ATI Radeon 64MB DDR is it good??
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: ATI Radeon 64MB DDR is it good??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    242

    ATI Radeon 64MB DDR is it good??

    Hi,

    I would like to do some video editing. My only problem is that my Canopus Spectra 2500 does not have a composite in, it only has a composite out. I would like to find a go video card that has a composite in and composite out for around $150 bucks if possible. I would like it to at least be a 32mb card. I am thinking about getting the ATI Radeon 64MB DDR VIVO. Is it any good?? It is a liitle pricy at $250 but it does have a VIVO. This is the only card I can find that will suit my needs. Or does anyone know where I can find a Canopus VideoPort600??

    Thanks,

    Kevin

    ------------------
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    York, PA, USA
    Posts
    9,736
    If you're interested in gaming as well go with the Radion, but this might be more up your alley if you're looking towards video:

    http://www.matrox.com/mga/archive_st...0_webvideo.cfm

    ------------------
    Brendan Harnett,
    Member BFH Computers LLC
    We all Think Different too.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    344
    The Geforce2 GTS is more expensive than the Radeopn when both have 64MB memory.
    "No doubt the truth, as usual, would be somewhere between the extremes" -Arthur C Clarke

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Yokohama, Japan
    Posts
    928
    Hey Creator, Pay attention. The guy wants the card for video edition and need s a DIVO. Have you seen a GTS with one of those? If so then speak of that. Not the GTS being faster, which it isn't. The 64M Radeon will be faster than the GTS in High res.

    Canopus is out of the video card game, I think. Last year.

    The Radeon 64meg card is supposed to be very nice. I'd get it if you found it for 250.
    Beauty is in the eye of the beerholder.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    I believe there is an ASUS version of the GTS with VIVO. Since the quality of the ATI VIVO is better I would still consider it a better choice.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    The Radeon is definitely your best bet. Creator is only up for flame bait.

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 700@950, 1.85v on an Abit KA7-100
    Antec full tower case w/ 300W P/S
    ATi 64MB Radeon w/VIVO & an ATi All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedia 2.04 THX Speakers
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM & a Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133 RAM
    Lots of air cooling


    Hail Styrofoam!

    I fully support A Nudist's Dream
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    242
    Thanks for your replies. AlbinoPenguin have you use the VIVO on your Radeon 64MB?? I also have heard good things about the All In Wonder Radeon 32MB DDR, it seems to have more VIVO ports than the 64MB model. Should I go with the 64MB or the 32MB ALL in Wonder?? Does the VIVO on the 64MB DDR work well??

    Thanks,

    Kevin

    ------------------
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85210
    Posts
    1,268
    Kave Dog! My friend owns the DDR 64 VIVO and he lowes it it works right out of the box for him and me! I own the Regular DDR Radeon 32MB DDR clocked at 193/193! Which just whoops a Regular GTS 32MB DDR in high res!
    Alex D

    P.S The GTSs 64MB DDR is slower than RADEON 64MB DDR Also but 32MB DDR GTS is little faster than regular DDR 32MB DDR Radeon cause the Radeon is clocked slower then VIVO but that is why i clocked it at 193/193 (faster than the 64DDR also)
    RADEON is the way to go man

    ------------------
    WRMMMMM
    Excuse Me! What ya said? I can't HEAR YOU
    The Real Power IS UNDER THE TOWER OF POWER
    check it out! http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/save/23/index.htm

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    242
    Thanks Again. Does the ALL In Wonder Radeon 32MB DDR support 32bit color or only 16 bit?? ATi's website says the 64MB DDR VIVO supports 32bit color but does not say anything about the ALL In Wonder Radeon 32MB DDR.

    Thanks,

    Kevin

    ------------------
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    Retail Radeon 64mb cards w/VIVO are now available for under $240. That's actually $15 cheaper than the closest 64mb GTS!!!

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    242
    Hi Again. Is 16.7 million colors 32 bit or 16bit??

    Kevin

    ------------------
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    32 bit.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    242
    So,

    then the AIW Radeon 32MB DDR and the Radeon 64MB DDR VIVO are both 32 bit color compatible cards right?

    Thanks,

    Kevin

    ------------------
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac
    "Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Just! Bang! F***ing! Bang! Die! Bang!" - Jennifer Love Hewitt shooting here iMac

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    The only card I know of produced semi-recently that doesn't support 32 bit is the Voodoo3. Everything else does.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85210
    Posts
    1,268
    LOL!
    YEah RADEON are all 32BIT every ATI card is!
    Only the old ones are not! LOL
    Alex D

    ------------------
    WRMMMMM
    Excuse Me! What ya said? I can't HEAR YOU
    The Real Power IS UNDER THE TOWER OF POWER
    check it out! http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/save/23/index.htm

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •