Can a Voodoo 3 2k be linked to my old SiS6215c 2MB card?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Can a Voodoo 3 2k be linked to my old SiS6215c 2MB card?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Does it matter
    Posts
    153

    Can a Voodoo 3 2k be linked to my old SiS6215c 2MB card?

    I have an old SiS6215c 2MB VGA Card that does nothing except Windows. I am planning to buy a Voodoo 3 2k and want to know if I can link both of them to get more out of them. I have heard that Voodoo has some feature like this. I don't have nay idea so please help.

    ------------------
    Celeron 300a
    Mercury Intel 440EX
    SiS6326 8MB AGP
    128 MB PC100
    Intel Celeron 600@600
    XO i810 Motherboard
    On Board VGA and Audio
    196 MB PC100 RAM
    Motorola 56 Kbps PCI Modem
    Samsung 40GB ATA66 IDE
    IO/Magic 24x CDROM
    Samsung SyncMaster 17" Flat Monitor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,778
    Nope. Only Voodoo 2 was a 3D only card that plugs in your actual card. The Voodoo 3 is a 2D/3D card, so you won't need your SiS card anymore, except if you want to work with two monitors.



    ------------------
    GAMING RULES!
    GAMBLING SUCKS!!!

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Does it matter
    Posts
    153
    Originally posted by equinoxe3d:
    Nope. Only Voodoo 2 was a 3D only card that plugs in your actual card. The Voodoo 3 is a 2D/3D card, so you won't need your SiS card anymore, except if you want to work with two monitors.
    So can a Voodoo 2 be linked to my card? How is the performance of a voodoo 2? Is it comparable to voodoo3 2k?

    ------------------
    Intel Celeron 300A
    Mercury Intel 440EX
    SiS6215c 2MB PCI Video Card
    128 MB PC100 RAM
    AZTECH PCI 128 Sound Card
    ActionTec 33.6 ISA Modem
    Seagate Medalist 4.3 IOMagic 24x CDROM
    Intel Celeron 600@600
    XO i810 Motherboard
    On Board VGA and Audio
    196 MB PC100 RAM
    Motorola 56 Kbps PCI Modem
    Samsung 40GB ATA66 IDE
    IO/Magic 24x CDROM
    Samsung SyncMaster 17" Flat Monitor

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Right Behind You
    Posts
    329
    sunny Me again!

    A voodoo 2 could be linked to your card. Problem is - V2's aren't made anymore. You'd have to get one second hand.

    Performance wise, a V3 is basically two V2's slapped together - but on one chip / card. It's not quite that simple, but it's close enough.

    It's also worth noting that you can install two Voodoo2's at once. That means twice as many slots taken up on your motherboard. Twice as much hunting around for second hand cards. etc. etc.

    Also: Voodoo2's will still rely on the SiS card to some extent. That's not exactly ideal.

    In short: The V3 is considerably more powerful, has that twin texturing thing - all sorts. It's the way to go.

    Anyway, why do you want to keep the SiS card? The Voodoo 3 will replace it outright. That is; remove SiS card. Install Voodoo3. Done!

    ------------------
    P3 750 @ 750!?, 128MB of PC-150 SDRAM, Aopen AX63 Pro, V3 2000 @ 175, 13.6GB - 7200rpm WD Expert, SB Live Value, LG 40x CDROM, Jazz 300W Front Speakers + Sony SRS PC300D Rear Speakers / Sub Woofer, Sony CPDE200 17" Monitor, Full Tower Case, Win98 Original Edition.
    P3 750 @ 750!?, 128MB of PC-150 SDRAM, Aopen AX63 Pro, V3 2000 @ 175, 13.6GB - 7200rpm WD Expert, SB Live Value, LG 40x CDROM, Jazz 300W Front Speakers + Sony SRS PC300D Rear Speakers / Sub Woofer, Sony CPDE200 17" Monitor, Full Tower Case, Win98 Original Edition.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Does it matter
    Posts
    153
    Hello Beef,
    I just wanted to know wether there will be any use for my SiS or not. I guess Voodoo3 would be the one I should go for. The old SiS is just useless for anything except windows.
    Thanks
    Saurabh

    ------------------
    Intel Celeron 300A
    Mercury Intel 440EX
    SiS6215c 2MB PCI Video Card
    128 MB PC100 RAM
    AZTECH PCI 128 Sound Card
    ActionTec 33.6 ISA Modem
    Seagate Medalist 4.3 IOMagic 24x CDROM
    Intel Celeron 600@600
    XO i810 Motherboard
    On Board VGA and Audio
    196 MB PC100 RAM
    Motorola 56 Kbps PCI Modem
    Samsung 40GB ATA66 IDE
    IO/Magic 24x CDROM
    Samsung SyncMaster 17" Flat Monitor

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Right Behind You
    Posts
    329
    sunny There is absolutely no point in keeping the old SiS card. The V3 will perform all the duties of the SiS - but to a higher standard.

    The best use for the SiS (to be brutally honest) is to see if it can fetch some money to put towards the V3.

    ------------------
    P3 750 @ 750!?, 128MB of PC-150 SDRAM, Aopen AX63 Pro, V3 2000 @ 175, 13.6GB - 7200rpm WD Expert, SB Live Value, LG 40x CDROM, Jazz 300W Front Speakers + Sony SRS PC300D Rear Speakers / Sub Woofer, Sony CPDE200 17" Monitor, Full Tower Case, Win98 Original Edition.
    P3 750 @ 750!?, 128MB of PC-150 SDRAM, Aopen AX63 Pro, V3 2000 @ 175, 13.6GB - 7200rpm WD Expert, SB Live Value, LG 40x CDROM, Jazz 300W Front Speakers + Sony SRS PC300D Rear Speakers / Sub Woofer, Sony CPDE200 17" Monitor, Full Tower Case, Win98 Original Edition.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Does it matter
    Posts
    153
    Hello Beef,
    Thanks for the help. I guess that is the way to go. It won't fetch any money. I guess I'll keep it in case I need it later if anything goes wrong with the new one. It will server as a backup card. You seem to be a regaular at HWC. It's good that you are here to help others. Will look forward to more help from you when I get my Voodoo. Till then, Have a nice time.
    Bye
    Sunny
    Intel Celeron 600@600
    XO i810 Motherboard
    On Board VGA and Audio
    196 MB PC100 RAM
    Motorola 56 Kbps PCI Modem
    Samsung 40GB ATA66 IDE
    IO/Magic 24x CDROM
    Samsung SyncMaster 17" Flat Monitor

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,778
    Hi sunnybhai!

    If you buy the Voodoo3 2000, can you post your resolution and detail levels when you play NFS 3/4? I want to buy this card to play mostly these games and you seem to be the one that have a setup similar to mine
    (I have a PII 350 but with only 64 Mb RAM)

    Thanks!

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 1998
    Location
    SanJose, CA, USA
    Posts
    946
    Gee, reminds me of how many old video cards I still have but are useless now. At least 4 3Dlabs 4M cards (good at opengl though, not gaming.) A Dimond monster 3d. Several old tridents. Two S3 (one virge? the other one savage 3d), an ATI pc2tv.

    They all are useless unless I run linux.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Does it matter
    Posts
    153
    equinoxe3d,
    I'll surely put up 3dmark 2000 and Quake III results as soon as I have the card with me. That'll be just two or thrree days more. I hope it helps you.
    Sunny

    ------------------
    Intel Celeron 300A
    Mercury Intel 440EX
    SiS6215c 2MB PCI Video Card
    128 MB PC100 RAM
    AZTECH PCI 128 Sound Card
    ActionTec 33.6 ISA Modem
    Seagate Medalist 4.3 IOMagic 24x CDROM
    Intel Celeron 600@600
    XO i810 Motherboard
    On Board VGA and Audio
    196 MB PC100 RAM
    Motorola 56 Kbps PCI Modem
    Samsung 40GB ATA66 IDE
    IO/Magic 24x CDROM
    Samsung SyncMaster 17" Flat Monitor

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Right Behind You
    Posts
    329
    sunny, Hopefully everything will go so well - you won't need my help!

    Good luck with the V3,

    Beef.

    ------------------
    P3 750 @ 750!?, 128MB of PC-150 SDRAM, Aopen AX63 Pro, V3 2000 @ 175, 13.6GB - 7200rpm WD Expert, SB Live Value, LG 40x CDROM, Jazz 300W Front Speakers + Sony SRS PC300D Rear Speakers / Sub Woofer, Sony CPDE200 17" Monitor, Full Tower Case, Win98 Original Edition.
    P3 750 @ 750!?, 128MB of PC-150 SDRAM, Aopen AX63 Pro, V3 2000 @ 175, 13.6GB - 7200rpm WD Expert, SB Live Value, LG 40x CDROM, Jazz 300W Front Speakers + Sony SRS PC300D Rear Speakers / Sub Woofer, Sony CPDE200 17" Monitor, Full Tower Case, Win98 Original Edition.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    363
    For a budget
    Voodoo 3 2000 really rock!
    Given me a good FPS


    ------------------
    cyanosis
    cyanosis

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Does it matter
    Posts
    153
    Beef, I hope the same. I actually meant help regarding overclocking and stuff. I know you'll be around to help me.
    Intel Celeron 600@600
    XO i810 Motherboard
    On Board VGA and Audio
    196 MB PC100 RAM
    Motorola 56 Kbps PCI Modem
    Samsung 40GB ATA66 IDE
    IO/Magic 24x CDROM
    Samsung SyncMaster 17" Flat Monitor

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,778
    Originally posted by sunnybhai:
    equinoxe3d,
    I'll surely put up 3dmark 2000 and Quake III results as soon as I have the card with me. That'll be just two or thrree days more. I hope it helps you.
    Sunny


    Obviously, we won't be able to compare results, since my comp has only 32MB RAM for now (not enough to run Quake III and 3DMark 2000), I plan to add 32MB more and the V3 2000 for around christmas, so I will just be able to compare my results in this time.

    I'll have Quake III at christmas also but I will play mostly NFS 3/4 until I get my RAM upgrade, surely after the videocard upgrade.
    So I just want to know what's your average framerate in these games to give me an idea.

    To see your framerate while playing, just download FRAPS at www.fraps.com. It is a cool little program that supports Direct3D and 3dfx Glide...

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Does it matter
    Posts
    153
    Originally posted by equinoxe3d:

    To see your framerate while playing, just download FRAPS at www.fraps.com. It is a cool little program that supports Direct3D and 3dfx Glide...
    Thanks for this info. I'll check out the tool. I hope it works fine and gives reliable results...

    ------------------
    Intel Celeron 300A
    Mercury Intel 440EX
    SiS6215c 2MB PCI Video Card
    128 MB PC100 RAM
    AZTECH PCI 128 Sound Card
    ActionTec 33.6 ISA Modem
    Seagate Medalist 4.3 IOMagic 24x CDROM
    Intel Celeron 600@600
    XO i810 Motherboard
    On Board VGA and Audio
    196 MB PC100 RAM
    Motorola 56 Kbps PCI Modem
    Samsung 40GB ATA66 IDE
    IO/Magic 24x CDROM
    Samsung SyncMaster 17" Flat Monitor

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •