Help me pick a good video editing video card
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help me pick a good video editing video card

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7

    Help me pick a good video editing video card

    I have a fire wire card and a slow ati agp card for editing digital video.

    I am upgrading to an AMD 1.2 GIG 266 Thunderbird and SUS A7A266 W/AUDIO & 256MB DDR PC2100.

    While I'm at it I want to upgrade the video card.

    I'm considering the ATI Radeon AGP 64M VIVO Video Card.

    What comments do you have. I game but I spend more time working with art and photos online and of course digital video which are not polygons.
    It's always easier to get into something than it is to get out of it!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7
    Thats and ASUS motherboard sorry I dropped the "A"
    It's always easier to get into something than it is to get out of it!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Portersville, Pa
    Posts
    1,462
    Thats a good choice, as is the Matrox G series. I built my fiance a PIV with a Matrox Marvel G450 eTV, and she would never go back to her 32meg ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon DDR.

    But keep in mind that the most demanding games she plays is Millionaire and Wheel of Fortune.

    Also, though you didnt ask
    You may want to consider the ASUS A7M266. It uses the AMD 761 chipset, where the A7A266 uses the Ali chipset. The A7A lacks in performance, badly.

    And the FIC AD11 performs just as well as the A7M266 (though less features) but is $50 cheaper than the Asus and it also has onboard audio.

    Dave

    Scavengers



    ------------------
    DUDE - Your face is as blue as this screen. Just reboot, you know you like it.
    i7 2600k @ 4.6 ghz by Turbo multi - MSI Z68A-GD65-G3 - 8 gig GSkill Ripjaws @ 1600 8-8-8-24 - Corsair H100 Closed loop water cooling - 2 XFX 6870 DD Crossfire - 256 gig Mushkin Enhanced Chronos Deluxe and 250 Gig WD Blue Series - PCP&C Turbocool 850 SSI

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    I would also consider better MB then A7A266 maybe Epox8K7A it is really great MB, and cheap to.


    For video editing maybe you should go for Pinnacle products, here is the link and pick something
    http://www.pinnaclesys.de/uk/default.asp

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7
    Well you talked me out of the ASUS A7A

    Now I'm looking at the Gigabyte GA-7DX DDR
    or APOX 8K7A w/DDR

    I am still staying with the Thunderbird 1.2 GB/266.

    Any one with experience with these 2 boards.

    Also still trying to selct a board to go along with it I use Pinnacles Studio DV with fire wire but I need a much better Video card to go with this system.
    It's always easier to get into something than it is to get out of it!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    Definitely do Epox 8K7A. I have one and nothing comes close, especially at 175mhz FSB (350mhz effective).

    As for the Radeon VIVO for video editing, go ahead, it works great. I use it for basic stuff and it works fine. If you have the money for Matrox RT2000 or RT2500 nothing comes close, unless you have piles and piles of money. Stay away from the Matrox G runner series as matrox has chosen to not support mjpeg support under Win2k, as there were difficulties in driver development. Read up on the fiasco at www.matroxusers.com

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7
    I finally purchased the EPoX EP-8KHA VIA Apollo KT266 with 1.2 266 ghz CPU 256 Meg DDR and ATI Radeon 64MB DDR.

    I am now wondering if I should have purchased the EPoX EP-8K7A AMDŽ 761 PC1600

    I still have a day to change my mind.

    ------------------
    It's always easier to get into something than it is to get out of it!
    It's always easier to get into something than it is to get out of it!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Scotland
    Posts
    1,215
    I think you should change it m8... the board you have purchased wont accept DDR memory, just SDRAM

    ------------------
    Duron 700@1100 2.1v Air Cooled
    ALPHA PAL6035 & Delta 7000rpm
    Abit KT7 Raid w/voltage mod
    IBM 75 GXP UDMA100
    Gainward Geforce2 Pro 64Meg
    256Mb Crucial PC133 CAS2
    Belinea 10-30-40 17" 0.26
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz S/Card
    ASUS 50x
    Mitsumi 8x 2x CD-R
    GlobalWin 802 w/5x80mm YS-Techs
    Duron 700@1100 2.1v Air Cooled - RIP

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7
    It actually handles 3 DDR's
    see http://www.epox.com/html/english/pro...rd/ep-8kha.asp

    Thanks for the feedback

    Here is also a review done last month http://www.ocworkbench.com/hardware/...kha/8khap1.htm


    Originally posted by 600R:
    I think you should change it m8... the board you have purchased wont accept DDR memory, just SDRAM


    ------------------
    It's always easier to get into something than it is to get out of it!
    It's always easier to get into something than it is to get out of it!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •