AHHH die windows XP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36

Thread: AHHH die windows XP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643

    AHHH die windows XP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    okay since i installed winxp.. i have been testing ati driver to find which ones are the best.. after a while i find one that gives me a score of 2900 compared to my 2400 in windows 2000.. so i think everythings great.. play a game.. **** frames (half-life, mohaa) and i keep disabling wait for v-sync then i go into the game and cant get over 60fps,, then i go back to windows and its enabled again!! and not only that but i cant play fps's now cause my mouse is screwed.. it feels like theres smooth mouse on and heavy mouse accel!! but theres not its the same with the defult drivers and the logitech drivers.. and when i move the mouse fast it just stops or goes random dirrections!!!!!

    i think im going to throw this computer out my window!!

    ------------------
    Duron 900 @ 1060 1.7v (8x133)
    Abit Kt7a
    192 mb ram
    ATI Radeon 32mb ddr
    win2k sp2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    You know, I've seen some damn long descriptions of where people live, and I was just wondering how freakin' long of a location they actually allow you to write in here. Looks like it's quite a bit. Oh well, if the space is here I'll use it!!! :)
    Posts
    2,330
    Hmm... I think I would file that driver under the "not the best" category and keep testing.

    ------------------
    Only 30,000 to 40,000 genes in an Einstein, a Michael Jordan, or a Bach? Boy, can that God guy write tight code or what? - David Rudloff
    Off Topic Central - Owned and Operated by HWC members

    IMO, Mr. Derek Smart is a hypocrite: Only someone who is either (a) lying (b) ashamed of their products (c) just plain ashamed, would hestitate to give out some simple and straight forward information. - Derek Smart, Ph.D.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    That mouse problem you are describing has plagued more people than you might think (me included). I can't use XP for this very reason.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Houston TX. USA
    Posts
    2,308
    I got real nervous when I first installed XP home, Major problems, total data loss on HDD forcing a format and reinstall twice! Third times the charm, after loading updates, upgrading Power DVD, Roxio CD Creator, TB Santa Cruz, disabled MS messenger,& getting XP Detonator drivers, all has been wonderfull for 4 months now! I am very happy with XP.

    ------------------
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php4?id=2362

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    I liked Win2k Pro much more than I like this XP Pro, but the networking is so much easier with XP and I'm sick of troubleshooting my friends/families network problems so I didn't need any more. I have some weird mouse problem with my USB Microsoft Intellimouse Optical. I'll be goin along just find and then all of a sudden the mouse will jump to the bottom right of the screen. When I'm playing StarCraft and this happens, my screen scrolls down to that direction and screws me over, especially when I'm in a battle at the time or when I'm trying to get something to a certain spot and click just as it happens. Its pretty annoying!

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    hmm ya the mouse is soo bad... its a logitech usb mouse, i want my win2k back

    ah well ill try to get this working before i format again

    ------------------
    Duron 900 @ 1060 1.7v (8x133)
    Abit Kt7a
    192 mb ram
    ATI Radeon 32mb ddr
    win2k sp2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    For one thing, why in the world are you using USB for your mouse!?



    ------------------
    what?

  8. #8
    MitchSchaft Guest
    what's wrong with that?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by Baloneyflaps:
    For one thing, why in the world are you using USB for your mouse!?

    Because its optical, PnP, Microsoft (lol), and lights up so I can see what the hell I'm doin at 2 in the morning.

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,778
    Originally posted by MitchSchaft:
    what's wrong with that?
    I've used my Logitech WheelMouse on USB for a while when I got it, and found the default refresh rate (I think it is fixed at 130) made the movement too sensitive and fast in games (Q3A and UT), even with the settings lowered down, it almost made me sick. Then I plugged it on the PS/2 port and adjusted the refresh rate to 100 and it's perfect now.

    I dunno about the Microsoft mice, but I found my Logitech to work better on PS/2 IMHO, and anyway I needed the USB ports for other peripherals. It's just a matter of preferences.

    ------------------
    "Build a system that even a fool can use, and only a fool will use it"

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Antonio, TX USA
    Posts
    1,214
    I agree with Equinoxe3d why waste a USB port on a mouse when you have a perfectly good PS/2 mouse port just sitting there taking an IRQ anyways. When I first got my MS Optical Mouse I to tried it as a USB mouse first and I found it to be touchy. Switched it back to using the PS/2 port and it was much better. I've also got a Logitech MouseMan Optical and I use it in the PS/2 port. I save my USB ports for scanners, compact flash readers, and zip drives vs wasting it on a mouse or keyboard.

    I've been using XP since it first came out and It totally blows Win2k out of the water. Much better at gaming, bootup/shutdown speed, and just overall performance. With the proper setup XP Pro rocks! I've got it running on a 1GHz Duron and 1GHz T-Bird both running Nvidia cards with the latest Det 4 23.11 drivers and gaming is kickass!

    Sincerely,

    Best4x4

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by Best4x4:
    I agree with Equinoxe3d why waste a USB port on a mouse when you have a perfectly good PS/2 mouse port just sitting there taking an IRQ anyways.
    I have no other USB devices. I run on a network. The printer is in my dad's room and the server(router) and my computer are in my room. Scanner, printer, camera is all in dad's room.

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  13. #13
    MitchSchaft Guest
    Hmm, I don't have problems with my USB mouse for gaming. I also don't have any other peripherals that use USB.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    The only problem I have with this mouse is that the cursor will all of a sudden jump to the bottom right corner of the screen. However, it must be an XP bug because I never had the problem under Win2k or WinME.

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v mod
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1900+ @ 1.75v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/190
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    oh man i loved this mouse in games and everything in windows 2000 and 9x plus it was given to me by a friend lol
    i dont worry about wasting a usb port cause i have 4 ports and use 2

    ------------------
    Duron 900 @ 1060 1.7v (8x133)
    Abit Kt7a
    192 mb ram
    ATI Radeon 32mb ddr
    win2k sp2

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •