how fast phophet2MX go?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: how fast phophet2MX go?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK/HK
    Posts
    524

    how fast phophet2MX go?

    there is a o/c thing in properties for my video card
    the default speed is core=175,mem166.
    how much more will it go?
    and this card runs quite hot, is it normal?

    Antec TruePower 330W
    Asus A8N-E Bios 1008
    AMD 64 3000+ E3 Venice 1.8GHz @ 2.7GHz/auto vcore(1.55v~)
    (9x300/HTT 3x/RAM 266)
    Arctic Freezer 64 HSF
    Kingston 2x512MB CL2.5 DDR400
    ATI X800XT 256MB PCI-E, CAT 6.13 500/500 @ 520/510
    21" Eizo CRT 1280x1024@85Hz
    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 250GB 16MB cache
    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB 8MB cache
    Samsung 16x DVDRW
    Logitech X-620 6.1 Speakers
    Canon Pixma IP3000 Printer

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    186
    I got a Leadtek MX and i haven't actually touched it but i believe that all mx run relatively cool....200/200 is sumthing you should be able to reach mines around that....you have the phophet one...i know they only have a heatsink with no fan...could be why yours is running bit hotter...could always replace with nice fan and heatsink

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK/HK
    Posts
    524
    oops i accidently put it on 220/210 and guess what................................................................................................................................................................................ ...............................................it ran!!! and kind of quite fast
    whats the default speed for GTS?

    Antec TruePower 330W
    Asus A8N-E Bios 1008
    AMD 64 3000+ E3 Venice 1.8GHz @ 2.7GHz/auto vcore(1.55v~)
    (9x300/HTT 3x/RAM 266)
    Arctic Freezer 64 HSF
    Kingston 2x512MB CL2.5 DDR400
    ATI X800XT 256MB PCI-E, CAT 6.13 500/500 @ 520/510
    21" Eizo CRT 1280x1024@85Hz
    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 250GB 16MB cache
    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB 8MB cache
    Samsung 16x DVDRW
    Logitech X-620 6.1 Speakers
    Canon Pixma IP3000 Printer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    The GTS runs a little bit faster than that.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    593
    I had an MX that had the same default core/memory speeds as yours. It was the OEM version of the Hercules card. I tried it at 200/200 and got nothing but lockups! I sold that one and got the retail version which has higher speed memory (183Mhz). The card is giving such excellent frame rates I'm not even going to try to o'c it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Yokohama, Japan
    Posts
    928
    I clocked mine up to 220/215 a few weeks ago and have had no problems at all with it. It looks just as good as it did at factory 175/183 but is a little faster now.

    I have read others getting 220/218 but zI haven't even tried to go higher. I am using reference driver ver 6.27 and they seem quite a bit faster than the 6.18s. I haven't tried the 6.31s yet but I heard that they might be better.
    Beauty is in the eye of the beerholder.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Yokohama, Japan
    Posts
    928
    My card isn't hot though.

    If you compare the temperature to a tnt2 or something then it shouldnt feel hot to you.

    If you just think that its hot it probably isn't too hot. If you can touch it and not have to take your finger off of it then its not too hot.
    Beauty is in the eye of the beerholder.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,898
    I have mine set to 200/200 with no trouble as well, but I have 2 fans blowing cool air on it as well.
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Yokohama, Japan
    Posts
    928
    I think that you can do better than that.

    I had a heat sink on my cpu that touched the Mx right where the RAM is and I was having video glitches but after switching the hs out with a smaller one the card works perfectly.
    Beauty is in the eye of the beerholder.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    444
    Are the memory chips on the oem version different or are they just clocked lower?
    TBird 800 @ 1008
    Abit KT7-Raid
    256mb Crucial @ 149 cas2
    Prophet II MX(230/210)
    IBM 75GXP 30Gb
    Asus 50x
    Mitsumi 24x4x4
    Belinea 17"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    43
    Yeah, you've got the OEM version which doesn't overlock as well. The retail version has a default clockspeed of 183Mhz. The main reason that the OEM version doesn't overclock well is the memory which is rated at 7 or 8 nanoseconds. The retail version comes with 5.5ns memory which means......

    I've overlocked mine to 215 / 220 !! Whoohoooo! No lock ups either! That card runs hot though at that speed, but you do get another 15-20% speed increase. I might try and fit a Thermaltake BlueOrb to it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK/HK
    Posts
    524
    how little bit faster then toolbox?
    also i only have 1 fan in my whole system, and thats the globalwin FOP32-1 on the CPU and thats it.
    if i add more case fans, improving the air flows....possibly a fan on the vid card...u think i'll get higher than 220/220?

    Antec TruePower 330W
    Asus A8N-E Bios 1008
    AMD 64 3000+ E3 Venice 1.8GHz @ 2.7GHz/auto vcore(1.55v~)
    (9x300/HTT 3x/RAM 266)
    Arctic Freezer 64 HSF
    Kingston 2x512MB CL2.5 DDR400
    ATI X800XT 256MB PCI-E, CAT 6.13 500/500 @ 520/510
    21" Eizo CRT 1280x1024@85Hz
    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 250GB 16MB cache
    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB 8MB cache
    Samsung 16x DVDRW
    Logitech X-620 6.1 Speakers
    Canon Pixma IP3000 Printer

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •