geforce2mx, amd 1.4 ghz, crappy gameplay
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: geforce2mx, amd 1.4 ghz, crappy gameplay

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    toronto, ontario, canada
    Posts
    32

    geforce2mx, amd 1.4 ghz, crappy gameplay

    the geforce is some no-name mx-200 that i got with my system.

    for some damn reason i i am only gettin about 40-50 fps in UT and Q3 !



    ------------------
    " I do nothing that a man of unlimited funds, superb physical endurance, and maximum scientific knowledge could not do." -Batman.
    " I do nothing that a man of unlimited funds, superb physical endurance, and maximum scientific knowledge could not do." -Batman.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    toronto, ontario, canada
    Posts
    32
    it also has 256 ddr.
    i was gettin better fps outta my c466@525 with a vodoo3 2k!

    can someone please help me out with this !

    ------------------
    " I do nothing that a man of unlimited funds, superb physical endurance, and maximum scientific knowledge could not do." -Batman.
    " I do nothing that a man of unlimited funds, superb physical endurance, and maximum scientific knowledge could not do." -Batman.

  3. #3
    Anitdaisu Guest
    hmmmm it could be because of the fact that UT was glide optimized. So things should move faster. Also did you try sifting through display properties? I would consider you getting nvmax or some kind of tweaker so that you can disable v sync for D3D or you can try and force open GL w/ it. What res are you playing at btw?

    ------------------
    my specs:
    AMD T-BIRD 750MHz
    256MB RAM
    IBM 46 GB 7200 RPM
    SAMSUNG 2GB
    SONY CD ROM 48X
    PANASONIC 8X4X32
    REALTEK 10/100 ETHERNET
    SOUND BLASTER LIVE VALUE
    Leadtek GF2 Pro
    300W SUPPLY
    CAMBRIDGE FPS 1000
    17 " GEMSTAR
    PROMISE TECHNOLOGY ULTRA 66 CARD
    ABIT KT7
    WINDOWS 2000 W/ SP 1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    I agree with what has been said above, but it also has to be said that they have given you a really poor graphics card with your system. It is by far the bottleneck in your system. If you got yourself a GeForce 2 Pro or something like that, I would say that your framerates would be hugely increased.

    ------------------
    Just be pleased that the Universe doesn't run on Windows...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    386
    Install Via drivers (If you have a Via chipset) www.viahardware.com
    This one is better...
    But in theory, remember, only in theory

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Also make sure you get the newest drivers. They are up to something insane like 14.61 right now and supposadly the Detonator 4 drivers have been out for a bit under beta. I have seen 8.05, but the ones you really want are the new 20.80 when they hit the net. They are heavly optimized for the GeForce3, but give a boost the the GeForce2 GTS and MX cards (but not as much).

    Overclocking can help too, but the MX is just not a screamer. With half the rendering pipelines and some slow SDRAM, they are just a lot slower than the GTS.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Deutschland
    Posts
    936
    Originally posted by Fat_Tony:
    the geforce is some no-name mx-200 that i got with my system.
    Well, then there's your problem. The MX-200 is by far THE crappiest video card still manufactured. It's got a castrated 64 bit SDR memory bus, whereas even any other budget card has at least 128 bit. Unless you're content to play in 640x480x16, that MX-200 will be one huge bottleneck.

    Personally I'd get a Kyro 2 if I were you. Check out the benchmarks on www.anandtech.com and see for yourself. Looks like it's THE card for Unreal Tournament, beating even the Voodoos in 32 bit.

    ------------------
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •