Geforce- Hardware Accel stopped working all of a sudden! (help!)
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Geforce- Hardware Accel stopped working all of a sudden! (help!)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    141

    Geforce- Hardware Accel stopped working all of a sudden! (help!)

    today i booted up and for some reason, direct3d acceleration is NOT working anymore! why? i have no idea, i don't remember installing anything that would change anything. Thus, i reinstalled det 2.50, directx8a to no avail. I'm using an asus v6800 DDR in windows 2000, and it was working perfectly before. I haven't changed any hardware either, it just happened all of a sudden.

    Please let me know how to fix this, i'm not in the mood for a reformat!

    Thanks
    specs:
    Dual Celly 533
    Abit BP6
    512MB RAM
    Asus v6800 DDR Pure 64MB
    2 * 40gig maxtors in RAID
    2 * 15gig maxtors in RAID
    1 * 20gig maxtor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    12
    go to the start menu, type dxdiag in the run box and press enter. then click the display tab. enable directdraw acceleration, direct3d acceleration and AGP texture acceleration. then to the right about an inch, there are three test buttons, one for each. test those and after that it should work. unless for some reason you corrupted your bios. make sure your agp aperature setting in your bios is at least 16 megs, preferably 64. hope this helps

    ------------------
    Athlon 650@750 / Giga-Byte GA-71XE / 192 MB PC-115 2-2-2 / Elsa Erazor X2 32MB DDR @ 140/340 / SoundBlaster Live Value / IBM Deskstar 10 GB and Quantum Fireball CX13.0A 13 GB / Mitsumi FX4820T!B/ Microsoft USB Trackball Optical
    Athlon 650@750 / Giga-Byte GA-71XE / 192 MB PC-115 2-2-2 / Elsa Erazor X2 32MB DDR @ 140/340 / SoundBlaster Live Value / IBM Deskstar 10 GB and Quantum Fireball CX13.0A 13 GB / Mitsumi FX4820T!B/ Microsoft USB Trackball Optical

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    141
    yea, i tried using dxdiag, but for some reason the freaking 'directx features' buttons are greyed out.. here's a screenshot:



    in my bios, i think my aperture is at 64, the same as usual, and my card is actually 64 too so..
    specs:
    Dual Celly 533
    Abit BP6
    512MB RAM
    Asus v6800 DDR Pure 64MB
    2 * 40gig maxtors in RAID
    2 * 15gig maxtors in RAID
    1 * 20gig maxtor

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    111
    You expected something reliable? But GeForces are fast, lol. Sorry, couldn't resist, I hope it's something simple.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    12
    you know what, that happend to me once, i rebooted and it went away. sorry i cant help, go to control panel, add remove hardware and remove your geforce, reboot, and install the fresh detonator drivers. i seriously recommend the 6.31 drivers over the 6.50s, but thts just my opinion. i guess you could estore your bios defaults then apply changes that you know work. if all else fails, see if your card popped out of its slot. thermal expansion and all, especially if its been working hard. it has happened to me. but maybe that was because i kicked it i dont know what to tell you, does open gl work? if not, it sounds like somehow your agp got turned off. damn, now i'm not going to be able to sleep until i get this figured out.

    ------------------
    Athlon 650@750 / Giga-Byte GA-71XE / 192 MB PC-115 2-2-2 / Elsa Erazor X2 32MB DDR @ 140/340 / SoundBlaster Live Value / IBM Deskstar 10 GB and Quantum Fireball CX13.0A 13 GB / Mitsumi FX4820T!B/ Microsoft USB Trackball Optical
    Athlon 650@750 / Giga-Byte GA-71XE / 192 MB PC-115 2-2-2 / Elsa Erazor X2 32MB DDR @ 140/340 / SoundBlaster Live Value / IBM Deskstar 10 GB and Quantum Fireball CX13.0A 13 GB / Mitsumi FX4820T!B/ Microsoft USB Trackball Optical

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    12
    oh yea, did you get the large page minimum blah blah reg patch for win 2k?? you can get it off AMDs website. if so, do you have service pack 1 installed? those 2 fixes have made windows 2k rock solid stable for me.

    ------------------
    Athlon 650@750 / Giga-Byte GA-71XE / 192 MB PC-115 2-2-2 / Elsa Erazor X2 32MB DDR @ 140/340 / SoundBlaster Live Value / IBM Deskstar 10 GB and Quantum Fireball CX13.0A 13 GB / Mitsumi FX4820T!B/ Microsoft USB Trackball Optical
    Athlon 650@750 / Giga-Byte GA-71XE / 192 MB PC-115 2-2-2 / Elsa Erazor X2 32MB DDR @ 140/340 / SoundBlaster Live Value / IBM Deskstar 10 GB and Quantum Fireball CX13.0A 13 GB / Mitsumi FX4820T!B/ Microsoft USB Trackball Optical

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    141
    hm, what is that? i dunno why i'd need it all of a sudden cos my stupid card was working perfectly yesterday. i also don't have an amd cpu.. i suppose the good thing woudl be to post system stats, so here i go.

    Abit bp6 - solid vtt rev, 2xCeleron533, 327mb ram, asus v6800 ddr pure 64mb, sb live! value, fasttrak 66, avermedia tv98 card..

    has there ever been a documented burnout of a card that would still work but have no 3daccel?.... that would suck, but i honestly have no idea what has happened..
    specs:
    Dual Celly 533
    Abit BP6
    512MB RAM
    Asus v6800 DDR Pure 64MB
    2 * 40gig maxtors in RAID
    2 * 15gig maxtors in RAID
    1 * 20gig maxtor

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Cardiff
    Posts
    7
    This was a similar problem which we had running WIN2K and ATI Expert 2000 graphic cards.

    The problem was simply caused by Netmeeting running in the background. Simply exit it via the icon in the taskbar, and all Direct3D acceleration etc. in Dxdiag will be enabled again!!!!!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •