Prophet II MX Problems- PLZ reply ASAP
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Prophet II MX Problems- PLZ reply ASAP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    University of Warwick, England
    Posts
    270

    Prophet II MX Problems- PLZ reply ASAP

    My new MX is unstable to ****.

    I can't even install a SOUNDCARD! It crashes with all sorts of problems and bollocks.

    PLEASE help! 3D Mark won't run, tried various drivers (6.27 were the WORST), running on default Hercy drivers, which work (just).

    Is this a power thing? Or is it cos i got an AGP 1.0 mobo, instead of the recommended (nay, "Minimum" AGP 2.0). Please help, any suggestions welcome!!!!!!!

    Cheers,
    Chris

    PS- this is the best tech support outfit on the web.

    ------------------
    MVP3 Mobo
    K6-2 500mhz (5.5 x 100)
    128MB RAM
    Hercules Prophet II MX
    6GB + 4GB UDMA33
    50x CDROM
    Soundblaster Live! 1024
    CSW FPS1500 4.1 Speakers
    Windows 98SE
    Athlon XP Barton 2500+ @ 2,075 GHz
    MSI K7N2-Delta ILSR
    2x SATA 80GB Maxtor Plus 9 in a RAID Mirror
    512 MB Crucial PC2700 DDR
    ATI Radeon 9000 Pro 64MB
    Logitech Z-560
    Relisys TL766B 17" TFT
    Windows 2000 Professional

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    The best drivers for SS7 users appear to be Detonator 5.33. Also, try raising IO voltage if you have that option.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tx
    Posts
    24
    yea, voltage

    ------------------
    Happy-G's ban list:
    Guns
    Narrow minded people
    Violent games

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    955
    See if your answer is at :-
    www.geforcefaq.com

    its very good
    Athlon XP 3200+, TT Silent Boost (its rubbish as well as loud) Gigabyte nForce2 mobo (stable but lacks tweaking options), GF4 Ti4200 128mb, Lian-Li V2000

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    955
    try disabling SB16 emulation using device manager - it can cause conflicts. You don't need SB16 emualtion unless you play DOS games (which no one does these days!)
    Athlon XP 3200+, TT Silent Boost (its rubbish as well as loud) Gigabyte nForce2 mobo (stable but lacks tweaking options), GF4 Ti4200 128mb, Lian-Li V2000

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    955
    Update your Geforce drivers.
    You need 6.31 these being the latest offical.
    Athlon XP 3200+, TT Silent Boost (its rubbish as well as loud) Gigabyte nForce2 mobo (stable but lacks tweaking options), GF4 Ti4200 128mb, Lian-Li V2000

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    Turn AGP data rate down to 1x if you can.

    USSVoyager



    ------------------
    Speed is everything - Warp factor 9, Mr. Sulu!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    I'm running a GeForceMX on a SS7 P5a.

    I don't know about your mobo, but I had to download the latest AGP chipset drivers from ALi, now everything is nice and rosy!!

    I used to get major instability problems.
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    P.S I am running the 6.27 drivers.

    ------------------
    Who is -=TylerDurden=- ?
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    P.P.S, no, I'm not, I'm running 6.17.

    I'm o/c'ing heavily, and stability is not a problem.

    ------------------
    Who is -=TylerDurden=- ?
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    195
    Have you installed the latest chipset drivers from VIA's website?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    University of Warwick, England
    Posts
    270
    Thanks for the replies- I haven't been able to use the PC, as I had to get my old **** 4mb S3 Trio 3D/2X back from Ultim8_Evil...

    Anyhoo...

    Right, I'm putting 30 on power supply.

    Tried all the lastest drivers, VIA 4in1 (whatever version).4, .5, and .6 (beta). Tried 5.33, 6.27, 6.31, 6.49. 7.?? (can't remember). IT should be working by now? Nope... Increased Core Voltage (same as IO?) to 2.3 (from 2.2), no slight increase, so stopped there.

    Right... power supply. It's an old one... been playing up for a while, makes noises, occasionally won't boot the PC. I unplugged second HDD, FDD, fans (except CPU) and all LEDs- even USB- no increase in stability at all.AND... when i come to install soundcard just- it's not there. It's an SBLive! 1024 Value, and it's brand new. It worked before MX, but now it doesn't. I reckon a better PSU might cure things.

    Secondly, could it also be the memory? I unplugged second HDD, FDD, fans (except CPU) and all LEDs- even USB- no increase in stability at all, and I get access errors with stack dumps. Any thoughts?

    Finally, could it be the mobo? It's a **** AGP v1.0 SS& (Digimate, http://www.digimate.net ) MVP3.

    So, in bullets to digest and diagnose, my diagnostics run to this:

    + Prophet II MX unstable.
    + SBLive! not detected.
    + PSU is dodgy.
    + BUT- Unplugged everything- no joy
    + **** motherboard.
    + Possibly dodgy memory.

    Cheers,
    Chris

    [[update: I have now got the SBLive working- it had jumped out of slot. The MX is in and working fine-- in 2d. I tried to run jedi knight with directx 6.1a and the main sreen came up completley garbled. add the possibility of a bad card to my list of reasons. i'm placing my money on psu still. can someone please reply and confirm my suspicions????- the message was edited for this paragraph in brackets]]
    ------------------
    MVP3 Mobo
    K6-2 500mhz (5.5 x 100)
    128MB RAM
    Hercules Prophet II MX
    6GB + 4GB UDMA33
    50x CDROM
    Soundblaster Live! 1024
    CSW FPS1500 4.1 Speakers
    Windows 98SE

    [This message has been edited by Hindey (edited 12-24-2000).]
    Athlon XP Barton 2500+ @ 2,075 GHz
    MSI K7N2-Delta ILSR
    2x SATA 80GB Maxtor Plus 9 in a RAID Mirror
    512 MB Crucial PC2700 DDR
    ATI Radeon 9000 Pro 64MB
    Logitech Z-560
    Relisys TL766B 17" TFT
    Windows 2000 Professional

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •