Socket 7 + ASUS Geforce
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Socket 7 + ASUS Geforce

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    cambridge, ontario, canada
    Posts
    99

    Socket 7 + ASUS Geforce

    I now Feel That I am among the best learned when it comes to ASUS Geforce cards but I still do Have some questions, and things to learn.
    I use a super Socket 7 Mother Board (k6BV3+ from DFI and I was wondering If the ASUS V6800 Geforce cards will work good with them. A person who works for ASUS has told me that ASUS does not recommend the use of SUPER SOCKET 7 boards, with their products.
    He told me that It may work fine, but there is also a chance that my MoBo may cause something going screwy.

    My MoBo is from the Later 1999 timer period, and is a really good Super Socket 7 Main Board (better then most others that I have seen, yes better than most ASUS SS7 main boards)

    Here are some of the stats:
    VIA® Apollo MVP3 AGP chipset, 1MB Pipeline Burst Cache, 4 PCI/3 ISA/1 AGP, UltraDMA/33, 3x168pin DIMM, AT/ATX Power Connector, AT Form Factor.

    Can someone please help me with this, or direct me where I can get help?
    YOU CAN HIDE BUT YOU CAN'T RUN!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    cambridge, ontario, canada
    Posts
    99
    Here some more infor on my MoBo if you need any Info for The ASUS cards ask me!


    DFI K6BV3+
    Chipset
    VIA MVP3
    CPU Socket
    Super 7

    CPU Supported
    AMD K6-III 400/450/500
    AMD K6/K6-II
    Intel Pentium® MMX
    IBM® Cyrix® 6x86MX/MII
    IDT® C6, Winchip 2, Winchip 3

    Memory
    1MB L2 Cache
    3 DIMM sockets
    max. 768MB (unbuffered)
    Supports PC-100 and ECC
    PCI IDE
    Dual channels up to 4 IDE devices supported
    UltraDMA/33, PIO mode 3/4 transfer rate up to 33Mb/sec
    Super I/O
    2 x NS16C550A compatible UARTs
    1 x SPP/ECP/EPP parallel port
    External Connectors
    PS/2 or AT Keyboard
    Internal Connectors
    2X USB, 1x serial, 1x parallel, 1x PS/2 Mouse, 1 x IrDA, 2x IDE
    1 x Floppy, 1 x ATX/AT power
    Power Management
    ACPI and OS direct Power Management
    Wake-on events: RTC/Modem
    Hardware Monitor
    System, Processor Temperature, Voltage and Fan
    Expansion Slots
    1 AGP slot
    3 PCI slots
    2 ISA slots
    1 PCI/ISA slot
    BIOS
    Award / 2Mbit
    Form Factors
    Baby AT, 4 layers
    25cm x 22cm
    9.84 inch. x 8.66 inch.

    Stuff you should know about My System:
    AMD K6-2 450Mhz
    64mb pc-100 SDRAM (Will be 128 MB soon)




    [This message has been edited by slave (edited 02-06-2000).]
    YOU CAN HIDE BUT YOU CAN'T RUN!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    cambridge, ontario, canada
    Posts
    99
    Ack
    someone please help me!
    YOU CAN HIDE BUT YOU CAN'T RUN!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Abita Springs , LA USA
    Posts
    1,121
    Wish I could help!
    Maybe you can help me for a minute!

    I just started today trying to figure out what I have. This comp was given to me. It is old.
    Motherboard is a V5.2A
    It has 96MB Ram
    CyrixInstead 6x86(tm) SOCKET 7 VXPRO+, this chipset is a relabeled VIA Apollo VPX chipset, says one source

    Anyway my real question to you is this, how did you determine all the info you have for your system. A particular site, or what.I have questions out there with hardware central on the support and also motherboard areas.
    Not getting much support there yet. Maybe you can shed some light on some things for me.
    I have other info but didn't want to overcrowd you in your search!

    Thanks
    Rich
    Asus A7V8X mobo bios 1013
    Athlon MobilXP 2600 + @ 15x167
    vcore 1.7v
    ThermalTake Volcano 12 Extreme
    Enermax 350W PS
    GEIL PC3200 CL2 3-3-6
    Seagate Barracuda 40g hd
    Saphire Radeon 9800Pro Atlantis 128
    core378/mem337.5 default
    Catalyst 5.12/dx9.0c
    Win 2000pro
    Liteon 40x12x48 burner
    Liteon DVD
    Old floppy
    Logitech MX310 Optical
    DSL modem and (one old dial up for work purposes)
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Audio

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    cambridge, ontario, canada
    Posts
    99
    The best thing to do is reasearch (some things you just can't FIND The answer for!) you should first try reading you'r motherboards manual, Twice!! Then try bring up a search for old websites of stores that used to cell your MotherBoard or you CPU (or whatever else you're trying to find) and see if they have info, Try the webpage for the company that owns the product, email their technical support, and ask them for the info you need! You can also try just searching for the product on the internet (this ussually brings up sites of people who build PC's they may have info on their site) but you'll have to search for info on the product. If you're lucky you'll find a spec sheet, or a chart with the features.

    Try this page it may help you with finding out some basic info to help you get started: Click Here

    Cyrix support: tech_support@cyrix.com or go to this SITE

    A site you can go to (But I doubt you'll find your board on it I have checked (but im not entierly sure what type of board you use so best check it out) Specs for many MoBo's

    a good MoBo site (but probally not what your looking for Motherboards At home world

    I have been searching abit for some info on your setup but its hard to find!
    some hardware is easier to find information for, than others!

    I am sorry this probally didn't help very much, you probally have tried the above suggestions.

    since I have no idea what your problem is I can't give an effective answer, but you could try this page Cyrix 6x86 FAQ

    email me for more help i'd to glad to try to help you! (click on email me button at top of this posting!)



    [This message has been edited by slave (edited 02-07-2000).]
    YOU CAN HIDE BUT YOU CAN'T RUN!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Abita Springs , LA USA
    Posts
    1,121
    THANKS! You have supplied me with many sources to find out what I need to find out.
    Good luck with your search.

    THANKS AGAIN,
    Richard R.

    ------------------
    Asus A7V8X mobo bios 1013
    Athlon MobilXP 2600 + @ 15x167
    vcore 1.7v
    ThermalTake Volcano 12 Extreme
    Enermax 350W PS
    GEIL PC3200 CL2 3-3-6
    Seagate Barracuda 40g hd
    Saphire Radeon 9800Pro Atlantis 128
    core378/mem337.5 default
    Catalyst 5.12/dx9.0c
    Win 2000pro
    Liteon 40x12x48 burner
    Liteon DVD
    Old floppy
    Logitech MX310 Optical
    DSL modem and (one old dial up for work purposes)
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Audio

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,255
    Remember, that k6-2 450 fpu doesn't catch up with GeForce performance, you could get the same framerates in both low and high resolutions.
    HWC FORCE3D ICQ AL= 57497564
    OCN ICQ AL= 67864797

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    cambridge, ontario, canada
    Posts
    99
    Oh..
    Thnx Dimme
    I hope to upgrade my PC soon anyways!
    (i just really really badly need a new video card!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
    If I buy another video cards I'll need a new one sooner!
    (I should be upgrading my CPU after I buy:
    64 MB of pc-100 sdram
    13.6 or a 20 GB Hard drive
    A CD burner
    A new Bike helmet (Giro Switchblade ($250!!) its Full faced with removable chingaurd!)
    some shoe covers for the winter!
    and a bottle of degreaser ($16)
    by this time Atholon will have gone down in price abit and I can buy one (or mabey a coppermine (but I dont like Intel way too much!)
    YOU CAN HIDE BUT YOU CAN'T RUN!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •