeon 7500, then make sure it's the actual ATI version and not the Powercolor version.

    Although much cheaper, the Powercolour version ships without 2 of the EXPENSIVE cables that the ATI version ships with! Also, ALL of the reviews I have read, suggest that the Geforce 2 Titanium can overclock MUCH more than the Radeon 7500 can. Hope this helps - let us know what you decide to do, man.

  7. #7
    Justintime Guest
    agreed, i get most Ti 200 cards to at least Ti500 speed (without pencils too hehe )

    ------------------
    Jr

    BINK'S HWC MEMBER PHOTO GALLERY

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    You know, I've seen some damn long descriptions of where people live, and I was just wondering how freakin' long of a location they actually allow you to write in here. Looks like it's quite a bit. Oh well, if the space is here I'll use it!!! :)
    Posts
    2,330
    Justintime, there's a big difference in the GF2 Ti and GF3 Ti200.

    Matthews, show me some benchmarks where the GF2 Ti is faster in 99.9% of the games. That's right, the 7500 is usually faster.

    Some people actually like the DVI and dual monitor features, not everyone is a gaming fanatic (and do nothing but games). If you are, you'll be satisified with an nVidia card. If you do other things, you might want a card capable of doing other things as well.

    The GF4 MX cards are a joke. DX7, two pipelines, don't even support EMBM.

    Personally, I wouldn't buy a 7500 though... with the new cards coming out, some DX8 cards should be affordable very soon. Third party 8500's and 8500LE's should not be that expensive, and after the release of the GF4 Ti cards the GF3 Ti200 should be a steal.

    ------------------
    Only 30,000 to 40,000 genes in an Einstein, a Michael Jordan, or a Bach? Boy, can that God guy write tight code or what? - David Rudloff
    Off Topic Central - Owned and Operated by HWC members

    IMO, Mr. Derek Smart is a hypocrite: Only someone who is either (a) lying (b) ashamed of their products (c) just plain ashamed, would hestitate to give out some simple and straight forward information. - Derek Smart, Ph.D.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    You know, I've seen some damn long descriptions of where people live, and I was just wondering how freakin' long of a location they actually allow you to write in here. Looks like it's quite a bit. Oh well, if the space is here I'll use it!!! :)
    Posts
    2,330
    Oh, and the 7500 does oc very nicely. The core has been pushed to 330MHz without problems.

    ------------------
    Only 30,000 to 40,000 genes in an Einstein, a Michael Jordan, or a Bach? Boy, can that God guy write tight code or what? - David Rudloff
    Off Topic Central - Owned and Operated by HWC members

    IMO, Mr. Derek Smart is a hypocrite: Only someone who is either (a) lying (b) ashamed of their products (c) just plain ashamed, would hestitate to give out some simple and straight forward information. - Derek Smart, Ph.D.

  10. #10
    Justintime Guest
    i misread his post, thought he meant Geforce 3 Ti 200

    ------------------
    Jr

    BINK'S HWC MEMBER PHOTO GALLERY

  11. #11
    Justintime Guest
    Matthews, i srtongly do not think a Geforce 2 Ti 200 will give a 7500 much of a fight man.

    ------------------
    Jr

    BINK'S HWC MEMBER PHOTO GALLERY

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,281
    Maybe i should wait till there is a next generation of card. Gaming are growing way too fast and video card always need to be upgrade. The v5 still runs the games today but for how long?!? Maybe the 8500 will cost less in about 6 month?

    ------------------
    P3 800 133mhz
    Asus CUSL2-C 256mb 133
    15.3 Maxtor 7200 ATA100
    DVD 5X Samsung
    Cd-Rw 12x8x32
    Voodoo5 Agp
    Sb live Value
    Win98se
    Asus P5Q
    Intel core 2 Duo 3ghz 1333 fsb 6mb L2 cache
    OCZ Gold XTC 4GB DDR2-1066
    Asus ati3870 512mb pci express 16
    80Gig Hd Sata
    Vista Home premium

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    What is your budget. The Radion 7500 with TV-out and 64MB DDR runs under $100 ($84+S&H was the cheapest on PriceWatch). If you are looking to spend a little more, there are some much better cards.

    The Radion 8500LE runs about $165. The Geforce3 Ti200 is another good card for $135 and overclocks very well. If you like TrueForm then get the 8500, otherwise the Ti200 when overclcoked runs about the same speed. The other option is to wait a bit longer and get the GeForce4 Ti4200. It is supposed to run $200 retail. You should be able to find and OEM one on-line for as little as $160. Of coarse this will drive down the GeForce3 prices too.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,165
    I'd hang on to the Voodoo5 until the card you want -- the Radeon 8500 -- comes down to a price you like.

    ------------------
    A7V + 1.4ghz tbird,Swiftech MC462a, 512mb (generic) pc133(2-2-2), IBM 75GXP, ASUS Geforce2 GTS, SB-Live5.1,12x10x32 Plexwriter,16x40x Pioneer DVD, NIC, floppy (yay), Cable, Win98SE
    now that my specs are respectable, I might as well list them again:

    2500+ Barton @ 2346mhz, Swiftech MC462a/80mm Sanyo Denki fan
    Abit NF7-S v 2.0
    2x256 Ocz PC3500 DDR
    128 mb ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    Lian-Li PC-68 case
    Enermax 431 watt PS
    blah blah blah
    blah blah blah

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by Matthews:
    Hi! I say keep your Voodoo 5 card or at least get a better card than the ATI Radeon 7500! I say get a Geforce 2 Titanium - they're faster than the ATI Radeon 7500 in 99.9% of games, they have better drivers, and most of the games I have don't work properly with the ATI Radeon 7500!

    Better yet, wait for a Geforce 4 MX 460. Best value for money card out there, when it comes out.

    Don't make the same mistake I did - read my post about it: http://discussions.hardwarecentral.c...ML/016245.html and see if it helps you. If you can, get a Geforce 2 Titanium/Geforce 4 MX, without any of that TV and DVI rubbish.

    I have no idea why they have been put on GAMING cards! You'll be saving money and time. If you MUST get then ATI Radeon 7500, then make sure it's the actual ATI version and not the Powercolor version.

    Although much cheaper, the Powercolour version ships without 2 of the EXPENSIVE cables that the ATI version ships with! Also, ALL of the reviews I have read, suggest that the Geforce 2 Titanium can overclock MUCH more than the Radeon 7500 can. Hope this helps - let us know what you decide to do, man.
    I'd say I'd disagree with about 99.9% ( ) of what you said. The R7500 will beat out a GF2 TI in about everything and overclocks better anyways.

    As for your recommendation for the GF4 MX460...no. There is no point in spending the extra price on a MX460 over an MX440, which will likely use the EXACT same components so they will overclock about the same. The only difference will be the price and retail clock speeds.

    However, I would only recommend a GF4 MX if it was an EXTREMELY small budget. For $20 more ($200 instead of $180), you could get a GF4 TI4200 instead of a GF4 MX460. The TI4200 will make the GF4 MX460 look like my old Savage2000 .

    As for that "rubbish" you're referring to - AKA DVI and TVout - many people use that. There is no performance loss just by having it on the card, and since most cards include TVout nowadays, there isn't really much of a price premium to pay for it. Might as well have it. I, personally, would love the option to run dual monitors AND a TV on my system. That way I could always have two monitors (one for gaming, one for controlling music and chatting), and I wouldn't have to worry about swapping the TV cable when I would like to watch a DVD. You seem to be the only person that has ever b*tched about having the extra features on your card.

    Back to the topic now, I would hold out just a bit for the R8500 or GF3 TI models to come down in price a bit. The GF4 TI4200 should be a nice card as well. It should be able to OC to 4400 speeds very easily and maybe rival the 4600 in certain cases. While we're on the topic of Truform, is this an ATI-only feature or does the GF3/GF4 TI's support this as well (hardware)?

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •