I really don't understand
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: I really don't understand

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361

    I really don't understand

    I just got myself a GeForce 2 Pro 64 meg from Leadtek to replace my old Geforrce 1 SDR (also from leadtek)

    and I'm getting 2232 3dmark 2001 points at stock speeds (200/400)
    can someone tell me if that's good for my sytem

    PIII 600E@850
    384mg RAM
    GeForce 2 Pro 64 meg
    Sound Blaster live
    Via Apollo pro 133 Mobo (yes I've installed 4 in 1)

    now the thing is, when I bump this thing up to 235/475, I get an extra 14 marks only to 2245, I was expecting a bit more than that....

    I've used powerstrip, coolbits, everything I can think of to o/c it, can someone tell me what's wrong?

    ------------------
    If it fits.....Stick it in
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Morelia, Mexico
    Posts
    1,717
    The score is appropiate for your system (i think).

    Maybe the lack of performace is due to the apollo pro, an intel works best with an intel chipset.

    Try different drivers, some of them might work faster than others in your system, you should try them out.

    ------------------
    Keyboard not detected, press F1 to continue...
    If you were in a world full of crazy people, who would be the crazy person?
    OTCentral

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Have you checked to see if fssa is enabled? Some or most of the Nvidia drivers enable it by default and it will impact your benchmarking & game performance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Minot AFB, ND
    Posts
    174
    The VIA Apollo pro 133 is a poor chipset because of it's ram bandwidth. You can tweak it however and make it run fairly nice Follow this link: http://viahardware.com/memtweakguide1.shtm


    ------------------
    AMD TBird 1GHz @ 1.33GHz (133*10x)
    Abit KT7A
    Crucial 256MB PC133 Cas2
    Hercules GeForce2 MX
    SB Live! X-Gamer
    WD 7200RPM 20GIG ATA-100
    Maxtor 5400RPM 15GIG ATA-66

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    I'm using 12.90 and i've got the memory interleaver from viahardware, y is my overclocking doing so little??

    ------------------
    If it fits.....Stick it in

    [This message has been edited by danny889 (edited 07-12-2001).]
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    I installed 10.80 from guru3d and I got 2303 3dmarks in 2001, but the overclocking still isn't doing anything, any ideas?

    ------------------
    If it fits.....Stick it in
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •