Real World Benches any Card (and nonreal also, just to see)
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 73

Thread: Real World Benches any Card (and nonreal also, just to see)

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Butler, Pa. USA
    Posts
    786

    Real World Benches any Card (and nonreal also, just to see)

    Okay this post is for everyone with graphics card that wants us to see how it performs. I give my regards to tekken2 for being yelled at by a lot of people, and the unfortunate lack of TNT2 posts in his folder. Enough yelling and screaming, if there is one complaint ANYMORE about what is better and what is worse in this post, I'll get the moderator in here to straigten things out. I want everyone to post what kind of scores they get with different games with their cards. Especially anyone with a new card such as TNT2 Ultra, Permedia3 when it comes out, and the g400 and all the rest, I have some friends getting together to bench a lot of games, cause we have about all the ones that make for good benching, plus we have many different cards, v2's, v3's, TNT, ati rage, viper 330, etc. So post em up and let us see whats up with your card. AND ABSOLUTELY NO COMPLAINING!!! GOT IT???
    Vidfreek:
    I have gone to look for myself, If I get back before I return.....Keep me here

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    butler, pa, usa
    Posts
    86
    woooooohooooooo! can't wait to bench the, ah, crap out of these babies! o/c and heat, here we come! later lava ;-j
    why can i never think of anything witty to put in these?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    40
    I guess I'll start off with some simple benchmarks that really impressed me.

    My Computer
    OCed 300A @464
    128megs PC100
    V3 3000 @183mhz

    Quake 2 3.20 no configs

    16bit color Demo1 Crusher
    1280x960 58.8 37.3
    1024x768 85.1 47.3
    800x600 109.2 50.7

    3DMarkMax 800x600 16bit color 3964 3DMarks

    Almost 60fps in 1280x960! that's impressive

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Arboga, Sweden
    Posts
    4
    System:
    PII 333 @375
    64 Mb
    V3000 @166 MHz

    3DMarkTot 800*600*16: 3127

    I'll fill in some V3@183 result later.
    V3000@183 MHz
    3DMarkTot 800*600*16: 3272
    V3000@190 MHz
    3DMarkTot 800*600*16: 3317


    [This message has been edited by The Man (edited 06-01-99).]

    [This message has been edited by The Man (edited 06-02-99).]
    /P-M

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Butler, Pa. USA
    Posts
    786
    Here is a viper racing benchmark:

    K6-2 @ 380
    128 megs of ram
    v3 2000 @ 143
    maxtor 10 gig 5400rpm harddrive

    48.8 fps in the bench Test

    Here is my friend Lavajumpers bench also:

    celery 300 @ 472
    128 megs of ram
    Creative Labs TNT 115/105
    Western digital 13 gig harddrive

    51 fps in the bench Test

    So as you can for one thing the K6-2 and 3dnow with the v3 can make a big difference when it is implimented in a game, cause im only about 2 frames off of an almost 500mhz p2 machine! Pretty good I think

    [This message has been edited by Vidfreek (edited 05-28-99).]

    [This message has been edited by Vidfreek (edited 05-28-99).]
    Vidfreek:
    I have gone to look for myself, If I get back before I return.....Keep me here

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    40
    Vidfreek, not bad scores
    got any Q2 scores I like to see how the K6-2 with your V3 does, hey if possible put your post up with it at 143 and 166.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    40
    hey guys just got my V3@190! runs great no crashes or anomilies

    here the same benches (but updated) that I posted earlier, you can see the improvement not much but its there

    Demo1 1280x960 61.2 crusher 38.3
    Demo1 1024x768 87.9 crusher 48.0

    3DMarkMax didn't improve at all so no need postin it

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    butler, pa, usa
    Posts
    86
    good vid, but when i went to 1024x768 it jumped to 53 fps. i didn't know if you saw that or not, so i thought i'd let you know. i might run them again tonight, and if i do a whole slew of other ones to. if not, i might give you a call. later lava ;-j
    why can i never think of anything witty to put in these?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    120
    quake2 time demo1 benchmark:
    system: P2 450mhz 256megs of memory
    creativelabs TNT2 ultra. Nothing overclocked, all windows98 and norton systemworks 2.0 programs running. visuals and sound set to best visuals and max sounds.


    16bit color setting:

    800 x 600 = 78.7fps
    1024 x 768 = 67.6

    32bit color setting:

    800 x 600 = 72.6
    1024 x 768 = 51.6


  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    40
    Not bad scores tekken, seems as though 16bit to 32bit on the TNT2 is not that bad of a performance hit. I wonder what you could squeeze out of that baby if it was overclocked? What does Crusher run like in 32bit color? Thanx OC9

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Morrison, Co. USA
    Posts
    27
    I am a flight sim and racing fan so i have no "quake" benchmarks. ALTHOUG I WOULD LIKE TO GET THE QUAKE II DEMO!

    AMD K6-2 300MHZ
    128mb of PC100
    FIC VA503+ V1.2A
    20X ACER CD-ROM
    CREATIVE ENSONIQ AudioPCI (SIMALAR TO SB PCI64)
    56K V.90 U.S.R. MODEM
    ATI RAGE IIC 8MB AGP+
    STB BLACKMAGIC 3D VOODOO2 12MB ACCELERATOR WITH 3DFX V2 REFERENCE DRIVERS (the stb drivers are sh!tty)
    6.4 GIG FUJITSU HD
    NOTHING OVERCLOCKED (if anyone has detailed instructions on overclocking either my processor or voodoo2 please e-mail me at gut_wrencher@hotmail.com)

    MY VIPER RACING FPS IN THE BENCHMARK WAS
    AT 640x480x16 WITH ALL DETAIL ON ALL THE WAY
    =52.8FPS

    JANE'S WORLD WAR II FIGHTERS
    640X480X16 WITH ZBUFFER ON
    62.56FPS

    JANE'S F-15
    640X480X16
    60-80FPS DEPENDING ON THE VIEW I AM IN

    LONGBOW GOLD 3DFX VERSION
    640X480XWHO KNOWS WHAT
    150-300FPS, YES 300FPS

    NEED FOR SPEED 3
    640X480X16
    20-100FPS DEPENDING ON # OF OPONENTS ON TRACK

    3DMARK99 MAX
    3DMARKS 2290
    CPU 3DMARKS 4557

    NASCAR RACING 2 W/BETA 3DFX PATCH
    82.6FPS CONSTANT, NEVER ALTERS EXCEPT IN THE NUMBERS AFTER THE . USUALLY STAYS ON 6 THOUGH

    ALL TOGETHER THIS LITTLE K6-2 300 SYTEM KICKS SOME @$$ FOR WHAT IS HAS IN IT!


    [This message has been edited by GutWrench_51 (edited 05-29-99).]

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Morrison, Co. USA
    Posts
    27
    ALSO WHERE CAN I GET THE QUAKE II CRUSHER DEMO; BECAUSE THAT IS THE ONLY VERSION OF QUAKE II YOU GUYS EVER TALK ABOUT! ALSO CAN ANYONE HERE GIVE ME DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS ON OVERCLOCKING MY PROCESSOR AND/OR VIDEO CARD(the voodoo2) e-mail me at gut_wrencher@hotmail.com

    [This message has been edited by GutWrench_51 (edited 05-29-99).]

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    120
    GutWrench_51 - you have to download the crusher and massive timedemo files. You can get them from 3fingers quake2 webpage.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Columbus OH USA
    Posts
    34
    Hey what's up people
    Here's my system
    K6-2 350 OC variously between 400 and 450
    MSI 5169 MB + 64M PC100 ram
    V3 3000 OC to 183-195 mhz (195 runs clean!)
    here's the data at 400 and 183, respectively
    Q2 Demo1@1024 16b 85fps
    Massive1@1024 16b 62fps
    Crusher@1024 16b 41 fps
    all demo's run w/low quality sound, and highest texture quality.
    Here's the question: even when i turn the resolution way down, like to 512, i only increase the fps to maybe 91 max - anyone have ideas why that might be?
    PEACE

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Arlington,Texas
    Posts
    288
    Ok i see everyone post fps of voodoo3 and tnt2 fps with system specfic.
    Thank all of you for being calm, get along each other that is good manner as adult.
    I like that and keep that way allright.
    I will happy to post my fps of voodoo3 3000.
    Come on let to be friend each other .
    ;0

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •