I just upgraded but my 3dmark2001 scores seem low
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: I just upgraded but my 3dmark2001 scores seem low

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    190

    I just upgraded but my 3dmark2001 scores seem low

    I just upgraded to a Visiontek ti500 video card and my score went from 1799 to 4529. Should it be higher than this?

    I am running a PIII 1GHz, 512MB RAM, Abit VH-II mobo, 133MHz FSB. I would expect scores in the high 5000 low 6000. I have the latest detonator drivers, all the latest drivers for my mobo and directx 8.0.

    On the plus side, my system has never looked so good. Games are mighty shweet! I moved my old Geforce 2MX card to my second computer and put a blorb fan on it.

    ------------------
    PIII 1000Mhz
    Abit VH6 II MoBo
    512MB PC133 SDRAM
    Hercules Prophet 2 MX
    Soundblaster Live
    19" Monitor
    Cable modem
    VIRUS98SE-clean install

    Ignorance is no longer bliss, upgrading is...
    Athlon XP 2800+ Barton
    Gigabyte GA-7N400Pro A nF2 Ultra400
    1 GB Corsair XMS Extreme PC3200
    Coolermaster Aero 7+
    ATI Radeon 9800 128MB Non-Pro
    LIAN-LI PC60

    P4 2.4GHz
    Asus P4PE
    512MB Mushkin DDR-333
    ATI Radeon 8500AIW
    LIAN-LI PC-52B

    Windows XP Pro

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Reynoldsburg
    Posts
    131
    If your mobo has a via chipset then you need to read this article: http://www.onlinekosten.de/hardware/artikel/?ID=106&P=1

    Apparently there is a bug with the Via chipset when used with a Geforce3 and with Detonator 4 (version 21.83) drivers and with certain versions of the mobo bios and with Win 98 or ME. The bug can result in a 60% decrease in performance. The easiest fix is probably to install Detonator 3 (version 12.xx) drivers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    190
    Well, that seems like a poor solution-using old drivers and living with a 10% reduction in performance. I'm going to try changing the AGP aperture to 128 and see if that helps-according to the article it did help.

    ------------------
    PIII 1000Mhz
    Abit VH6 II MoBo
    512MB PC133 SDRAM
    Visiontek GeForce 3 TI500
    Soundblaster Live
    19" Monitor
    Cable modem
    VIRUS98SE-clean install

    Ignorance is no longer bliss, upgrading is...
    Athlon XP 2800+ Barton
    Gigabyte GA-7N400Pro A nF2 Ultra400
    1 GB Corsair XMS Extreme PC3200
    Coolermaster Aero 7+
    ATI Radeon 9800 128MB Non-Pro
    LIAN-LI PC60

    P4 2.4GHz
    Asus P4PE
    512MB Mushkin DDR-333
    ATI Radeon 8500AIW
    LIAN-LI PC-52B

    Windows XP Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    12,263
    They should be about 5000 or so.

    I get 5572 with my PNY Gforce3, although I am on the upper end of the scale for my Video Card and CPU.

    ------------------
    Dual P3 1ghz
    Abit VP6 Motherboard
    1 gig PC 133
    2x80g WD 7200 rpm Raid 0
    PNY Gforce 3
    16x10x40 CDRW
    52x CDROM
    Soundblaster Live Value
    Linksys 10/100 nic
    300w PS
    19" Monitor
    Win 2000/SP2

    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


    E6750 Core 2 Duo, 2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, GB P35C-DS3R MB, ATI Radeon X1950XT, Seagate 7200.9 320GB, Win XP Pro SP2, Enermax Liberty 500w


    HWC Folding@Home Team -- Learn How to Join the Team Here ---Detailed Stats

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    190
    jankerson-your setup is fairly similar to mine, any recommended tweaks? Are you overclocking your video card at all? I'm a little worried about overclocking and excess heat. My system temp went up a few degrees after adding this card, I'm using a mini-tower case with 300W power supply and an extra case fan.

    Changing the AGP aperture setting did nothing.

    ------------------
    PIII 1000Mhz
    Abit VH6 II MoBo
    512MB PC133 SDRAM
    Visiontek GeForce 3 TI500
    Soundblaster Live
    19" Monitor
    Cable modem
    VIRUS98SE-clean install

    Ignorance is no longer bliss, upgrading is...
    Athlon XP 2800+ Barton
    Gigabyte GA-7N400Pro A nF2 Ultra400
    1 GB Corsair XMS Extreme PC3200
    Coolermaster Aero 7+
    ATI Radeon 9800 128MB Non-Pro
    LIAN-LI PC60

    P4 2.4GHz
    Asus P4PE
    512MB Mushkin DDR-333
    ATI Radeon 8500AIW
    LIAN-LI PC-52B

    Windows XP Pro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Reynoldsburg
    Posts
    131
    Could you let me know if the Aperture increase worked? I just ordered a Geforce3 and have a Via based mobo- would much appreciate your feedback on what works.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    12,263
    Jules_in_SD,

    I didn't overclock the video card or my CPU's.

    I didn't tweak anything, but I am running the Lastest 4 in 1 drivers and useing the Det 21.83 drivers.

    But remember I am running Win 2k, not 9x.

    ------------------
    Dual P3 1ghz
    Abit VP6 Motherboard
    1 gig PC 133
    2x80g WD 7200 rpm Raid 0
    PNY Gforce 3
    16x10x40 CDRW
    52x CDROM
    Soundblaster Live Value
    Linksys 10/100 nic
    300w PS
    19" Monitor
    Win 2000/SP2

    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


    E6750 Core 2 Duo, 2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, GB P35C-DS3R MB, ATI Radeon X1950XT, Seagate 7200.9 320GB, Win XP Pro SP2, Enermax Liberty 500w


    HWC Folding@Home Team -- Learn How to Join the Team Here ---Detailed Stats

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    190
    True, that didn't register with me until you mentioned it.

    Changing the AGP aperture did nothing to improve my score.

    ------------------
    PIII 1000Mhz
    Abit VH6 II MoBo
    512MB PC133 SDRAM
    Visiontek GeForce 3 TI500
    Soundblaster Live!
    30GB IBM 7200rpm IDE HDD
    19" Monitor
    Netgear 10/100 NIC
    Plexwriter CDRW
    24X CD-ROM
    Win98SE
    Athlon XP 2800+ Barton
    Gigabyte GA-7N400Pro A nF2 Ultra400
    1 GB Corsair XMS Extreme PC3200
    Coolermaster Aero 7+
    ATI Radeon 9800 128MB Non-Pro
    LIAN-LI PC60

    P4 2.4GHz
    Asus P4PE
    512MB Mushkin DDR-333
    ATI Radeon 8500AIW
    LIAN-LI PC-52B

    Windows XP Pro

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    190
    I am also using the latest VIA 4in1 drivers and the 21.85 detonators.

    I guess I could always return it and try the Radeon 8500. ATIs driver support is pretty weak though. That might be a whole new can of worms.

    ------------------
    PIII 1000Mhz
    Abit VH6 II MoBo
    512MB PC133 SDRAM
    Visiontek GeForce 3 TI500
    Soundblaster Live!
    30GB IBM 7200rpm IDE HDD
    19" Monitor
    Netgear 10/100 NIC
    Plexwriter CDRW
    24X CD-ROM
    Win98SE
    Athlon XP 2800+ Barton
    Gigabyte GA-7N400Pro A nF2 Ultra400
    1 GB Corsair XMS Extreme PC3200
    Coolermaster Aero 7+
    ATI Radeon 9800 128MB Non-Pro
    LIAN-LI PC60

    P4 2.4GHz
    Asus P4PE
    512MB Mushkin DDR-333
    ATI Radeon 8500AIW
    LIAN-LI PC-52B

    Windows XP Pro

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    12,263
    I would keep the Gforce 3. It seems that the bug is with Win98, not really a Gforce issue.

    Your score is pretty good, I don't think the Radeon 8500 will beat it.

    ------------------
    Dual P3 1ghz
    Abit VP6 Motherboard
    1 gig PC 133
    2x80g WD 7200 rpm Raid 0
    PNY Gforce 3
    16x10x40 CDRW
    52x CDROM
    Soundblaster Live Value
    Linksys 10/100 nic
    300w PS
    19" Monitor
    Win 2000/SP2

    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


    E6750 Core 2 Duo, 2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, GB P35C-DS3R MB, ATI Radeon X1950XT, Seagate 7200.9 320GB, Win XP Pro SP2, Enermax Liberty 500w


    HWC Folding@Home Team -- Learn How to Join the Team Here ---Detailed Stats

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    190
    Thanks, I'm not going to rush out and return it just yet. So far I'm pleased with the performance and it is rock solid stable.

    I just thought it would do a little better on the 3dmark2k1 is all.

    ------------------
    PIII 1000Mhz
    Abit VH6 II MoBo
    512MB PC133 SDRAM
    Visiontek GeForce 3 TI500
    Soundblaster Live!
    30GB IBM 7200rpm IDE HDD
    19" Monitor
    Netgear 10/100 NIC
    Plexwriter CDRW
    24X CD-ROM
    Win98SE
    Athlon XP 2800+ Barton
    Gigabyte GA-7N400Pro A nF2 Ultra400
    1 GB Corsair XMS Extreme PC3200
    Coolermaster Aero 7+
    ATI Radeon 9800 128MB Non-Pro
    LIAN-LI PC60

    P4 2.4GHz
    Asus P4PE
    512MB Mushkin DDR-333
    ATI Radeon 8500AIW
    LIAN-LI PC-52B

    Windows XP Pro

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    265
    I made a search at MadOnion.com, GeForce 3 Ti500 + PIII 1 Ghz... scores 3DMark 2001 4495-5552, thats pretty low!

    I score 4071 with an old GeForce 2 GTS 32 Mb card...

    ------------------
    Abit KT7A-R Bios 4A
    AMD T-Bird 1.2@1.4
    Water Cooled
    256 Mb Crucial Cas2
    IBM 30 Gb 7200 RPM, ATA100
    Asus V-7700 GeForce 2 GTS 32 Mb (215/380) Det. 22.50 DX8.1
    Abit AN7 | XP-M 2400+ | 1024 Mb Corsair XMS-3200 | Radeon 9800 Pro |

    3DMark01=22925 | 3DMark03=7262

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    190
    My best score with the same system and a geforce 2 MX card was 1799. So the geforce 3 ti500 is much faster on this system than my old card.

    ------------------
    PIII 1000Mhz
    Abit VH6 II MoBo
    512MB PC133 SDRAM
    Visiontek GeForce 3 TI500
    Soundblaster Live!
    30GB IBM 7200rpm IDE HDD
    19" Monitor
    Netgear 10/100 NIC
    Plexwriter CDRW
    24X CD-ROM
    Win98SE
    Athlon XP 2800+ Barton
    Gigabyte GA-7N400Pro A nF2 Ultra400
    1 GB Corsair XMS Extreme PC3200
    Coolermaster Aero 7+
    ATI Radeon 9800 128MB Non-Pro
    LIAN-LI PC60

    P4 2.4GHz
    Asus P4PE
    512MB Mushkin DDR-333
    ATI Radeon 8500AIW
    LIAN-LI PC-52B

    Windows XP Pro

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Deutschland
    Posts
    936
    With an Athlon 1.33 GHz, AMD 761 northbridge, 256 MB of DDR RAM, and Win 98 SE, I scored somewhere around 6000. Oh, righ, and I have a slightly overclocked TI 200. But even with the factory settings, it was just a notch under 6000. Guess it's not bad at all.

    I'm guessing that you're limited by the CPU.

    But at the risk of repeating myself, I wouldn't put much faith in 3DMark. It IS an artifficial benchmark, and has as much relevance to real gaming, as the football championship has to the Afghanistan war. Which is to say, not much. One is purely show biz, the other is the real thing.

    The real question is whether in real games you're getting the frame rates you'd like, in the resolution you'd like. If your answer is "yes", I'd stick to that graphics card.

    ------------------
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild

    [This message has been edited by Moraelin (edited 11-20-2001).]
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Minot AFB, ND
    Posts
    174
    You can try this,

    Go download Detonator Destroyer and have it remove your video drivers completely, then install the 21.81 version of the det4's (they seem to be the fastest for me)
    Also make sure that Anti-Aliasing is off as well as V-Sync.

    I get around 7100 with my GF3 @ 240\545, so your score seems fairly low.

    ------------------
    AMD TBird 1GHz @ 1.2GHz (133*9) w/FOP-38
    Abit KT7A
    Crucial 256MB PC133 Cas2
    VisionTek GeForce3 @ 235/540
    SB Live! X-Gamer
    WD 7200RPM 20GIG ATA-100
    Maxtor 5400RPM 15GIG ATA-66

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •