Nvidia Detonator refresh rate still sucks in XP -- >> in Games... same old 60Hz !!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Nvidia Detonator refresh rate still sucks in XP -- >> in Games... same old 60Hz !!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    2

    Nvidia Detonator refresh rate still sucks in XP -- >> in Games... same old 60Hz !!

    its like windows 2000 pro, still the same thing, at that time, i have this nvidia windows 2000 refresh rate program, but now ??

    I don't want to play games at 60Hz, flickers !

    ------------------
    | | Nothing is impossible | |

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    1,501
    I knew that issues would exist with XP. No-one seems to care its based on the W2K kernal. They should be focusing on solving those W2K issues now. A lot of home users (who previously used 95x) are going to be in for a big suprise when they get XP.

    ------------------
    Cheers
    The Captain

    "I only use the best cod in my fish fingers"
    The Captain

    Shuttle XPC Neon (SB51G)
    Intel P4 3.06Ghz D1 Stepping
    1GB Geil PC3200
    Sapphire Radeon 9600XT @ 532/325
    Creative Soundblaster Audigy2 Player
    Wester Digital Caviar SE x2 (80GB / 120GB)


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    1,501
    Are you using the Dets with XP compatability? I would have thought the refresh rate patch would work under XP...It's basically the same OS kernal.

    ------------------
    Cheers
    The Captain

    "I only use the best cod in my fish fingers"
    The Captain

    Shuttle XPC Neon (SB51G)
    Intel P4 3.06Ghz D1 Stepping
    1GB Geil PC3200
    Sapphire Radeon 9600XT @ 532/325
    Creative Soundblaster Audigy2 Player
    Wester Digital Caviar SE x2 (80GB / 120GB)


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,235
    This program only works for OpenGL, for D3D you additionally have to change a setting in the DirectX configuration.
    It works for me, 85 Hz in all games running XP.

  5. #5
    Anitdaisu Guest
    get the det xp's, then grab the new refresh rate fix then find the program (I don't remember a shortcut being placed anywhere) then run it. then you choose it to use the max supported rates.. playing 800x600 @ 100Hz

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    I also can't belive that a fix should still be required after all this time. Is 85hz a max? with the refresh fix?, as that would be no good for me. I have a monitor that supports 160hz @ 1024x768 32 and I would like the option of being able to use it.

    I've posted a few questions about XP in the VDR forum, but it looks like it's just going to be win 2000second edition with a "mothercare interface" and none of the annoying issues I need fixed actually dealt with, but a whole lot more irritation, (like product activation which will be a pain in the as if you want to swap hardware around alot) .

    Probably have to stick with 98SE until it is no longer supported



    ------------------
    Stealth Cooling Project

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    330
    Get the new NVidia refresh rate fix.... latest version supports XP and works perfect.

    ------------------
    TBird 1.4@1600/Asus A7V133/Raid0/Millennium Glaciator/Herc GForce3/768mb SDRAM/WinXP RTM
    P3 1ghz@1200/Asus P3V4X/Alpha P3125/LeadTech GForce2 Pro/768mb SDRAM/Win2000 Pro

    [This message has been edited by Terry (edited 10-06-2001).]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    1,501
    Have you got a link for the new fix Terry? I forgot where I got the first fix from.



    ------------------
    Cheers
    The Captain

    "I only use the best cod in my fish fingers"
    The Captain

    Shuttle XPC Neon (SB51G)
    Intel P4 3.06Ghz D1 Stepping
    1GB Geil PC3200
    Sapphire Radeon 9600XT @ 532/325
    Creative Soundblaster Audigy2 Player
    Wester Digital Caviar SE x2 (80GB / 120GB)


  9. #9
    Anitdaisu Guest
    just e mail me @ lssanjose@csupomona.edu if you need copies

  10. #10
    Anitdaisu Guest
    bladerunner get the *cough*corporate*cough*edition. no activation in that bad boy

    ------------------
    my specs:
    AMD T-BIRD 750MHz
    256MB RAM
    IBM 46 GB 7200 RPM
    SAMSUNG 2GB
    SONY CD ROM 48X
    PANASONIC 8X4X32
    REALTEK 10/100 ETHERNET
    SOUND BLASTER LIVE VALUE
    Leadtek GF2 Pro
    300W SUPPLY
    CAMBRIDGE FPS 1000
    17 " GEMSTAR
    PROMISE TECHNOLOGY ULTRA 66 CARD
    ABIT KT7
    WINDOWS 2000 W/ SP 1

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    That'll be the one I'll be needing then, how'd you get of them without being a corporate?

    ------------------
    Stealth Cooling Project

  12. #12
    MitchSchaft Guest
    but we don't want to wait for copies

    ------------------
    "If practice makes perfect, and nobody's perfect, then why practice?"

  13. #13
    MitchSchaft Guest
    I found it using Google, but I can't tell any difference

    ------------------
    "If practice makes perfect, and nobody's perfect, then why practice?"

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    461
    Originally posted by Anitdaisu:
    just e mail me @ lssanjose@csupomona.edu if you need copies
    YGM!!

    AMD 1.4GHz (266 FSB)
    512 MB PC2100 DDR
    ABIT KG7
    45GB ATA100 Maxtor
    3D Prophet GTS 64
    Creative Labs 128
    Dell 20" Trinitron

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •