Who will buy the geforce 3? - Page 2
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: Who will buy the geforce 3?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    2,860
    I won't be... too much money!

    However, with it being the only fully DX8 implemented video card, you'll want(need) one to see all of the new tricks in the games coming out.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    I think I'll get the KyroII as an interem solution and move up when the competition arrives.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  3. #18
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,176
    As soon as image quality has been confirmed, and stability in an overclocked system, then this card will be mine





    Oops forgot to say its the Elsa Gladiac 920.

    ------------------
    P3 800e @ 1 Gig with Alpha PEP66 (YS-Tech fan: bloody noisy)
    BF6 Mobo
    Geforce2 GTS
    256M PC133 Crucial
    TurtleBeach Santa Cruz
    Iiyama VisionMaster Pro450

    [This message has been edited by Gasman (edited 05-01-2001).]
    Xp1800
    Soltek DRV5
    Corsair PC2700 cas2
    GF4 Ti4400
    Santa Cruz
    Barracuda IV
    Hollywood+
    Iiyama Pro450

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,978
    I will get a GeForce 3 late this year or early next year, i'm happy with my GeForce 2 GTS right now.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Sarawak, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,807
    As I know, all of the GF3 card should be using the 3.8ns SDRAM except for Leadtek Winfast that is using the 4ns instead. Why the 4ns??
    I have just recently browsed an auction in Ebay for GF3?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,390
    I ll get one, but not now though, my GeForce DDR still works good... I still remember back in the day when i got it for like 450AUD and everyone was still stuck on TNT2 etc... now look at me, at the bottom of the ladder now
    I dont know... I just dont.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Berserker

    The rumour is that the GF3 reference spec calls for 4ns ram or better. This means that any card you buy could have 3.8ns or 4ns depending on what is available to the card maker at that time. For instance they are not going to halt production of cards just because they can't get any 3.8ns, mainly because 4ns will suffice at the GF3's default clock speed 460mhz DDR.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    206
    LOL Tang! I bought my GeForce DDR back then too heh! I paid $530AUD for mine but to be honest through the f**kups and the misery getting it finally running stable at 1xAGP on a AMD 750 chipset MB but it's still my main gaming system anbd it still kicks pretty sweet ***. At the time I new nothing about the GeForce "Issues" (Bladrunner?? )

    Yeah the time is coming though VERY soon to get my new KA (KICKASS) machine.
    I'm thinking Polomino with DUAL DDR channels (can anyone say 4.2Gbit/s data rates?) www.ebnews.com/story/OEG20010427S0084

    And the usual other high end gear, probably a GeForce 3 Pro or some such and a VERY nice monitor!

    ------------------
    Athlon 500@500 Classic -GFD unavailable
    Msi-6167 AMD750 chipset
    ATA66 13.1 Quantum FB of Questionable RPM
    Leadtek GeForce DDR 7ns 130/340
    256Mb 7.5ns Pc100 cas2
    Intel Pro NIC 10/100
    SB Live! Value OEM
    Motorola 56k Modem
    Kodak 4x4x24 CD-R/RW

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA / Baltimore, MD USA
    Posts
    1,992
    if i get an internship over the summer with ibm, i'll be getting one

    ------------------
    Visit my website!
    look for me on AIM as gosanjose or on ICQ as #46997155

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,281
    Supposed to be out when in Canada?

    ------------------
    P3 800 133mhz
    Asus CUSL2-C 128mb 133
    15.3 Maxtor 7200 ATA100
    DVD 5X Samsung
    Voodoo5 Agp
    Sb live Value
    Win98se

    DARKNESS!!! Imprisoning Me,All That I See, Absolute Horror,I Cannot Live, I Cannot Die
    Trapped in Myself, Body My Holding Cell
    Asus P5Q
    Intel core 2 Duo 3ghz 1333 fsb 6mb L2 cache
    OCZ Gold XTC 4GB DDR2-1066
    Asus ati3870 512mb pci express 16
    80Gig Hd Sata
    Vista Home premium

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL, US
    Posts
    351
    Hehe, I already bought mine

    ------------------
    -Pikachu

    T-Bird 1ghz @ 1ghz
    512m PC-133
    Abit KT7A-Raid
    4x 30gig ata 100 IBM Hdds (Raid 0)
    1x 45gig ata 100 IBM Hdd
    GeForce 3 (225/500)
    det 12.00
    SBLive! 5.1 Plat.
    Sony 10x4x32x CD-RW
    Creative 12x DVD
    Win2K Pro + Win98Se
    -Pikachu
    ICQ: 19553058
    PIV 2.8 @3.4
    MSI 850E-Max
    4x120gb 7200rpm HDD 8meg cache(Raid 0)
    1x100gb 7200rpm HDD (USB 2.0)
    48/25/48A PlexWriter
    16x Pioneer DVD-Rom
    VisionTek GeForce 4 ti4600
    512mb PC1066 RD-Ram
    SoundBlaster Audigy
    21" Sony E500 monitor
    Windows XP Professional

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •