System Lock with DV770 (16 MB TNT2)
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: System Lock with DV770 (16 MB TNT2)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    10

    System Lock with DV770 (16 MB TNT2)

    This one absolutley baffles me. I posted earlier about the same problem, but it still persists. Here it is. System: Cel 500A, 128MB RAM, Asus P2-99 mobo, and the noted video card. Nothing is overclocked. My system locks whenever I try to use an app/game that uses 3d Acceleration. I've tried the Diamond drivers, the Nvidia drivers, reintalling Win98, AND replacing the video card with ANOTHER new DV770. Luke Skywalker replied with the addy for the Nvidia drivers (thanks... ) but,... here I am again. Luke? Anyone? emails to spectres_void@hotmail.com. Much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    7
    Concerning drives you are ok, unless you new to uprade your AGP drive if the DV770 is a AGP card!? (get it from the manufacter of your motherboard)

    Also some topics for your BIOS,
    System BIOS Cacheable
    Video BIOS Cacheable
    Video RAM Cacheble

    make them all disable and try to work the 3D,then start enabeling one by one and testing

    Memory hole at 15M-16M (keep this disable)
    C8xxxx-CBxxxx Shadow ( disable )

    Init Display first (put it AGP or PCI according to your card)

    aperture size for AGP ( put it 64Mb)

    Hope this can help you,
    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    10
    pamp, I tried all of those tweaks to the letter, and.....LO AND BEHOLD.....


    The problem still persists. Any other suggestions?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Uniontown,PA USA
    Posts
    6
    Hey Spectre,
    Did you try turning down hardware accelleration under sys. prp. performance? Just a thought.

    [This message has been edited by Pipesmoker (edited 10-01-99).]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    10
    Tried that, and games still freeze. In addition, I've also tried (individually):

    Disabling AGP support in DXControl, updating my mobo's BIOS, underclocking the TNT2 using Powerstrip, and re-installing the games that were giving problems,...all to no avail.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    1
    I had the same problem.

    Fixed it by a different setting in my BIOS:

    AWARD BIOS:
    CPU SOFT MENU II
    AGPCLK/CPUCLP turned to 2/3 (was 1/1)

    Problem solved

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    10
    I've been trying to figure out how to adjust the AGP setting in my mobo's BIOS, but I can't seem to find that particluar setting. Any idea how to get to it?

    Never mind,...my default AGP frequency setting is 2/3

    [This message has been edited by Spectre (edited 10-02-99).]

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •