this is really pissing me off...
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: this is really pissing me off...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    203

    this is really pissing me off...

    My setup:

    P3 600E
    Tyan Mobo w/ VIA Apollo Pro 133
    384 mb pc133 RAM
    Elsa Gladiac GeForce2 GTS
    SB Live!
    Promise Ultra 100 TX2 ide controller card
    Various harddrives, cdrom drives, ethernet cards...

    What the #%^@ is wrong with my computer? It can't play any games. Before loading up Diablo 2's first screen, it freezes. Before going full screen when loading up Giants, it freezes. Both end up with black screens. I'm using the latest video drivers... Is there something i'm missing?

    I went from an ABIT mobo with ATI Radeon - no problems whatsoever.

    Help!! i'm going insane!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Falköping, Sweden
    Posts
    364
    Have you tried to remove all cards (AGP, PCI, ISA)? Try it, if it makes a difference, put them back one by one to find out which one that causes trouble.

    Or a reformat, maybe?

    ------------------
    "Yesterday we obeyed kings and bent our necks before emperors.
    But today we kneel only to the truth..."

    --Kahlil Gibran
    "In the end, the one with the biggest gun wins."
    - General Custard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,781
    If you're using the 12.41 drivers I would check that thread:

    http://discussions.hardwarecentral.c...ML/014602.html


    It tells mostly these drivers may not work with a GTS card...

    ------------------
    Pentium II 350 MHz
    160mb NEC PC100 SDRAM
    Voodoo3 3000 AGP
    Guillemot MaxiSound Fortissimo
    Windows 98SE

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    907
    I had the same problem with one system that had a tnt2 card, the machine would lock up any time I tried to enter ANY graphically intensive application. After troubleshooting, I came to the conclusion that it was a driver related issue, but since this was a rebuild / upgrade situation I just reformatted instead of spending more time trying to track down the exact troub., It worked fine after that.

    ------------------
    We do precision guesswork.
    We do precision guesswork.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    232
    you've got all that great stuff in your computer, now what about cooling? NO game will run when your CPU gets too hot. Check that out.

    ------------------
    1GHz T-Bird, BCM-bc133kt, 256mbRAM,
    Annihilator 2, Soundblaster LIVE!,Windows ME
    30gb Maxtor 7200rpm
    Athlon XP1600 @1.4 GHz,Asus A7V266-E, 256mb DDR-RAM,
    Annihilator 2, Soundblaster LIVE!,Windows XP
    30gb Maxtor 7200rpm

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Elkhart Lake WI
    Posts
    575
    i had the same prob on my step-dads system...i narrowed it down to either the directx version or a video driver issue....something got corupted....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Middletown, NY
    Posts
    605
    Izomorph, one thing you might try is to drop your AGP to 2x if you`re running 4x.

    There isn`t enough difference betwen the two to worry about (1or 2 FPS in some apps) and it often solves your problem with the Apollo Pro 133 chipset.

    ------------------
    FLASH
    :-)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,332
    "...There isn`t enough difference betwen the two to worry about (1or 2 FPS in some apps) ...."

    That point always worries me. Twice the bandwidth for AGP and it gives no performance increase.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,990
    I know what you mean. The problem is that system memory can not provide enough data to really use AGP4X. Max throughput of AGP4X is around 1200MBps while memory typically gives around 600MBps according to Sandra. This makes AGP8X sound rather pointless but, hopefully, system memory speeds will improve rapidly.


    ------------------
    Friends don't let friends buy P4s.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    8
    i had that same problem w/ my tnt2pro and win2k pro.

    like other ppl mentioned before me, it was a driver problem. i remember it was detonator v. 6.5 in particular to me. i merely uninstalld my vid card and reinstalled w/ v. 6.31 and it did the trick. that was like 5 months ago.

    also, i had some incompatible memory installed and it did something similiar too.

    ------------------
    pIII 800
    384 megs sdram pc133
    gf2 mx 200
    hp 8/4/32 cd-rw
    pioneer 12x dvd
    sblive value
    viewsonic a75f
    win2k pro / win98 se
    pIII 800
    384 megs sdram pc133
    gf2 mx 200
    hp 8/4/32 cd-rw
    pioneer 12x dvd
    sblive value
    viewsonic a75f
    win2k pro / win98 se

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •