Rage Fury MAXX 64meg
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rage Fury MAXX 64meg

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Nottingham Uni, England
    Posts
    1,945

    Rage Fury MAXX 64meg

    How good is the Rage Fury MAXX 64meg card compared to the GeForce? Obviously the GeForce is faster (?) but is it faster enough to justify the extra 60 for the GFDDR?

    I ask because I'm fed up with my Voodoo3 1000 8meg which is reasonably fast but the RAM is too damn small. Particularly Spirit of Speed 1937 doesn't like it. It requires 8megs minimum and after about 15mins or so slows right down (like about 5 fps, unplayable) I assume this is because it's swapping stuff to main memory.

    ------------------
    Look out!!
    My train of thought is a runaway!!
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows XP

    Chimaera: Twin Athlon MP 1900+ @ 1824Mhz, GeForce 3 TI500, 512Megs Crucial RegECC, 100GB Total HDD, SuSE Linux 7.3 + Windoze XP Pro

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Nottingham Uni, England
    Posts
    1,945
    also I'm considering getting a DVD drive, does the ATi have hardware DVD thingys onboard? I can't remember but ATi are rather good at that sort of thing (extra card features I mean)

    ------------------
    Look out!!
    My train of thought is a runaway!!
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows XP

    Chimaera: Twin Athlon MP 1900+ @ 1824Mhz, GeForce 3 TI500, 512Megs Crucial RegECC, 100GB Total HDD, SuSE Linux 7.3 + Windoze XP Pro

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    atis do have some of the best dvd decoding around. As for 3d performace what kinda cpu do u got, the maxx can actually be faster than a geforce sdr on faster cpus. I still think that the maxx is a much better buy too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    mclean, va, USA
    Posts
    298
    $84 w/ rebate at www.compuplus.com
    my computer sucks but my car stereo's better than yours!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    879
    for some reason i remember that the MAXX has the decoder onboard but i think it didn't have TV out for some reason. do some research on that, but if not just get a Rage Fury Pro w/TV out, or wait a little till the Radeon comes.
    people that drive slow are easy to pass, it's people who drive fast that provide a challange.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Nottingham Uni, England
    Posts
    1,945
    I don't posses a TV so TV out is not a problem for me, even if it's got it I'll likely never use it.

    My CPU is a K6-3 450, not exactly state of the art, but I'm intending to replace it with a Duron later this year.

    ------------------
    Look out!!
    My train of thought is a runaway!!
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows XP

    Chimaera: Twin Athlon MP 1900+ @ 1824Mhz, GeForce 3 TI500, 512Megs Crucial RegECC, 100GB Total HDD, SuSE Linux 7.3 + Windoze XP Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •