Q3A Benchmarks and AMD
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Q3A Benchmarks and AMD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    121

    Q3A Benchmarks and AMD

    If you have an _AMD K6-2_ please post your Q3A scores here so I can compare them to my own.
    Thanx in advance.

    Mine are

    640x480x16 33fps
    800x600x16 33fps
    1024x768x16 33fps
    1280x1024x16 32fps
    1600x1200x16 28fps

    AMD K6-2 450MHz, 128MB ram and CL Geforce Pro.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    whitby/ cobourg, ont, canada
    Posts
    1,263
    lets just say alot less then that
    duron 800@900 - asus a7v - 640mb pc133 - radeon 8500le 128mb - sb live - 16x dvd-rom - 48x24x48 burner

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    I run it at max everything at 1024x768 I get 32.7fps and 1280x960 is 26.3fps. With a few tweeks I get 38.6 at 1024x768. If I turn off Dynamic Lighting and Marks on walls I jump to 50.2. If I run at 800x600 I get 58.8.

    My system is a K6-2 450Mhz (running at 112x4=448Mhz), 128MB SDRAM (clocked 75Mhz, my FIC VA-503+ hates running memory at 100+Mhz reguardless of type), Voodoo3 2000 (running at 166Mhz), CL Sound Blaster PCI-128. The CPU runs at 2.4volts top run 100% stable already and refused to load Windows at 500Mhz (even with a large heatsink/fan).
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Baltimore, MD US
    Posts
    10
    AMD K6-2 504(112*4.5), VIA MVP3, Guillemot 3D Prophet SDR, 128MB PC100 SDRAM, DEMO001, v3.16 drivers

    Normal: 47.2
    HQ: 44.8
    HQ@1024x768x16: 45.2
    HQ@1024x768: 34.8

    * Marks on walls off, Eject Brass off
    * Disabling dynamic lights adds 2FPS
    * Each score is best of 2 runs

    What is the standard demo to use for benchmarks? If you post, use closely standard settings so we all can compare apples to apples.

    ------------------
    The Moby Disk
    http://mobydisk.com
    The Moby Disk
    http://mobydisk.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Half the way between a PC screen and the scary real life...
    Posts
    886
    Hej Danmark, kig her:
    K6-2 500 @500, V3 2000 @143, 96 MB EDO, FIC VA 503+, SB 32 PnP ISA

    Demo001, normal settings, + texture quality slider max, + 800x600, - marks on walls, - dynamic lights, - ejecting brass:
    35 fps (lyder dårligt, ikke?)
    Main rig: Athlon64 x2 4200+ | Asrock 939N68PV-GLAN | 4x512MB PC3200 | 120GB Seagate | Samsung DVDRW SH-S203D | VX550W PSU | WinXP Home SP3 / Ubuntu 7.10
    Headache generator: K6-2 500 | FIC VA503+ | 2x64MB PC133 | Voodoo 3 2000 PCI | SB32 ISA PnP | 15,2MB IBM | Xubuntu 8.04 / DeLiLinux 0.7.2
    Lappy: Compaq EVO N115 | Mobile Duron 1GHz | 384MB PC133 | VIA KM133 | Xubuntu 8.04
    A big thanks to MS's Vista for making me look into Linux distros!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    33
    JanTM: I think that in generally the Geforce preforms worse on K6-X then Voodoo3 does. Thats because the bad 3dnow support of the drivers and the lack of processor power that the geforce needs. That explains why your q3 marks aint at top, and why you are not gainign FPS by lowering the resulution.

    Secrom: Your ram is holding u back. Get some good SDRAM and u will see a hughe preformance increase. Just by adding 64 SDRAM will increase overall fps by 6 - 10. I
    know by experience!



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    JanTM try with detonator drivers from nVidia.

    You have same frame rate at low 640x480 res and in 1280x1024, and that is not right.

    38 FPS at default QIII graphic setup in 800x600 with crapy TNT2 M64.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    Whel my bench is on K6-2 450 and Ali chipset, and TNT2 works in PCI mode, not using AGP even if it is AGP card.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    121
    I have just installed Nvidia's detonator drivers 5.16
    I turned off the fancy stuff like dynamic lighting, brass ejecting and mark on walls. This gives me

    800x600x16 43.7fps
    1280x1024x16 40.4fps

    Haven't tried other resolutions - but the result appear to be the same, just 10 fps higher

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Your still getting pretty low. What speed CPU and amount of SDRAM do you have (and motherboard)? Are you running 32bit color? I'm beating the snot out of you with an $80 Voodoo3 2000.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    121
    I have a 450MHz AMD K6-2 and 128MB SDRAM. The Mobo is a Chaintech 5AGM2 and the latest bios upgrade is already installed.

    The benchmarks above are all in 16 bit colors and 16 bit textures.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1
    Default HQ settings except resolution
    1024x768x32 68.4 fps
    1600x1200x32 41.4 fps
    2048x1536x32 30.1 fps
    marks on walls,dynamic lightning,ejecting brass,gibs,blood turned off.
    amd athlon 500@500,256 mb pc100 ram,Leadtek GeForce DDR @160/360

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •