You think the V5-6000 is pricey...
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: You think the V5-6000 is pricey...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,899

    You think the V5-6000 is pricey...

    Read this!. This card with 32 VSA-100 chips will eat the 6000 for breakfast.

    [This message has been edited by Huge (edited 05-24-2000).]
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    303
    How powerful would the external PSU need to be for that?

    ------------------
    http://www.toonweb.co.uk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,899
    Don't know but here's what the beast looks like.

    http://www.shugashack.com/pic.x/misc...aalchemy_1.jpg


    [This message has been edited by Huge (edited 05-24-2000).]
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    columbia, md, usa
    Posts
    1,033
    it's a whole box?!?! shiiiiiiiiiiiiiit...how much is it?

    ------------------
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    3,425
    Uhhh, I think I could make a Disney movie with that thing! FSAA will be no problem for that MONSTER. I think that card probably costs more than my car!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,899
    Well using simple math; if one v5-6000 has 4 chips and costs $600, one with 32 chips will cost $4800!!

    I don't think so...
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    columbia, md, usa
    Posts
    1,033
    mwa hahahahahaha!!!!!!!! my sister's boyfriend says that he's gonna buy it!!!! he's like "that's no problem. i make 350 a week anyways" HOLY **** THIS IS SO AWESOME!!!!!! mwa hahaha, i get to use it!!! yayayayayayayayayay, aren't you all so happy for me?! he's like the computer master. this kicks ***!!!!!! la la la, can't wait for summer break, that's when he's buying it!

    ------------------
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    3,425
    Ok, he makes $350/week and he is going to save up for how long to get a $4800 card?!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    500
    That's 1600watts folks. Or about 133 amps at 12v. Or about twice your average microwave.
    I would assume that system (it's a rack mount box, not an add-in card) is much more than $4800, too. I'm guessing more like $15-20k. The power supply alone would be about $1000.
    For some reason I doubt you will be popping it into your AGP port on your PC, either.

    But damn, 1068 mpixel/sec AFTER trilinear filtering and 16x FSAA.

    ------------------
    BP6, Celermine 566@850, 320meg, CL TNT2U 175/220
    BP6, P3-700@770 (for now), 320mb, eVGA MX Plus (dual CRT), waiting for VIVO module

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    55
    The exact price is in the range of $40,000. Wonder if I get discount if I buy it in thousand quantities.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,899
    Do they take out of state checks?

    Still waiting for my herc gf2 <sigh>
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,281
    You guys better win the lotery! :rolleyes
    Asus P5Q
    Intel core 2 Duo 3ghz 1333 fsb 6mb L2 cache
    OCZ Gold XTC 4GB DDR2-1066
    Asus ati3870 512mb pci express 16
    80Gig Hd Sata
    Vista Home premium

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,281
    OUps
    Asus P5Q
    Intel core 2 Duo 3ghz 1333 fsb 6mb L2 cache
    OCZ Gold XTC 4GB DDR2-1066
    Asus ati3870 512mb pci express 16
    80Gig Hd Sata
    Vista Home premium

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,899
    hehe Dark; haven't seen you around lately; thought you bailed.

    I can't see the average consumer waiting in line to pick up one of these insane things; even if they had the money.

    Did you finally upgrade your v2?
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    AMD
    Posts
    447
    The Price of the VooDoo 5 6000 is going to be right at $600 (this one was already answered, sort of).

    VooDoo Volts (the powersupply) is a 100 Watt power supply and it is about the size of an HP printer powersupply. (Say, 6"x3"x2" or so) It plugs into the card just above the monitor outlet. I am not sure if there is an extra cost for this, I wouldn't think so since it is required to run the card.

    [This message has been edited by Rock Dog (edited 05-25-2000).]
    Athlon 1.33G - ASUS A7V133 - Leadtek Geforce 2 MX400 - 512M Mushkin High Perf PC133 CAS2

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •