That makes no sense!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: That makes no sense!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    77

    That makes no sense!

    why is it that i was playing a game (final fantasy seven) and it was running slow on my computer. (a amd 300) when the minimum requirments were a 100 with 3d card or 133 without. it my card really that bad? then i was at my uncles he has a 233 but with a nicer video card (but not great) and the game was running faster but the graphics werent as good? shouldnt that be the other way around?
    AMD-K6 300, 64 meg ram, phoenix bios 4.0 release 6,ATI pro graphics card (atim64-VT)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    267
    Never trust the mininum requirement on any game. Go get yourself a voodoo3 and you'll be fine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,684
    Think about what you said: the game was running faster but the graphics werent as good. He has selected video options (resolution, color depth, etc.) that are simpler in order to get a higher frame rate. You should try to do the same. The minimum requirements listed on the box are just that minimum.

    ------------------
    Free advice, and worth every penny.
    Free advice, and worth every penny.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    461
    Exactly...Cranking up the graphics will definately slow your game down, big time. But, through the purchase of a beter video card, you can achieve high quality graphics and a fast frame rate.
    AMD 1.4GHz (266 FSB)
    512 MB PC2100 DDR
    ABIT KG7
    45GB ATA100 Maxtor
    3D Prophet GTS 64
    Creative Labs 128
    Dell 20" Trinitron

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,365
    right. flight simulator 98 runs on my pentium 200, but not at highest resolutions. when I put in the voodoo2 and go to full screen, it runs FAST. on my athlon 700 it flies at any settings .
    Impossible? Watch me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,461
    I have FF7 and had speed trouble with it. I used to run an el-cheapo sound card. I upgraded my sound card and it made a hell of a difference in the game. Now this doesn't seem like it makes any sense but it worked just fine for me. I have much better sound quality as well.
    CPU: Athlon X2 7850 Blackbox edition o/c'd to 3400mhz
    Motherboard: Asus M2N68-AM SE2
    Memory: 4gb Kingston KVR RAM
    Video: BFG Geforce gtx 260 oc v2
    Hard Drives: 1TB Barracuda 7200.12, 500GB WD, 320GB WD, 320GB WD 250GB WD, 250GB Seagate
    Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel case
    Power Supply: OCZ 700W StealthXStream Power Supply
    Optical: 22x LG DVD R/W

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •