Video Card for FIC 503+ AGP or PCI
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Video Card for FIC 503+ AGP or PCI

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Jamestown, NY, USA
    Posts
    215

    Video Card for FIC 503+ AGP or PCI

    As above I am thinking about a new video card and remember some horror stories about AGP problems with the FIC 503+.

    Looking at the ATI XPERT 128 16MB PCI and the Millennium SD G200 16MB SGRAM 128Bit PCI 250DAC. I am not sure what the SD designation is.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Why? Those are to old and out dated cards. Get a Voodoo3 2000 AGP. I have a VA-503+, K6-2 450 and Voodoo3 2000. Runs great and stable, no hastles. Overclocked the Voodoo3 to 166Mhz (the speed of the Voodoo3 3000). Runs great. You can get one at BUY.COM for under $90 (after shipping) and will give you at least double the performance of the other two you are looking at.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Staten Is.,NY
    Posts
    12,153
    right you are zealot had too many of those horror stories about the 503, some worked some didn't last year. don't want to see anybody else go thru that, feel that todd a is another lucky one, work when there right but not worth the risk if you can get something else i would.
    you've been warned.

    ------------------
    HOCKEY RULES!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    I recently ordered and set up a Leadtek WinFast S320-II TNT2, 128 Bit, 32MB with TV output for a friend. It installed with no problems after loading the AMD 3-in-1 drivers that came on the FIC CD. It's been running great since early December with no problems. Only $95 plus $8 shipping here: www.sg3d.com . He's running a K6-2 450, but if you're running something slower like a K6-2 333, then you'd be better off with the Voodoo3 2000 that Todd a recommended.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,550
    I have a VA-503+ with an AGP ATI All in Wonder Pro, and it works perfectly. It's not the fastest card, but I need the video capture and tv tuner capabalities.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Jamestown, NY, USA
    Posts
    215
    I am not into serious gaming just want a better display. This all came about when I started comparing my screen to my son's across the room. We both have Webshots set up as a screen saver. Not because we need on per say just like the photos. Anyway, I just upgraded his system to a FIC 503+ and AMD 450, with a Mystic 220 4 meg card. He has a Mag 17" DX700T. I am running the 503+ with a AMD 350 and a 4 meg 3DExpressions PC2/TV ATI card. I also have a Mag 17" but not the flat T screen model. His display is cleaner, less blur on some of the pictures. When the slide effect is used, mine jerks across the screen, his flows. Well almost flows. My wife has complained about my screen making her sick to her stomach when I scroll down web pages because of this prior to unperceived jerking of the screen images. If you stand say 20 feet from the screen you can almost see it quiver. Not sure if it is the card or the monitor.

    All said I am also in need of freeing up a IRQ. My current card does not technically need an IRQ so thought about trying to use that one for my scanner. After adding in a PS2 mouse it took the IRQ 12 for itself. That was the only open IRQ for the scanner. As I am not familiar with AGP slots, do they use IRQ resources?


    Thanks for your responses and hope this explains things a bit better.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    IActually I built 2 systems and up graded 5 others. One cyrix, one Celeron, one PIII and the rest were K6-2 350-450s. I intalled one Velocity 100,, one Viper 770, and 4 Voodoo3s (and on S3 Verge DX 4MB for the Cyrix all spare parts). The Velocity had a bug in Quake3, but worked fine otherwise. The TNT2 Required a BIOS upgrade and new drivers to work right and all the Voodoo3 2000 (including 1 PCI) worked without a flaw. All but one wanted me to overclock them. They all run at 160 without a hitch (the PCI seamed to run a bit warmer, but was still stable).

    The only problems I've seen with the Voodoo3s is when people don't follow the instillation instructions (not setting to standard VGA first).
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    If you're running a K6-2 350 I'd go for a Voodoo3 2000 PCI version. No reason to get an AGP since Voodoo cards don't use AGP texturing anyway. The PCI version is just as fast as the AGP version is.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Antonio, TX USA
    Posts
    1,214
    Back when the V3 2000 AGP card first came out I was one of the first people to get one.
    When I was checking out at CompUSA and the guy said that I was making a huge mistake getting the V3 because he said when they installed one in a PC in the back that all they got was a blank screen. He told me that he was pretty sure I would returning the video card. I just smiled and said thank you and left

    At that time I had the FIC VA-503+ rev 1.2 AT motherboard. I just installed the video card and booted up the PC and everything worked flawless!!! I've been building PC's for years and that was without a doubt the simplest video card install that I've done vs some TNT or cheap AGP based cards! The first V3 drivers were rather buggy, but 3dfx fixed that and their latest drivers that support DirectX 7.0 are awesome!

    I would definately get the V3 2000 AGP card if I were you Zealot you won't be disappointed! It's an excellent 2D/3D video card. You can find the V3 2000 AGP card at http://www.pricewatch.com for as low as $73.00.

    Sincerely,

    Best4x4

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Just make sure you watch the shipping and handling charges on some of the site on Pricewatch.com some will nock 10 off the price and add it to the shipping so they turn up at the top of the list. That is why I goto BUY.COM for hard drives, Video cards, CD ROM and sound cards. They usually have the est prices on these. They don't have the est selection or price on CPU, motherboards, cases, or memory... Those I get elsewhere.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Kannapolis, NC USA
    Posts
    559
    I've got the 503+ with a Voodoo 3 3000 AGP and it is very stable and I'm happy with it.
    Just wanted to let you know Zealot.
    Current System:
    AMD 1800+
    MSI K7T266 Pro-RU
    512MB DDR
    Asus V7700Ti GF2 64MB
    WD 20GB 7200

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Westboro, MA USA
    Posts
    25
    Whatever you do, stay away from the TNT AGP cards on the 503+, it's a nightmare. I've never tried any other AGP card on this board, but the TNT has been a headache from the word go...
    ---Elw00d---

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    If you get the Voodoo3 2000, you might as well get the AGP version. The VA-503+ only has 3 PCI slots, why waste one when the AGP slot works fine. Also the PCI version is usually a little more expensive.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, usa
    Posts
    136
    MAKE SURE YOU LOAD THE IDE DRIVERS AND THE VIA PATCH FOR AGP DRIVERS THAT MUST BE INSTALLED TO THE HDD!!!!!!!! If you dunt, belive me, it will run ok...., but not the superior performance this board will give. Remember, FIC was the first with ATA 66 to really run right.

    I have VA 503A w/1m cache, 2x agp setting on Diamond Stealth 540 32 MB SDRAM, 128 mb 100mz ram, Maxtor ata 66 with TWO MB BUFFER, OOOOOOOOO, AND IT IS FIIIIIIIIINE. Q3, UT, and WoT with BiPolars drivers are exceptional. Now that the FIC homepage is talking about 4x agp, I hear it is not that much faster, a little, but, no biggie.

    go to www.pricewatch.com

    When I copied win98 to hdd partition, it installed in 4 minutes. SSSSSMMOKIN!!!!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Jamestown, NY, USA
    Posts
    215
    Just thought I would update you on what I ended up doing.

    Bought the AGP Matrox G400 16 meg card, single head.

    Installed with no problem. Running fine. The display is cleaner. Brighter and oh so much faster! The picture slides that are mentioned above are so smooth and fast that you don't even notice them.

    I do not notice any "flickering" but will have to wait til my wife looks at the display and get the seal of approval. After all we don't want her thowing up while looking at it becasue it makes her dizzy!

    Thanks for all your replies and suggestions.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •