Password Managers
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Password Managers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    3,946

    Password Managers

    Does anyone use a password manager or have recommendations along those lines?

    All of the recent security breaches have me considering one. Trying to keep various passwords for various sites straight is becoming really burdensome, especially if I try (as the experts advise) to avoid using the same password multiple times.

    I took a look at Dashlane. I did not get very far, though, and I may not have given it a fair chance. I did not see the simplicity of use that I wanted and that, based on reviews, I expected. Maybe simplicity is a relative term?

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    367
    Doc

    ____________http://www.microsoft.com/security____________
    \____________________ ____.-.____ ____________________/
    \_____________\ -._)!(_.- /_____________/
    \_______\. ~\ /~ ./_______/
    \_______/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    662
    I've used RoboForm for 4 years. My company provided it. I liked it so much that I went out and bought a personal license with their cloud package so that all of my devices sync to it.
    This week I'm a Systems Specialist...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    3,946
    Quote Originally Posted by Quatroux View Post
    I've used RoboForm for 4 years. My company provided it. I liked it so much that I went out and bought a personal license with their cloud package so that all of my devices sync to it.
    Do you run Chrome by any chance? It looks like RoboForm may have some issues with it (because of what Chrome allows, not because of Roboform)?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    6,027
    LastPass
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Zotac 970 GTX 4gB SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz, 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16
    I use LastPass since 2010. It saved me lots of problems with all those passwords. You have to remenber only one pass which will enable you to log into LastPass. You can edit and modify saved passwords and logins etc. It has extensions to all popular web browsers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    6,027
    Quote Originally Posted by kredd View Post
    I use LastPass since 2010. It saved me lots of problems with all those passwords. You have to remenber only one pass which will enable you to log into LastPass. You can edit and modify saved passwords and logins etc. It has extensions to all popular web browsers.
    +1

    I used to use KeepPass but had a ton of trouble trying to sync databases (even through dropbox). LastPass makes this stupidproof (the $12/year phone app is icing on the cake).
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Zotac 970 GTX 4gB SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz, 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    3,946
    I have been trying them out. One of the things that I have found on the ones that tout the ability to import user names and passwords is that it is not necessarily a good thing. In my case, the import feature has resulted in lots of sites being loaded up that I had frankly over the years forgotten about and no longer use or want. Rather than weeding them out one by one, I have started with an empty "vault" and have been loading it up site by site as I go.

    Another thing I have noticed is that the auto-load feature (entering passwords and logging in automatically) may not work on certain sites. These are primarily financial sites (at least what I have noticed) where the user name and the password are entered on separate pages. Same applies for a site that also requires a Captcha entry to prevent bots.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    662
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo1763 View Post
    Do you run Chrome by any chance? It looks like RoboForm may have some issues with it (because of what Chrome allows, not because of Roboform)?
    afraid not
    This week I'm a Systems Specialist...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •