My god should i buy voodoo5 or go with a voodoo3?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: My god should i buy voodoo5 or go with a voodoo3?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,281

    My god should i buy voodoo5 or go with a voodoo3?

    Can someone please help me here!! i think everyone know that i have a celeron 466id mhz with 128 ram!! i have a voodoo2 12 mb!!
    But Please can someone tell me what is the best for my machine a voodoo5 pci or voodoo3 pci? i only have a pci port!! P.S i need better quality in graphics!! my voodoo2 give me good fps! but i need good graphics!! please i need voodoo3 or 5 wich 5 is antialiasing but not voodoo3!! thank you
    Asus P5Q
    Intel core 2 Duo 3ghz 1333 fsb 6mb L2 cache
    OCZ Gold XTC 4GB DDR2-1066
    Asus ati3870 512mb pci express 16
    80Gig Hd Sata
    Vista Home premium

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Half the way between a PC screen and the scary real life...
    Posts
    886
    If you want improved image quality, the V5 crushes the V3. All the way.
    And although the V5 seems far more CPU dependent than the V3, it will most probably be faster anyway.
    Just wait for final product benchmarks.
    Main rig: Athlon64 x2 4200+ | Asrock 939N68PV-GLAN | 4x512MB PC3200 | 120GB Seagate | Samsung DVDRW SH-S203D | VX550W PSU | WinXP Home SP3 / Ubuntu 7.10
    Headache generator: K6-2 500 | FIC VA503+ | 2x64MB PC133 | Voodoo 3 2000 PCI | SB32 ISA PnP | 15,2MB IBM | Xubuntu 8.04 / DeLiLinux 0.7.2
    Lappy: Compaq EVO N115 | Mobile Duron 1GHz | 384MB PC133 | VIA KM133 | Xubuntu 8.04
    A big thanks to MS's Vista for making me look into Linux distros!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    columbia, md, usa
    Posts
    1,033
    maybe you should consider a GeForce. because the new voodoo's and the GF2 came out, the price of the GeForce is getting lower and lower. you could probably find a sdr for as low as 130 and and DDR around 180 (?) or maybe even cheaper! they have good frame rates, good image quality, and is very un-cpu dependent. if you can, get the DDR cuz the SDR isn't THAT much of an improvement over the TNT2 but the DDR really is.

    ------------------
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw
    MaH SyStEm:
    PIII 450, 128 RAM, i740 (the i740 was last year's best midrange 2d card, so ha!) voodoo2 sli, 4.8X toshiba DVD, 4x4x20 cd-rw

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Chgo, Il USA
    Posts
    535
    I know this may not seem like a lot of help
    but, I just got a GForce DDR a week ago and
    slapped her into my PIII650e at 806/124 and
    found it to be unbelievably fast. WhooHooo...

    But ONLY in Quake 3. Every other program I
    have, every game other than Q3 is about the
    same as my TNT2 Ultra.

    Talk about throwing money away. I may return
    it. I hear that games based on the Q3 engine
    will also rock, but how many of those will I
    buy? Enough to warrant the $275 entry fee? It
    looks like I've been suckered in along with
    the masses to spend a ton of money on a product
    I really didnt need. Most folks only read the
    hype and parrot it back on these forums. I guess
    thats what nVidea wants. They sure made a big
    deal out of the Q3 benchmarks, I see why, thats
    the only game you can see the monster frame
    rates in.

    I just talked myself into it, this thing goes
    back.

    I'll wait and look at the V4 4500. It looks to
    be faster than the TNT2's. If they hit the
    market at $150 or less I may travel that path.
    I think the V5 will be an overblown windbag
    like the GForce. Perhaps FSAA will make it
    worth while, perhaps not.

    ------------------
    The more I knows, The better it goes.

    [This message has been edited by MGallik (edited 05-06-2000).]
    The more I knows, The better it goes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    671
    Dark doesnt have any AGP ports in his system. I would reccommend the Vodoo 5 4500 pci, except it will cost almost half of what you paif for that machine of yours Still it may be worth it, you may be able to save it the next time you upgrade your machine. If you buy a v3, you will be getting rid of it sooner than later!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    whitby/ cobourg, ont, canada
    Posts
    1,263
    dont go with ither they both suck ither go with a geforce 2 gts or a ati radeon they are both way better aqnd cost like $50 less
    duron 800@900 - asus a7v - 640mb pc133 - radeon 8500le 128mb - sb live - 16x dvd-rom - 48x24x48 burner

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ***The Outlands***
    Posts
    318
    You mean you STILL haven't bought a card yet Dark? Damn, talk aobut comparitive shopping....
    Abit BE6 MoBo
    Celeron II 950 @ 1.2GHz
    256 PC 133
    Windows XP Pro
    Ati 8500LE 128DDR
    NEC 19" Monitor
    Creative SB Live! 5.1
    Maxtor 20Gig HDD 7200

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    671
    Hey Morphious...can you do either of those come in a PCI package ? Dark doesnt have AGP!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Norfolk
    Posts
    853
    Definitly V5! V3 looks only slightly better than V2. Most of the time I couldn't tell the difference.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,281
    Thanks for your help guys!! all of you!!
    Well i need to wait later this summer to make a choice!! like alots said voodoo5 can be good but damn here in canada this card will be close to 500$ yikeeeeees
    Asus P5Q
    Intel core 2 Duo 3ghz 1333 fsb 6mb L2 cache
    OCZ Gold XTC 4GB DDR2-1066
    Asus ati3870 512mb pci express 16
    80Gig Hd Sata
    Vista Home premium

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •