TNT2 Ultra and D3D=Crash to Desktop
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TNT2 Ultra and D3D=Crash to Desktop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    27

    TNT2 Ultra and D3D=Crash to Desktop

    I've recently installed a Xentor 32 TNT2 Ultra in my system (FIC VA503+, K6-2 400, SB Live Value, 64MB, IBM 8.4GB). I've got it stable in OGL (Q2, Q3) after some tweaking of the BIOS, but I'm still having troubles with D3D. Games (Motoracer2, Nascar3) that use D3D crash to the desktop after a few minutes, sometimes sooner. I've disables the prerequisite BIOS settings (read through cache, shadowing, etc.). Also, I've tried all different AGP aperture sizes. These do affect OGL stability, but seemingly nothing with D3D. Does anyone have the answer? Thanks for any help you can provide.
    -Keith

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    27
    Also...(I forgot some info above)
    I've got the latest AGP drivers from VIA (3.56???), the latest BIOS from FIC, and NVidia's 3.53 reference drivers. Thanks again...
    -Keith

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Posts
    157
    Fat32:
    I have recently got a TNTu and have had the same problems. Did you make sure your BIOS AGP options are enabled plus don't enanble the AGP 2X mode as that overclocks the card and will cause crashs. I have an email from tech support if ya want it you can email me

    ------------------
    Never overlook old computers! They do have a purpose

    Abit KT7A-Raid
    Duron 650@900
    384 MB Pc-133 SDRAM
    Maxtor 30 GiG HDD
    Viper V770 Ultra 175-225
    SB Live!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    27
    Oldcomputerfreak:
    I do have AGP enabled in the BIOS, including the 2X option. I'll change that tonight and see what happens.
    An aside...
    You'd think it should all work, seeing as that's why I bought the card in the first place...the performance. If you have to dumb it down to a point where it's marginally faster than some other video card...well I'm sure you get my point.
    Thanks for the suggestion.
    -Keith

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    I had a similar problem on my K6-2 450, VA-503+, SB PCI-128, WD 4.3GB HD, Voodoo3 2000, 96MB PC-66. The damb thing would dump out of games to desk top all the time (the worst was Descent3 which took about 20 seconds after you start). I got disk errors and registry errors. I had resently upgraded the CPU (from a K6-2 350). After everthing else failed, I down clocked it to 400 Mhz and it ran fine. After about a week (and finding out I would be without a computer for at least 2 weeks if I returned it) I bumped up the voltage to 2.3 and it ran 100% stable at 450Mhz.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Sao Paulo,SP,Brasil
    Posts
    97
    Turbo Mode in VIA AGP driver means 2x.
    Normal Mode means 1x.
    This is also another sensitive point ...
    XT2800@190, 2x512@sync, ASUS A7N8X-E, 9800Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    27
    I tried giving it a little more voltage, and I (oops...forgot to mention this earlier) returned to the intended clock of 350MHz. Still crashing in D3D only. I'll try giving it more juice at 350MHz and see what happens. Thanks again for the suggestions.
    -Keith
    P.S. All worked fine with the Viper 330 I just took out. Go figure.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    27
    ignore

    [This message has been edited by Fat32 (edited 12-28-99).]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    27
    ignore this one also (got a little happy with the mouse)

    [This message has been edited by Fat32 (edited 12-28-99).]

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •