Please help, I think I have f**ked my graphics card... but it's a bit wierd
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Please help, I think I have f**ked my graphics card... but it's a bit wierd

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455

    Please help, I think I have f**ked my graphics card... but it's a bit wierd

    I am not sure if the cause and effect are linked or not but.....

    I have just had my graphics card out, wipped off the ramsinks and GPU HSF and put on some custom Cu ones....computer works o.k. (boots into windows)

    BUT

    My display is now fixed at 60Hz?!?!?!
    and, under the properties/adapter tab i do not have the option to change the refresh rate anymore.
    changing vid drivers makes no difference.
    I have noticed that my computer now reports a default monitor instead of a plug and play one (for the first time ever), when i set it to plug and play i get the refresh changing option again, but only for 'default adapter' or 'optimal'. I used to get these AND 60,65,70,72,75Hz options. But still on either, when i check the refresh rate through the monitor it is still 60hz.
    I have also tried a windows reinstall, no affect.
    HELP
    have I knackered my vid card?


    ------------------
    PIII933 1.7v
    GA6BXC mobo (Asus Slotket)
    256Mb PC133 CAS2 (Crucial)
    Prophet2GTS (235/395)
    Cr*ppy ata33 8gig HD
    SoundBlaster Live
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2000 7910
    3DMARK2001 3754

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    Have you tried reinstalling the Video Card/monitor drivers?

    If so, try reseating the Video Card, as it may not be in the AGP slot exactly right.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    564
    It actually sounds to me like the monitor drivers have been mixed up. I don't think there's anything wrong with your videocard you just need to sort out the driver situation with your monitor.

    ------------------
    8K7A
    TB 1.33@1.46+SK6(Delta7k)
    256M Corsair PC2400
    Leadtek GeForce3
    SBLive! PCI 5.1
    Sony 16x/50x DVD
    Sony 12x/8x/40x CDRW
    Lian-Li PC60+350w P.S.
    Klipsch Promedia
    CTX PL9 19" monitor
    If pro is the opposite of con, what's the opposite of progress?

  4. #4
    Justintime Guest
    yep, thats more than likely a software issue, remove the monitor from the device manager and reinstall it, or if you have your installation disk for the monitor, or its supported in windows, update the driver.

    ------------------
    Jr

    BINK'S HWC MEMBER PHOTO GALLERY

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455
    reinstalled many different versions of the detonators.

    have deleted the monitor from the system properties, but it is a generic monitor that I have no drivers for. (never have had, windows just atuodetects itas plugandplay).

    It still comes back as a 'default' monitor (which it never did)

    Is there any possibility that it could be hardware? only this is the only thing i changed, not any software.

    i will cart it over to my brothers tomorrow, and swap monitors and/or graphics cards just to see.

    would the card not being seated properly cause this?

    thanks for and and all advice

    ------------------
    PIII933 1.7v
    GA6BXC mobo (Asus Slotket)
    256Mb PC133 CAS2 (Crucial)
    Prophet2GTS (235/395)
    Cr*ppy ata33 8gig HD
    SoundBlaster Live
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2000 7910
    3DMARK2001 3754

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455
    how could i get new drivers for the monitor if it is supported through windows?
    and i do not know the make/model of the moniotr....(it's a cra**y TINY monitor)

    ------------------
    PIII933 1.7v
    GA6BXC mobo (Asus Slotket)
    256Mb PC133 CAS2 (Crucial)
    Prophet2GTS (235/395)
    Cr*ppy ata33 8gig HD
    SoundBlaster Live
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2000 7910
    3DMARK2001 3754

  7. #7
    Justintime Guest
    when updating the driver, choose show compatiable hardware, and choose plug and play monitor. I've had this happen a few times, especially if you turned on the computer with the monitor off and let windows load

    ------------------
    Jr

    BINK'S HWC MEMBER PHOTO GALLERY

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455
    ok thanks Justintime, will give that a go tonight. at work at the moment (bummer)

    ------------------
    PIII933 1.7v
    GA6BXC mobo (Asus Slotket)
    256Mb PC133 CAS2 (Crucial)
    Prophet2GTS (235/395)
    Cr*ppy ata33 8gig HD
    SoundBlaster Live
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2000 7910
    3DMARK2001 3754

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455
    is there anyway i can get newer drivers from the net as well?

    ------------------
    PIII933 1.7v
    GA6BXC mobo (Asus Slotket)
    256Mb PC133 CAS2 (Crucial)
    Prophet2GTS (235/395)
    Cr*ppy ata33 8gig HD
    SoundBlaster Live
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2000 7910
    3DMARK2001 3754

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455
    reformated the drive...carted computer up to my brothers....then it spontaneously starts working again!!!
    the reason....the monitor cabel was loose at the back of the monitor
    i am very happy my card is ok, but feel very foolish too

    ------------------
    PIII933 1.7v
    GA6BXC mobo (Asus Slotket)
    256Mb PC133 CAS2 (Crucial)
    Prophet2GTS (235/395)
    Cr*ppy ata33 8gig HD
    SoundBlaster Live
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2000 7910
    3DMARK2001 3754

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    2,676
    Join the club man!

    Current Main Rig:
    AMD FX55 @ 2.9 GHz
    2 GB PC 3200 DDR RAM
    ABIT KN8 SLi motherboard
    ATI X1900XT O/C to XTX speeds

    Retired Rig:
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @ 2387 MHz. (217*11)
    512MB DDR RAM @ 436 MHz. (PC 3700)
    Abit AN7 motherboard
    BFG GeForce 6800GT OC!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455
    can now get my card up to 240/400 though...

    ------------------
    PIII933 1.7v
    GA6BXC mobo (Asus Slotket)
    256Mb PC133 CAS2 (Crucial)
    Prophet2GTS (235/395)
    Cr*ppy ata33 8gig HD
    SoundBlaster Live
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2000 7910
    3DMARK2001 3754

  13. #13
    Justintime Guest
    wicked!

    ------------------
    Jr

    BINK'S HWC MEMBER PHOTO GALLERY

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    It might have been the monitor cable was not plugged in tight (or the card). I got a junk GeForce2 GTS (Inno3D) and the heatsink is cheap and glued on with a glob of epoxy. I did glue on some home made ram sinks though and can run at 210/410 with no problems. I actually got the memory to 425, but got some artifacts. At 215 core it sometime locks up.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455
    very impressive for a junk gts!!!

    Does anybody know if there is some trick that i can do which will bump up the voltage to my vid card? so that i can squeeze a few more mhz outa it...
    my mobo bios has no options for changing ANY voltages!

    ------------------
    PIII933 1.7v
    GA6BXC mobo (Asus Slotket)
    256Mb PC133 CAS2 (Crucial)
    Prophet2GTS (235/395)
    Cr*ppy ata33 8gig HD
    SoundBlaster Live
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2000 7910
    3DMARK2001 3754

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •