AHHH die windows XP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - Page 2
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 36

Thread: AHHH die windows XP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    http://www.quake3world.com/ubb/Forum9/HTML/000449.html?

    I have yet to try it, but I hear this registy tweak has worked for people with mouse problems.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Well, I just installed it, so we'll see what happens. If you want, you cand DL it from my site at http://deanscomp.multiservers.com/xpmousehack.html

    I'll have this up within 5 minutes of this post.

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  3. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    Okay, I installed XP then ran that reg fix. IT WORKS!!!! No more problems with a skittery mouse. Sensitivity changes, but that can be adjusted.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Can.
    Posts
    422
    Great tip guys.
    I've been plagued with a scitterish mouse since I picked up a new MS Optical mouse at Xmas. Installed the reg patch and viola, smooth sailing. Now if I could only get XP to play all my older games.

    Someone should post this topic all by itself so others might read it.

    ------------------
    T-Bird 850@1007(9.5*106,1.85V)
    Abit KT7
    KYRO II 4500
    384mb,PC-133,CAS2/Turbo
    Volcano-6
    SB Live 5.1
    IBM 60GXP 40G
    Toshiba 16x DVD
    LG 8*4*32 Burner
    2600Bartty@2284(208*11,1.75V)
    Abit NF7-S 2.0 (BIOS 1.4)
    Radeon 8500 128mb @199mhz
    256MB Corsair XMS 3200*2
    SK-7/Panaflo 32cfm
    WD 80G-8mb cache
    Toshiba 16x DVD
    lite-on 52* Burner
    Viewsonic G90f
    Antec TP 430W PSU

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Yeah, I too have noticed that it fixed my jumpy mouse. At first I couldn't tell (when I wrote the XPMOUSEHACK.HTML page on my site) but now I can tell you that it fixed my problems as well because I was able to use my game last night without any mouse jumping around at all. I will update that page in my site, so if someone does decide to post it (I might later) you can link to my page for those who don't know how to make a regedit file or are worried about making it wrong. Thanks for the tip guys!

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  6. #21
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    I had some wierd mouse problems in counterstrike under windows xp...i found that if i disabled somehting about pointer persion in the mouse control panel it made a big difference

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    I'm glad it helped you guys as it did for me. I'd like to take the credit, but a fellow quake clanmate (who plays lots of Q3) directed me to the link.

    I started a thread in the Gaming forum.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    108
    Originally posted by K62:
    and not only that but i cant play fps's now cause my mouse is screwed.. it feels like theres smooth mouse on and heavy mouse accel!! but theres not its the same with the defult drivers and the logitech drivers.. and when i move the mouse fast it just stops or goes random dirrections!!!!!
    I have the same mouse problem, but i'm running WinME.

    If i move my logitech PS/2 mouse too fast, it goes in crazy directions!

    How do you guys change the mouse refresh rate?

    Any tips on how to solve this prob?

    Thanks


  9. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    Since you can't use a PS/2 port for anything other than a mouse, you may as well use it... plus, you have a mouse in DOS if you ever need it (not to mention that you leave the USB port free).

    There's just really no advantage, and a few disadvantages to using USB for the mouse.

    I'm using the Logitech Optical wheelmouse with acceleration and speed set to maximum and refresh set to 100hz. I've used this mouse and these setting in both Windows 98 and XP and haven't experienced any problems so far...


    ------------------
    what?

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by Spilson:
    I have the same mouse problem, but i'm running WinME.

    If i move my logitech PS/2 mouse too fast, it goes in crazy directions!

    How do you guys change the mouse refresh rate?

    Any tips on how to solve this prob?

    Thanks

    Thought there used to be a WINMOUSE program or something you could download that would allow you to change your mouse refresh rate between 40Hz and 200Hz. Not sure of the name though

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  11. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by Baloneyflaps:
    Since you can't use a PS/2 port for anything other than a mouse, you may as well use it... plus, you have a mouse in DOS if you ever need it (not to mention that you leave the USB port free).

    There's just really no advantage, and a few disadvantages to using USB for the mouse.

    I'm using the Logitech Optical wheelmouse with acceleration and speed set to maximum and refresh set to 100hz. I've used this mouse and these setting in both Windows 98 and XP and haven't experienced any problems so far...


    I don't use DOS anymore, and when I do I don't run progs that can use a mouse anyways. Also, as stated above, I have no other use for the USB ports. Another thing was that this was a cheaper option than a PS/2-only optical mouse. I need optical because I lay on my bed a lot while being on the computer. I could easily move this to the PS2 port if ever needed via use of the adapter, but as for now I like it on my USB port.

    I see no DISadvantages except for stealing a USB port and loss of DOS support, but as these are no problems for me(considering both Win2k and WinXP use almost no DOS), it doesn't worry me.

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  12. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by ThreeOnTheTree:
    I started a thread in the Gaming forum.
    Sweet and you even gave me credit!

    Thanks!

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  13. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    Have you tried using the PS/2 adapter to see if that has any effect on your problem?


    ------------------
    what?

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by Baloneyflaps:
    Have you tried using the PS/2 adapter to see if that has any effect on your problem?


    No, but even if I were to switch now, I already installed the update, so it would matter anyways.

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  15. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    You can adjust the rates on your mouse by going into Device Manager, open your mouse, and it is under "Hardware settings," I believe. When running PS-2, you can adjust more settings than if you are using the USB.

    Why use USB? Because if your mouse is plugged into a PS-2 port, it requires an extra IRQ. If you put it in USB, it just uses the USB IRQ. This frees an IRQ for something else (more important under 9x/ME).

    Plus, my Mouseman Optical has a bright blue light on the palm, and at night (when all the lights are off) it is very bright, which isn't so bad unless you aren't trying to sleep. In USB mode, the mouse is turned off when the system suspends, so no light. This is also good because the mouse can't wake the system, which means when the cat jumps up on the desk in the middle of the night, he won't bring the system out of suspend!

    DC: NP man, I figured you needed some props since you've been getting bashed in that gunpowder story over in CPU's.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •