Tv tuner card?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Tv tuner card?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    190

    Tv tuner card?

    WAts a good tv tuner card?? Also how much would it be??
    aka: Trax

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    My personal favorite is the $45 Phoebe TV Master. I have one and I love the thing. Great picture quality, stereo sound, and remote control. Don't forget the great drivers. Goes for only $45 from www.micropro.com if you mention pricewatch. Check out the manufacturer's site at www.phoebemicro.com

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14
    If ya want a full featured tv tuner with video capture capabilities without having to open your case or even shut your system off to install it, ATI put out a pretty cool product. Its an external USB tv tuner. I just ordered one for my new system (I have a ATI Radeon VIVO 64, but it's also compatible with cards from
    ATI
    3Dfx
    S3
    Nvidia

    I have a All-In-Wonder 128 in the system I'm replacing and it seems to have all the same features for under $100

    *STILL IMAGE AND MOTION VIDEO CAPTURE
    *DIGITAL VCR AND SCHEDULED VIEWING
    *125-CHANNEL TV TUNER, ect. ect.

    Go here and check out all of the details.

    Hope this helps...
    Speedracer


    [This message has been edited by speedracer (edited 04-07-2001).]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    PCI should perform much better than USB.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    laie, HI, USA
    Posts
    252
    hi there.

    i have a VideoHighway extreme on my machine. and it used to work before.

    before my system crashed, it was working great (bad hard drive made my system crashed)

    after that, i used pqdi (powerquest drive image) and restored the system. now the card won't work.

    every time i try to watch TV on my pc, the system hangs.

    i also got messages such as:

    your system is not PCI 2.1 compatible or something like that.

    do u guys know how to make the card work again.

    i could go and reformat everything, but hmmm i am too lazy for that.

    thanks

    ------------------
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SC11
    Athlon Classic 700@800 (stable@850))
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor
    Cooling fans
    Athlon C 950mhz
    M7MKE MB
    Viper Z200II
    256MB of ram
    30 gig Maxtor 7.2krpm HDD
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SD11
    Athlon Classic 700@800
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor

  6. #6
    Deanril Guest
    I know how to make it work again!

    Go to system and REMOVE it ,then to add/remove and UNINSTALL the software.

    Then goes as far as rebooting and poping in the CD.............

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    laie, HI, USA
    Posts
    252
    thanks deanril for the reply.

    i will try that.

    hope it works.

    see y'all

    ------------------
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SC11
    Athlon Classic 700@800 (stable@850))
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor
    Cooling fans
    Athlon C 950mhz
    M7MKE MB
    Viper Z200II
    256MB of ram
    30 gig Maxtor 7.2krpm HDD
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SD11
    Athlon Classic 700@800
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    laie, HI, USA
    Posts
    252
    ok...

    i have tried removing everything (hardware and software)

    it worked for 10 minutes.

    however, when it did work, the screen would only be at 320*110 and i got the error message concerning my PCI chipset not being 2.1 compliant. WTH?

    now it doesn't work. it just freezes.

    should i just swap the card around.

    all of my pci slots are full

    here is what is installed from AGP down to ISA

    1. Voodoo 3000 (agp)
    2. NIC (pci)
    3. TV Tuner Card (")
    4. Sound Card (")
    5. Modem (")
    6. ATA66 Promise IDE Controller Card (pci & ISA shared slot)

    any advice?

    ------------------
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SC11
    Athlon Classic 700@800 (stable@850))
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor
    Cooling fans
    Athlon C 950mhz
    M7MKE MB
    Viper Z200II
    256MB of ram
    30 gig Maxtor 7.2krpm HDD
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SD11
    Athlon Classic 700@800
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor

  9. #9
    Deanril Guest
    The pci slot next to the AGP port shares the same IRQ as so you may be having problems there,you WILL NOT see much if any improvement using a ata66 card ,you may want to get rid of it and move your pci cards around a bit and leave the one next to the agp port open.....

  10. #10
    Deanril Guest
    In addition some things DO NOT like to be bus mastered ,so if you have bus master drivers installed uninstall them and see how that works ,at anyrate leave the pci slot next to the agp blank ,that will cause you alot of headache.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA, USA
    Posts
    3,463
    Are you on broadband? if so, take out the modem, and try your TV card in the modem slot. With luck, that'll help
    Pentium IV 2.4C Northwood- M0 stepping @ 3.2GHz HT
    Air Cooled w/ SP-94 heatpipe & 92mm Vantex Tornado at 45C
    4x256=1gb dual-channel 2-3-3-6 OCZ PC800DRAM @ 890MHz 3-4-4-8
    MSI Neo2-PLS w/I865PE & SATA @ 4x267=1068MHz
    BFG GeForceFX 5900@485/967MHz = 6284 3DMark2003s; dual-head 21" CRT & 19" LCD

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    Make sure that PCI delay is enabled in the BIOS.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    laie, HI, USA
    Posts
    252
    thanks for all the replies.

    i will probably just switched the modem. i'll put it in my other machine and get on the internet with it.

    as for the ATA66 card,i need it.

    i have 2 hdd, 1 burner, 1 dvd & 1 internal zip drive.

    shoots, let's try that then

    ------------------
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SC11
    Athlon Classic 700@800 (stable@850))
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor
    Cooling fans
    Athlon C 950mhz
    M7MKE MB
    Viper Z200II
    256MB of ram
    30 gig Maxtor 7.2krpm HDD
    Moerani Putoa
    FIC SD11
    Athlon Classic 700@800
    1 WD 15.3gig
    1 Quantum 12.1gig
    256MB RAM (2 PC100)
    Voodoo 3000
    Matsu****a DVD SR-8584A
    Plextor 8x4x32
    HP71 17" Monitor

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Indy USA
    Posts
    66
    Try this:
    Put the TV Tuner in PCI slot-1, directly under the AGP slot. The AGP slot & PCI slot-1 share the same IRQ, & the TV Tuner has to talk to the video card in the AGP slot anyway. This usually works, & does not require a new IRQ for the TV Tuner as it shares with a device it talks to anyway.

    If you have a burner, IMHO ditch the Zip drive & save an IRQ.

    HTH

    ------------------
    The Sim Project - Your Ultimate Sim Racing resource
    www.simracing.com
    The Sim Project - Your Ultimate Sim Racing resource
    www.simracing.com

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •