tnt2 vs. voodoo3
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: tnt2 vs. voodoo3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Rennes-le-Chateau
    Posts
    18

    tnt2 vs. voodoo3

    which is better for 3d games and applications, can't afford those new boards yet too expensive, currently got a generic permedia2 will it worth an upgrade.

    c375a
    be6-2
    64mb
    Gluttony-Greed-Sloth-Lust-Pride-Envy-Overclock-Wrath

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Curitiba, PR, Brazil
    Posts
    261
    TNT2 Ultra

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    columbia, md, usa
    Posts
    1,033
    i think that the voodoo3 would be alot better. first of all, it's compatible with everything. i've haerd of many ppl with problem concerning compatibility issues between tnt2 and motherboards, and stuff like that. i've only heard of one voodoo3 compatibility problem. the voodoo3 is good for everything. also, your cpu isn't that powerful. the voodoo3 doesn't take that much cpu power to run. it's very processor independent. lastly, it was a great, and still a pretty good 2d 3d card. i don't think that problems with compatibility and all the trouble of trying to fix it is worth for a little bit more image quality. ie.tnt2-good image quality. voodoo3-not as good image quality.

    ------------------
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Home of the 2002 Olympics!
    Posts
    1,418
    Yeah, and Glide rocks!
    Learn how to sell on eBay at www.PowerSellerPros.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Port Townsend, WA USA
    Posts
    2,784
    Definately, go for the Voodoo 3 2000. It overclocks nicely to 166MHz (Voodoo 3 3000), and you will not have compatibility problems. Personally I love mine, and I got the PCI version, because it may hold more value to sell later to someone with no AGP slot, or for use in a secondary system down the road. The TNT2 definately has better image quality, but it has bugs and compatibility problems. Also, the V3 will outperform the TNT2 M64 (most of the cheap ones are M64), due to the M64's 64 bit memory bandwidth limitation, and the V3 is cheaper. Add in the Glide support and it's a no-brainer!

    ------------------
    Pull the wool over your own eyes! Slack and be free....study the wisdom of J.R. "Bob" Dobbs at www.subgenius.com/pam1/pamphlet.html

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    whitby/ cobourg, ont, canada
    Posts
    1,263
    voodoo is for crappy grafics and less cpu dependant but tnt2 ultra is better for graffics. voodoo isn't worht compatibility overs it crappy graffics engine. how ever the tnt2 can be complicated to get woring right but when it does it kicks voodoo3 out of the water
    duron 800@900 - asus a7v - 640mb pc133 - radeon 8500le 128mb - sb live - 16x dvd-rom - 48x24x48 burner

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Australia, Vic, Melbourne
    Posts
    232
    morphious, u talk the biggest load of S**T. The graphical output of a voodoo card and a tnt card are almost identical. There is 'NO' difference between 32 bit and 16 bit color. The only diference between voodoo and tnt with graphics is texture quality (3dfx 256x256 TNT 2Kx2K) but the only game that uses textures above voodoo specs is Quake 3 (max it uses 512x512).

    GLIDE ALL THE WAY!

    ------------------
    Alright, due to too many complaints about my old sig, I shall not write any more in this sig incase anyone finds this present sig offensive.
    Thank you for booting windows for the first time "Error, This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shutdown"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Curitiba, PR, Brazil
    Posts
    261
    "i think that the voodoo3 would be alot better. first of all, it's compatible with everything"

    Yeah, unless you are on games 3 years old TNT 2 is also compatible with everything.

    "i've haerd of many ppl with problem concerning compatibility issues between tnt2 and motherboards, and stuff like that. i've only heard of one voodoo3 compatibility problem"

    I never heard of any such compatibility problems. Lack of knowledge is the max I've seen, thus there are problems. But if problems hapen with TNT2, you can bet that the same **** can hapen to Voodoo 3.

    "the voodoo3 doesn't take that much cpu power to run. it's very processor independent"

    Oh really? Weird, I can swaer to you that Voodoo 3 does not have T&L and it does not process AI... the only thing Voodoo 3 does is rendering! So, what does that mean? It means that Voodoo 3 is cpu dependent yes, just as CPU dependent as TNT2!

    "i don't think that problems with compatibility and all the trouble of trying to fix it is worth for a little bit more image quality"

    What problems? And even if there WHERE problems I think it WOULD be worth due to TNT2's superior perfromance.

    "Definately, go for the Voodoo 3 2000. It overclocks nicely to 166MHz (Voodoo 3 3000), and you will not have compatibility problems"

    Yeah, you can easily overclock a TNT2 Ultra to 175Mhz, and you won't have compatibility problems too.

    "There is 'NO' difference between 32 bit and 16 bit color"

    It's true, BUT THERE IS A DIFERENCE IN PERFROMANCE!!!!

    "GLIDE ALL THE WAY!"

    It's weird how you guys think that Glide is gonna make a Voodoo 3 look like a GeForce 2... it helps, but it doesn't make miracles... when I had my Voodoo 2 I NEVER felt the diference in Glide and Direct 3D...


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    columbia, md, usa
    Posts
    1,033
    someone obviously wasn't here when all the "tnt2 vs. voodoo3" wars and "something wrong with my tnt2!!!" "tnt2 isn't compatible!!!!" "motherbaord doesn't work with tnt2!!!!" problems were going on...

    ------------------
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    columbia, md, usa
    Posts
    1,033
    and all because like everyone on this post thinks differently from you doesn't mean that you hafta go around trying to make us look stupid or not knowing what we're tlaking about...

    ------------------
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    6,038
    Look both cards are good for p2-450s and less. There is a difference between 16 bit and 32 bit. I'll post some pics for you guys to compare (i have a tnt2u).

    I'm only doing this because I'm bored and no one is posting!
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Zotac 970 GTX 4gB SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz, 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Curitiba, PR, Brazil
    Posts
    261
    I can't really tell the diference on 32-bits over 16-bits...

    About TNT2 vs. Voodoo 3, the only "advatnage" I can think of Voodoo 3 has is the fact it works with PCI, but this is not an issue, PCI is slow, AGP is faster and there are no problems on a TNT 2 under AGP, so it can't be really a problem...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    6,038
    Well here they are:

    16 bits:



    32 bits:


    Two things to take into considerations. These are .jpg's so some degrediation will be present.
    You must be in 32 bits to view the 32 bit pics correctly, otherwise all you're getting is a 16 bit dithered pic.
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Zotac 970 GTX 4gB SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz, 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Scotland
    Posts
    1,215
    Oh no, its starting again. V3 vs. TNT2. Argh!!

    In my experience, the V3 is the most compatible card i've seen and the TNT2 is not. For fps, compatibility and Kickass Glide go for V3, but for image quality in Q3 go for a TNT2 ultra.

    Just my 2 pence.

    ------------------
    See my homepage for free downloads!

    CLICK HERE!

    NEW - Games section
    Duron 700@1100 2.1v Air Cooled - RIP

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Curitiba, PR, Brazil
    Posts
    261
    Wow.. I never noticed that the sky was better at 32-bits... but do I need to look at the sky? Hehehe..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •