TV Output
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: TV Output

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Crosby
    Posts
    74

    TV Output

    I want to use my tv as a monitor since it such a bigger screen. Mostly surfing the net and playing a few games. What video card has good text display on a tv? I've only actually seen a few in action and they look ok for games but reading would give me a headache. Right now I got my eye on the AIW Radeon. I would like to have TV input as well but output is more important.

    Thanks,

    Nathan

    ------------------
    K6-3/400
    Epox MVP3-G2
    Viper V330
    Intel Pro 10/100 Nic
    SBlive!
    HP 8100i Cd-RW
    WD 20GB 7200rpm ATA/66
    PIII 933/133
    CUSL2-C
    256 MB PC133
    Vodoo3 3500TV AGP
    3Com 3509 Nic
    SBlive!
    HP 8100i Cd-RW
    50X Acer CD-ROM
    RAID 0
    2 X WD 20GB 7200rpm ATA/66
    Sony Trinitron 17"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,978
    The T.V. out on my Asus V6800 GeForce DDR is great, i have no problem reading text. I also have a Sony 32 inch Trinitron that i'm using for it which is a great T.V. with a very clear picture. It depends alot on your T.V. picture as well, personally the setup i have here works great for me. Al

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Crosby
    Posts
    74
    Do you think all the newer ones will have similar luck? Or you think you still have to be careful about what you buy?

    Thanks for the tip, I didn't know tv had a big deal to do with it.

    Thanks!
    PIII 933/133
    CUSL2-C
    256 MB PC133
    Vodoo3 3500TV AGP
    3Com 3509 Nic
    SBlive!
    HP 8100i Cd-RW
    50X Acer CD-ROM
    RAID 0
    2 X WD 20GB 7200rpm ATA/66
    Sony Trinitron 17"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    2,331
    netdude, I have the same vid card and I tried the composite out and it was horrible... S-video would be much better but i don't have s-video inputs on my TV - which did you use?

    hnate, monitors are better than TVs with regards to dot pitch, resolution and refresh rates.... just imagine surfing the net with blurred images @ a whopping <640x480
    not so kewl

    Basically monitors are better and you can't really use a VGA-TV solution otherwise everybody would be using 21" TV screens (which are dead cheap) and nobody would buy
    expensive 20" monitors would they!?

    I had that inspiration... it was short lived
    AMD Mobile 2500+
    A7N8X Deluxe rev2.0
    1GB Corsair XMS PC2700
    GeCube Radeon 9800 Pro
    Seagate SATA 80GB
    2xSegate 160GB in RAID0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Crosby
    Posts
    74
    Yeah, I know monitors are alot better. Thats why I'm being picky and asking people who have experience with it. But since Netdude has abviously had great results with it sounds like something worth looking into. He did say the tv had alot to do with it. I know I would definetly need a new one.
    So how are your results just on the gameing side?

    Thanks,

    Nathan
    PIII 933/133
    CUSL2-C
    256 MB PC133
    Vodoo3 3500TV AGP
    3Com 3509 Nic
    SBlive!
    HP 8100i Cd-RW
    50X Acer CD-ROM
    RAID 0
    2 X WD 20GB 7200rpm ATA/66
    Sony Trinitron 17"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,978
    sexyMF, i use the RCA out(composite). What i did was i added a grounding coupler/filter(around $5-$10 at Radio Shack) to my cable line that goes into my VCR. Before i added that i was getting lines and and all sorts of crap on the picture when i used the T.V. out of my V6800. If it's along run to your T.V. the S-video will degrade alot by the time it get's to your T.V., they're not really that good over twenty feet or so. I have about a thirty five foot run to my T.V., plus i'm not sure if my S-video on my T.V. is a four pin(i think it's a four pin, it's a older Trinitron) or seven pin, a seven will not fit into a four pin. Add the grounding coupler if you have cable also going into your set or VCR and use the composite out and a nice fat RCA cable, i use a Monster cable,it will look alot better. Al

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mt. View CA
    Posts
    669
    I am also interested in hooking a PC to my TV. I have a 46 inch HD ready TV. My friend told me to use the video card monitor out to the tv instead of an output made for a tv on a video card. Has anyone used Powerdesk software for adjusting the display on a tv? I am also interested in a new video card that can produce a clean image on a large tv screen. Any suggestions?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    2,331
    As for playing games on the TV

    My opinion...

    PC becomes Nintendo!
    Games look cheesy

    But I will definitly try a fat monster cable RCA as suggested by netdude

    I'm also going to try the S-Video from a DVD player into my machine and see how that fairs.... (and if this hardware MPEG decoding really works!)

    AMD Mobile 2500+
    A7N8X Deluxe rev2.0
    1GB Corsair XMS PC2700
    GeCube Radeon 9800 Pro
    Seagate SATA 80GB
    2xSegate 160GB in RAID0

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Crosby
    Posts
    74
    How do you use the monitor out to TV? You just buy an adapter and this powerdesk software you mentioned?
    PIII 933/133
    CUSL2-C
    256 MB PC133
    Vodoo3 3500TV AGP
    3Com 3509 Nic
    SBlive!
    HP 8100i Cd-RW
    50X Acer CD-ROM
    RAID 0
    2 X WD 20GB 7200rpm ATA/66
    Sony Trinitron 17"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mt. View CA
    Posts
    669
    To hook a monitor out to a tv you will need a vga to whatever you are connrcting it to. For example I have 5 rca HD input on teh back of my TV and I using an HD cable vga to 5 rca's. Load the software and then config. it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,978
    I don't use the T.V. out to play games on my T.V., i haven't even used the T.V. out that much to be honest, i use the video in on the card alot more due to some ideas i have for adding some streaming video to my sites. Al

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    807
    IMO a larger tv-screen can be used when you are going to show many people a project or something.
    Otherwise, if you've got a 17" monitor with good dot pitch there's no reason to use the tv-output to play games.
    However you can record the games to video by your tv-screen, but thats just your decision..

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    2,331
    Damn kevin2000 has a super TV!
    AMD Mobile 2500+
    A7N8X Deluxe rev2.0
    1GB Corsair XMS PC2700
    GeCube Radeon 9800 Pro
    Seagate SATA 80GB
    2xSegate 160GB in RAID0

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Crosby
    Posts
    74
    Any of you ever seen call for help on ZDTV? The TV out they get from their computer is amazing. Thats what sparked this whole thing. I've written to them and asked what they used but never get reply.
    PIII 933/133
    CUSL2-C
    256 MB PC133
    Vodoo3 3500TV AGP
    3Com 3509 Nic
    SBlive!
    HP 8100i Cd-RW
    50X Acer CD-ROM
    RAID 0
    2 X WD 20GB 7200rpm ATA/66
    Sony Trinitron 17"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •