G400 problem
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: G400 problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Milton Keynes,England
    Posts
    92

    G400 problem

    Hi i have just bought a geforce2mx and decided to sell my G400 to a friend.
    He has a eliegroupe P6BAT -A+ mobo , when i installed the card and the latest driver 6.04.029 everything works great until i go to shutdown the comp then it will bring up a blue screen with a vmm error. I tried installing the 5.? driver that came with the card but still the same happens , i have also installed winme/win98se but it does it in both os's.
    Somone please help because he sold his old tnt2 pro to buy my card and at the moment he is using my new geforce card.

    His system specs are :
    Win ME
    Elitegroup P6BAT -A+ mobo
    celeron 400
    64 megs
    sb 128 pci
    6.4 seagate

    Help i want my geforce back.
    P5B Deluxe , E6300@2800 , 2GB OCZ Plat 6400 Rev 2 , 7300GT@500/666 128MB DDR1 , 320GB 7200.10 , AF7 Pro , Antec True Blue 480P 480W , Jeantech AQUA , Vista Ultimate 64

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,205
    Did you uninstall his previous driver and switch it to PCI display adapter PRIOR to installing your Matrox G400?
    A number of video cards makes changes in the registry and you must do the above or new video cards go bonkers.
    You could try to:
    Set the display adapter as PCI display adapter.
    Reinstall the Matrox G400 driver.
    Install the Matrox G400 video Bios.
    Hope this helps.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Milton Keynes,England
    Posts
    92
    Yes i uninstalled the previous driver , i also did 2 clean installations of win me and tried 2 different drivers with the same results on shutdown.

    I have just been looking at the motherboard web page and it mentions a via 4 in 1 driver which includes an agp driver , do you think this might help.
    P5B Deluxe , E6300@2800 , 2GB OCZ Plat 6400 Rev 2 , 7300GT@500/666 128MB DDR1 , 320GB 7200.10 , AF7 Pro , Antec True Blue 480P 480W , Jeantech AQUA , Vista Ultimate 64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,205
    I suspect that will help, since the earlier Via chipsets caused all sorts of annoyances before.
    Also, it would help if you installed the correct Matrox video card drivers for your Millenium G400.
    The current version for Windows Millenium is 6.10.013.
    The version you installed is for Window95!

    [This message has been edited by Shinma (edited 11-08-2000).]
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Milton Keynes,England
    Posts
    92
    Thanks Shinma i installed the via 4 in 1 driver and that sorted the problem out , i just had a look at the matrox site and the driver i have is microsoft certified for winme , so i suppose that means microsoft are happy that it only half works.Thanks again.
    P5B Deluxe , E6300@2800 , 2GB OCZ Plat 6400 Rev 2 , 7300GT@500/666 128MB DDR1 , 320GB 7200.10 , AF7 Pro , Antec True Blue 480P 480W , Jeantech AQUA , Vista Ultimate 64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,205
    You're welcome.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •