GF2 MX or Radeon?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: GF2 MX or Radeon?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    41

    GF2 MX or Radeon?

    Ok I am thinking of buying a new video card. My main criteria is the value/performance ratio. I narrowed my options down to the following:

    1. Some sort of a Geforce2 MX card with 183 MHZ SDR
    It's the cheapest solution allright... and I could get TV out with it... but I am not sure just how long I'll be happy with it's performance.

    2. Radeon with 32 MB of 166 MHZ DDR
    Quite a bit faster than the MX, but also more expencive. Is the performance difference worth it? And the version that I can afford has no TV output

    3. Wait a bit and get a DDR version MX.
    Now this would sound like a plan, except for I am not at all sure that DDR with 64 bit memory is going to be all that much faster than SDR with 128 bit.

    What do you guys think? Which one should I go for? Any other alternatives? (keep in mind i do not have much more that 200 bucks to spare )

    ------------------
    DevilBunnies, DevilBunnies, World's Greatest Lovers.
    DevilBunnies, DevilBunnies, World's Greatest Lovers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    You can get a Radeon 32MB DDR for $150 right now if you use the rebate. The performance of the Radeon DDR 32MB over the MX is very significant and ATi has the best DVD quality in the world.

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 700@950, 1.85v on an Abit KA7-100
    Antec full tower case w/ 300W P/S
    ATi 64MB Radeon w/VIVO & an ATi All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedia 2.04 THX Speakers
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM & a Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133 RAM
    Lots of air cooling


    Hail Styrofoam!

    I fully support A Nudist's Dream
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    I would get the GeForce2 MX™.

    I really like your callsign.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx. USA        
    Posts
    374
    Well.. I've had both a Radeon 32MB DDR and a 3D Prophet II MX (GeForce2 MX) and the Radeon literally kicks it's ***. Even though many people say that ATi's drivers aren't the best in the world, they work well enough for me to say that their card's better than the GeForce2 MX.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    500
    The ATI foobars 16bit badly. If you have any games that are 16bit only, steer clear for now. www.reactorcritical.com has a good article. I suggest you read it before buying any Radeon card. Yes, the Radeon 32mb DDR is quite a bit faster, but you'll have to determine if the problems are worth it, not just the price. If it were only the price I'd say definitely get the Radeon.

    The Creative Labs Geforce 2 MX DDR was reviewed at www.tbreak.com. It has 64bit 143mhz DDR RAM, which is actually a bit slower than 166 or 183mhz 128bit SDR. I say get a 183mhz SDR card, like the Hercules. It overclocks well and will still run most games at 1024x768x32 (Q3 at ~60fps).

    ------------------
    BP6, P3-700@770 (for now), 320mb, Creative TNT2U@175/220
    BP6, P3-700@770 (for now), 320mb, eVGA MX Plus (dual CRT), waiting for VIVO module

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    Originally posted by Freon:
    The ATI foobars 16bit badly
    Liar liar pants on fire The 16bit isn't the greatest but it's nothing to throw piles of dog crap at. I have a Radeon 64MB DDR and I chose to stick with it over my old GeForce2 GTS. The drivers are not bad, I have had no problems at all.

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 700@950, 1.85v on an Abit KA7-100
    Antec full tower case w/ 300W P/S
    ATi 64MB Radeon w/VIVO & an ATi All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedia 2.04 THX Speakers
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM & a Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133 RAM
    Lots of air cooling


    Hail Styrofoam!

    I fully support A Nudist's Dream
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    41
    Thanx for your oppinions guys.

    AlbinoPenguin: this rebate you mention... where can I get it? I found nothing about it on the ATI site...

    Toolbox: It's actually from a song by My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult

    So any oppinions on the upcomming GF2 MX DDR?

    ------------------
    DevilBunnies, DevilBunnies, World's Greatest Lovers.
    DevilBunnies, DevilBunnies, World's Greatest Lovers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85210
    Posts
    1,268
    Well first off It took me 4 Months to see what should i buy when its out Radeon or GTS! Anyways after long wait I got the Radeon 32MB DDR And All i can say it spanks my friends geforce 2 GTS in all games at high res in 32BIt color! Plus the Radeon dosent have 166MHZ DDR ram like GTS it has faster one 183MHZ DDR and oh god my DVD's play like they are runing of a 500 dollar DVD player!
    Alex D


    ------------------
    WTF?? I am just trying to help OK!
    The Real Power IS UNDER THE TOWER OF POWER
    check it out! http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/save/23/index.htm

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    Only the retail 64MB w/VIVO comes with 183DDR
    memory. All 32MB Radeons and the 64MB OEM come with 166DDR.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    Yes, with DDR Ram the Radeon beats the MX

    However, do check out the drivers before you get it, they should be ok by now, Plunx is ok, but there might still be some issues.

    ------------------
    Who is -=TylerDurden=- ?
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85210
    Posts
    1,268
    My bad I mixed up the two there anyways!! I dont need for o/c or anything cause the Hyper Z makes the Thing screams the 166MHZ radeon DDR is 20% faster than 166MHZ DDR geforce casuse the Hyper Z is not redering what canot be seen! or what ever they ment with that!
    Oh yeah the drivers are all good now!
    Alex D

    ------------------
    WTF?? I am just trying to help OK!
    The Real Power IS UNDER THE TOWER OF POWER
    check it out! http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/save/23/index.htm

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    500
    "The 16bit isn't the greatest but it's nothing to throw piles of dog crap at. "

    Except for those little vertical lines that randomly appear all over the screen and horrible dithering, especially in FSAA?

    You have a Radeon, you know better! Go try playing Midtown Madness or SWAT 3 (both are 16bit only) and tell me it's nothing to throw piles of dog crap at. The quality is beyond horrible. It is glitched out.

    If you have no 3D applications that run 16bit only this is a moot point, true. It is less and less likely that 16bit only applications will be released as time goes on. But the Radeon's 16bit truely DOES suck in more ways than one.

    ------------------
    BP6, P3-700@770 (for now), 320mb, Creative TNT2U@175/220
    BP6, P3-700@770 (for now), 320mb, eVGA MX Plus (dual CRT), waiting for VIVO module

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    Originally posted by Freon:
    Except for those little vertical lines that randomly appear all over the screen and horrible dithering, especially in FSAA?
    What the f are you talking about? I play SWAT 3 and I've never noticed any "vertical lines" or any other problems...

    Maybe you need to download the latest drivers...unless you're one of those people that doesn't actually own one and just make up their opinions

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 700@950, 1.85v on an Abit KA7-100
    Antec full tower case w/ 300W P/S
    ATi 64MB Radeon w/VIVO & an ATi All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedia 2.04 THX Speakers
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM & a Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133 RAM
    Lots of air cooling


    Hail Styrofoam!

    I fully support A Nudist's Dream
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    Originally posted by DevilBunny:
    AlbinoPenguin: this rebate you mention... where can I get it? I found nothing about it on the ATI site...

    I can't find it at the moment, but I know you can get it for $167 at http://www.nutrend.com/orders/buyparts.html

    Gimme a few and I'll find the rebate offer.

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 700@950, 1.85v on an Abit KA7-100
    Antec full tower case w/ 300W P/S
    ATi 64MB Radeon w/VIVO & an ATi All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedia 2.04 THX Speakers
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM & a Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133 RAM
    Lots of air cooling


    Hail Styrofoam!

    I fully support A Nudist's Dream
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    I found it but the rebate just expired...sorry...looks like you'll have to pay around $165 for it...

    Keep an eye on it at www.pricewatch.com

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 700@950, 1.85v on an Abit KA7-100
    Antec full tower case w/ 300W P/S
    ATi 64MB Radeon w/VIVO & an ATi All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedia 2.04 THX Speakers
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM & a Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133 RAM
    Lots of air cooling


    Hail Styrofoam!

    I fully support A Nudist's Dream
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •