How do you run a benchmark on Wolfenstein?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: How do you run a benchmark on Wolfenstein?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Idaho, United States
    Posts
    1,032

    How do you run a benchmark on Wolfenstein?

    The topic says it all guys. I wouldn't mind any torture benchmarks if you have links.

    I almost forgot, I would also like to know how to run benchmarks on Max Payne.

    Thanks in advance for the help

    [This message has been edited by tysidor (edited 01-29-2002).]
    AT7 MAX 2 - T-Bred 1730@ - 12X194=2332mhz - 512mb Corsair XMS 3200 - Chaintech Geforce 4 320/730 - 4 WD 120JB Raid 0 striping - SLK-800 - Enermax 550watt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    RTCW is Q3 engined, so you just benchmark through the console by typing:

    timedemo 1 (enter)

    demo (name of demo) (enter)

    You can grab a couple of demos in this Radeon 8500 preview on Anandtech.

    Max Payne is more tricky. I've been wanting to benchmark it myself recently just out of curiosity; the 1.05 patch seems to have improved performance on my system so much (I swear it's about 20% faster!). The most widely adopted method I could find was this one.

    If anyone has a simpler method I'd love to hear it. The current one looks like too much of a hassle and I don't wanna waste time benchmarking when I could be playing!

    Hope this helps, tysidor,

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    More # please...

    Bink's HWC GALLERY
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Idaho, United States
    Posts
    1,032
    MuFu----Thanks alot. When I download the demo do I just put it in the Wolfenstein folder, or do I have to create a demo folder inside?
    AT7 MAX 2 - T-Bred 1730@ - 12X194=2332mhz - 512mb Corsair XMS 3200 - Chaintech Geforce 4 320/730 - 4 WD 120JB Raid 0 striping - SLK-800 - Enermax 550watt

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Those demo's don't work with the retail version of Wolfenstein- only the single and mp demo. To my knowledge there aren't any demo's that work with the retail version at all.

    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    No they don't work, you're right. Damn. But I did a quick seach on the web and found a few demos (all *.dm_57) that seem too have been written for benchmarking purposes and work in the Mulitplayer version of RTCW. One popular one is called "checkpoint". There a lot of demos being recorded of tournaments etc. so you can obviously play them back.

    I guess that recording is done using the g_syncronousclients 1, record demo method. I downloaded a 1MB+ tournanment spectator demo and it worked fine. Just typed demo (name) and it worked. Haven't tried benching using it yet.

    The demos are stored in the folder Root:RTCW directory/Main/demos/

    Might have another look into this if I have some time. If anybody knows for sure how to bench RTCW then please tell us!

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    More # please...

    Bink's HWC GALLERY

    [This message has been edited by Mutha Funker (edited 01-29-2002).]
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Links man. We need links. I have been looking for a RTCW demofile for doing timedemos. I just got the new nVidia beta drivers 27.10. I got a 2-5% boost in most benchmarks and I was wondering how well it did in RTCW. I picked up the game about 9 days ago and beat it yesterday finally. Cool game!!!

    The only problem with these new drivers is I get an error at bootup:

    Error in NVQTWK.DLL
    Missing entry: NvXTInit

    I click OK and everything runs fine, but I hate seeing error messages. I guess that is what I get for using beta drivers.

    I also got new SB Audigy drivers (they came out a few days ago). Hopefully I will have the beta for DirectX 9 if a few days. All I need then is some new 4in1 drivers from VIA and I'm have it all covered.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    http://www.demoshowcreator.com/files/dsc/wdp103.exe

    It works.

    MuFu.



    ------------------
    More # please...

    Bink's HWC GALLERY
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Just to run through it for anyone who wants to have a go too, you extract the file rtcw-checkpoint.zip into the demos directory as mentioned above.

    Then press ` to open the console (whatever you have to the left of the number 1 in the row of numbers on your keyboard!) and type:

    timedemo 1 (enter)

    demo checkpoint (enter)


    Then open the console agin to see your FPS etc.

    I just ran two benchmarks:

    Highest Quality, 1024x768x32
    2945 Frames
    34.5 Seconds
    85.4 FPS

    Fastest, 1024x768x16
    2945 Frames
    28.2 Seconds
    104.4 FPS

    All other options defaulted. This on a...

    T-Bird 1.2@1.425GHz (150MHz x 9.5)
    KG7-RAID
    Radeon 8500 (300/300MHz)
    512MB Crucial 2100DDR
    6018 LADs
    Win XP

    Looks absolutely GLORIOUS.

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    More # please...

    Bink's HWC GALLERY

    [This message has been edited by Mutha Funker (edited 01-29-2002).]
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Idaho, United States
    Posts
    1,032
    MuFu----Thanks for the link. I am going to run that benchmark and see what I get.
    AT7 MAX 2 - T-Bred 1730@ - 12X194=2332mhz - 512mb Corsair XMS 3200 - Chaintech Geforce 4 320/730 - 4 WD 120JB Raid 0 striping - SLK-800 - Enermax 550watt

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Checkpoint doesn't work for me either. It gives the same errors as any other demo I've tried, including renaming it to the dm_49 format.

    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    You're running in Multiplayer mode, right?

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    More # please...

    Bink's HWC GALLERY
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    170
    i think you can find the rtcw demo at www.*************.com *************

    [This message has been edited by mick57 (edited 01-30-2002).]
    ecs k7vta3 rev 1.0 - duron 1gig - geforce2 mx400 - 256ddr2100 twinmos - enermax 431w

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    170
    game copy world
    ecs k7vta3 rev 1.0 - duron 1gig - geforce2 mx400 - 256ddr2100 twinmos - enermax 431w

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    That checkpoint demo does not seem to work with version 1.1. I still can not get a timedemo of RTCW to work either. I need a link to a demo .DM_57 for RTCW 1.1 US.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Yeah I forgot to mention I was running the patched version as well. I'll try again later.

    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •