FSB too high??
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: FSB too high??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    VANCOUVER, WA USA
    Posts
    1,564

    FSB too high??

    I know this is the Vid Card forum, but this pertains to my supreme GeForce GTS 32 MB 3D Profit (try saying that fast, 5 times).

    My KA7 is clocked at 113 FSB, to take advantage of the outrageous PC150 Kingmax Ram I got yesterday..it is schweet!!

    Anyway, I get these lines on dark pages - they don't appear anywhere else & I don't find stability issues.

    My GeForce is not overclocked...

    It's the same whether I o/c the PCI or just bus (sounds confusing, I know - but Abit offers PCI bus overclocking in combo with straight bus o/c'ing).

    Any ideas, 'cept to clock it back down...that's just not an alternative.

    ------------------
    Scott
    dfilANPARTY ut 250gb a64 3200 @ 2.52 (280 ht x 9) 2 X 512 g.sKILL PC4000 gIGABYTE 6800 gt
    Antec 430 truepower 2 Maxtor ATA133 8 MB cache Acer 52X Lite-On 1633s DVD-RW TB Santa Cruz - FPS surround LS120 O/B NIC Antec 1080 case

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,365
    as far as i know a gf will take into the 90s AGP speed... maybe more.

    ------------------
    Impossible? Watch me.
    Impossible? Watch me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,176
    Yeh it would be quite rare for a geforce2 GTS NOT to handle a fsb of 113.


    ------------------
    P3600e@800 with Alpha PEP66
    BF6 Mobo
    CreativeGTS
    Vortex2 sound
    Iiyama VisionMaster Pro450
    Xp1800
    Soltek DRV5
    Corsair PC2700 cas2
    GF4 Ti4400
    Santa Cruz
    Barracuda IV
    Hollywood+
    Iiyama Pro450

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,365
    I wish I could get my comp. to reach 133FSB!

    AMD Athlon Thunderbird Slot 700
    Asus K7V
    Asus v7700 32 meg pure
    128 Meg generic PC100 CAS-2 RAM @ 133(2,2,3)
    Quantum Fireball 30 gig drive
    ASOUND EXPRESS sound card
    48X generic CD
    floppy
    a microsoft mouse with a wheel

    ------------------
    Impossible? Watch me.
    Impossible? Watch me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,495
    I'm running my p3 700/100mhz fsb@ 933/133 on a BX board which puts my GeForce2 GTS AGP @ 87.78mhz(89mhz actual). I ran it for awhile @ 980/140fsb AGP 94mhz and it eventually crashed. I think I need to up the voltage abit more on the CPU. I don't think it's the card.

    After I get my new PC150 RAM this week i'm hoping to get higher.
    KilrB's PC
    Abit NF7-S Rev2
    XP2100+ @ 200x11.5 2300Mhz
    512MB Corsair XMS Platnium PC3200 Ultra Low Latency CAS222
    Tyan Tachyon G9700 Pro w/Zalman ZM80a-HP Heatpipe
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz

    "Fat, Drunk and Stupied is now way to go threw life Son!" Quote: Dean Wormer.... Animal House

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Camp Lejeune NC
    Posts
    127
    I ran into this in the archives a few days ago and found it a little interesting. It addresses the idea of making some cards work at up to two-thirds of a 133 Meg FSB speed by disabling SBA. Apparently some of the GTS cards don't disable by default.

    ------------------
    On November 10 I will begin posting under the username kualabatu.
    On November 10 I will begin posting under the username kualabatu.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,495
    Thanks smith462, that was a good article.

    Lucky for me SBA was ditched on my Creative GeForce2. One less thing to hold me back.
    KilrB's PC
    Abit NF7-S Rev2
    XP2100+ @ 200x11.5 2300Mhz
    512MB Corsair XMS Platnium PC3200 Ultra Low Latency CAS222
    Tyan Tachyon G9700 Pro w/Zalman ZM80a-HP Heatpipe
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz

    "Fat, Drunk and Stupied is now way to go threw life Son!" Quote: Dean Wormer.... Animal House

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •