GEFORCE 2 finally revield - Page 2
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 32

Thread: GEFORCE 2 finally revield

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Deutschland
    Posts
    936
    Oh, yeah, I almost forgot. I stand by what I've said: there is no way in hell for them to actually deliver that 1.6 gigatexel fill rate. In fact, there's no way in hell they'll deliver even _half_ of what they promise. Even with DDR, the memory bandwidth just isn't enough for that, plain and simple. And it can be seen by that tiny 30% speed improvement in benchmarks, instead of the promised 4 times higher performance.

    I.e., they're selling hype, not substance.

    If you think they are NOT actually selling hype and snake oil, care to explain what obvious point did I overlook? I mean, wth, do they have four-port RAM on that board? Did they make a time machine and bring QDR ram from a few years in the future? Or what?

    ------------------
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Posts
    156
    I don't understand why some of you are complaining about the GeForce and UT. I have an Asus Geforce DDR and UT run beautifully. I think it might be your system and not the GeForce card itself. I wish I could be of some help but that is just my opinion.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    3,425
    Sorry Tonka, I don't have a GeForce (I have a Voodoo3 3000) but ALOT of people are complaining about the GeForce and UT. That is why I am kind of hesitant about getting the new GeForces. I know the new Voodoos will have no problems with UT since GLIDE is what they do best. That is why I'm kinda leaning toward the Voodoos.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,952
    Umm...did I read this right???

    GeForce2 Presentation [08:41 pm]
    84 Comments / Threads - Steve Gibson
    I got a hold of the presentation that was given at the recent WinHEC show announcing the GeForce2-GTS. It's a pretty lengthy presentation that was a huge 15+ meg file but I hacked it down to quite a bit less. You can check out the entire presentation here. Just click the image itself and it will take you to the next slide. Keep in mind this card will be on shelves within the week.

    http://www.shugashack.com Good bye tnt2u!



    [This message has been edited by Huge (edited 04-28-2000).]
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz (3.2 GHz), 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs., Windows 8.1 Pro

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,952
    LaoChe, with the new 5.xx drivers, I can get 50+ fps with my tnt2u card. It's weird how some people can get good performance with nVidia, yet some others get utter crap
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz (3.2 GHz), 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs., Windows 8.1 Pro

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    It's not my system:-

    PIII 700Mhz @ 988Mhz (7x140fsb @ 1.75v)
    Abit BF6
    256mb Mushkin PC133
    Geforce 256 Annihilator Pro DDR (365/165)
    Soundblaster Live
    Wyn Doze 98 SE
    (300Watt P\S)

    as I've said before, it's also not a fps problem though more is always better. Some are less fussy than me it's all the precacheing and slow downs / stutter you get when a lot is happening,graphical glitches, etc.

    My system should run everything like honney and it just doesn't with this card. I will admit UT is a little better than the original game, but try whatever I like It ran better, and looked better on my VooDoo 3 2000.

    There is no magic here. it is Glide code that runs best in glide.

    BladeRunner


  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Deutschland
    Posts
    936
    Heh... It gets even better. Go have a look at the benchmarks on Tom's Hardware. They're made on a gigahertz P3, so CPU isn't the bottleneck. I'll quote just the 1024x768 values (though if I were a sadist, in lower resolutions the GTS sucks even more.)

    Q3A Demo001, high quality. GeForce2 77.8 vs 61.2 for the GeForce. (A mere 27.1% improvement.)

    nVidia's own NV15demo level. normal. 30.1 vs 30.9. (The GeForce2 actually performs WORSE.)

    NV15 demo, high quality. 28.4 vs 28.1. (A lousy 1% improvement.)

    Expendable, 16 bit. 95.7 vs 90.7. (5.5% better.)

    Expendable, 32 bit. 92.3 vs 85.6. (7.8% better)

    UTBench, 16 bit. 37.6 vs 39.2 (WORSE!)

    UTBench, 32 bit. 35.7 vs 37.2 (WORSE!)

    Evolva demo, 16 bit. 28.4 vs 24.8. (15.5%)

    Evolva demo, 32 bit. 25.3 vs 22.2. (13.9%)

    Dagoth Moor, 16 bit. 79.0 vs 60.1 (31%. Ok, this one at least looks like some improvement.)

    Dagoth Moor, 32 bit. 63.3 vs 48.7. (29.9%)

    So like... where the heck is that promised 1.6 gigapixel?

    ------------------
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    It's down to memory, and the Geforce 1 has the better RAM

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Deutschland
    Posts
    936
    No, those numbers were with 333 MHZ memory for the GeForce 2 GTS, as opposed to 300 MHz for the normal GeForce. I.e., it did NOT use SDR or lower speed memory, as some people assume. It did have 10% more memory bandwidth, yet in some games it doesn't even manage to show that 10% improvement.

    ------------------
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    312
    So in simple 2 word sentences, whats the vote? Voodoo 5 5500 or Geforce GTS?

    I'll take the Voodoo.
    Manchester United are crap.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Moraelin

    From what I understand, (and it does appear confusion reigns at the moment), the GTS Geforce 2 has DDR SDram, where as the Geforce 1 has DDR SGram which is slightly better.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Deutschland
    Posts
    936
    Does the GeForce 1 actually have DDR SGRAM? I was under the impression that the SDR was with SGRAM, while the DDR was with SDRAM. I might be wrong, though, so please correct me if that's the case.

    ------------------
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    BladeRunner,

    UT has a lot of textures and the GeForce does not handle textures too well. If you had the GeForce 256 with 64MB DDR you would see a lot better performance in UT. Also you could wait for a 64MB version of the GeForce2 GTS (hopefully with faster DDR, 333Mhz is not enough.

    Moraelin,

    The GeForce2 GTS performs much better than the GeForce at 16bit color. 32bit color requires too much bandwidth. With only a 10% increase in memory speed, you will only see a 10% increase in performance over the GeForce256 in 32bit color and higher resolutions.

    The really need dual cannel memory (like the i840 motherboards have), 256bit memory bus (which would be about the same, or 400Mhz (like Radeon256) memory minimum (600Mhz would be better). I really think if ATI releases a MAXX Radeon (dual chip like the Rage Fury MAXX and Voodoo5) with 400Mhz DDR and 200 Mhz core, it might actually be the fastest card out there (Hype-z and faster memory will help a lot at 32bit color and higher resolutions).
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Moraelin

    It's 6ns Infineon DDR SGram if my "memory" ( not as fast these days ) serves me correctly, I'll have a better look next time I open up the case.

    Buy the way I've been running a secondhand PIII 450 @ 600 for the last couple of days (building a comp for a friend) and I can't detect much difference in Q3 over my PIII 700 @ 988. (was a little slower in Half-Life with FSSAA on though)

    BladeRunner

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    No you have to read the AnandTech article to learn the reasons why a 64mb SDram Geforce will not be faster.

    Anyhow I think some of you are missing my point. Faster is not always the answer. With the lame *** original drivers, 3.53 I think,I was getting 180 fps in the 3Dmark helicoptor demo in 640x480 but It was not smooth. What you also have to realise is that I am a pedantic bastard that takes a lot of pleasing . It's kind of in my work to be a bit of a perfectionist and things that aren't annoy.

    Just ignore me, the Geforce it's ok now but I hate people going on about how wonderful it is when it isn't, so I like to through up the other side to this "Beta" card. It's ok and that's as far as I'll commit myself. Roll on my next card, and it must be SMOOTHER and much FASTER



    [This message has been edited by BladeRunner (edited 04-28-2000).]

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •