Battle of the video cards
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Thread: Battle of the video cards

Somewhere between Purgatory and Hell called Ohio

Battle of the video cards

I have been keeping an eye on this discussion for a while now. I currently own a V3 2000. Before that I owned Voodoo Rush. I will upgrade eventully and have been watching to see who will take the lead in the video card race. 3dfx is still my favorite. My freinds own the TNT2 and it looked great, half-life was amazing. I have heard tons of good things about GeForce. The reason I am staying with 3dfx is because they build solid cards. Look at this discussion board and see how many people are having problems with their TNT2 or GeForce. Then look for V3 problems. I see a huge difference. There are almost no problems with the V3 as far as stability. I know it is not the fastest but they are stable and compatible (not slow either). I am not an expert on this stuff, it is just my opinion. Let me know what you think.

------------------
    Error: CPU speed is too fast.
    -Goff

freon Guest
    I think 99% of all problems with any equipment is PSTU. Product superior to user. I think if you have troubles installing equipment and dealing with the correct tech support people, you should give Best Buy $40 to install it for you... That's not an insult, but rather a suggestion. The average Joe Schmoe computer user hears from his geekie friend to just buy the white box, has problems, and of course instantly declares it to be a inferior product.

I've never had any major problems with any video card I've owned with any game. None of my friends have either. All my friends own Voodoo3's, TNT's, and TNT2's. Not a single problem. Of course, we're mostly all computer geeks (in fact, computer science, computer technology, or computer engineering students). We buy used and white box from the cheapest online retailer and install it ourselves because we know we can. We're the minority, though.