How To Install Google Earth on Veriton 5800 8I945AE board?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: How To Install Google Earth on Veriton 5800 8I945AE board?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    16

    How To Install Google Earth on Veriton 5800 8I945AE board?

    Perhaps this query shouldn't be asked here. If so chuck it away, sorry.

    But if it's valid: I can't install Google earth on this board. It says graphics card not compatible.

    It also said install DirectX but that didn't fix things. It also said use GL and that didn't fix things, either.

    Does anyone happen to know if the onboard graphics are really no good for the job or is there something I can do?

    I'm running winXP SP3. It's the latest version of GE I'm trying to install.

    If I need another graphics card does anyone have any suggestion as to a satisfactory cheap card?

    I've got three spare graphics cards, two brand new, but none fit these slots, wouldn't you know it....

    And when you put graphics cards into a machine with onboard graphics do you usually need to alter jumpers or BIOS or anything or does the system automatically accept the new board and disable the onboard?
    Last edited by abrogard; February 22nd, 2014 at 07:25 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,972
    System specs please.

    Depending on what onboard graphics you have; I would imagine the later mobo's onboard graphics should run it fine.

    And yes, generally you go in the bios to change from onboard to discrete.
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz (3.2 GHz), 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs., Windows 8.1 Pro

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    16
    System specs? What exactly? Will an extract from Belarc do? Here:


    System Security Status
    Security Benchmark Score
    Score
    0.67 of 10 (details...)


    Virus Protection
    Unknown
    Unknown


    Security Updates
    Alert!
    3 missing




    Computer Profile Summary
    Computer Name: Shedacer (in WORKGROUP)
    Profile Date: Sunday, February 23, 2014 11:51:30 AM
    Advisor Version: 8.4
    Windows Logon: dave

    new Click to try Belarc's Security Advisor for Android

    Operating System System Model
    Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (build 2600)
    Install Language: English (United States)
    System Locale: English (United States)
    Installed: 1/24/2014 11:38:26 PM
    Boot Mode: BIOS (Secure Boot not supported) Acer VERITON 5800 R01-A2
    System Serial Number: 54907178
    Enclosure Type: Desktop
    Processor a Main Circuit Board b
    3.00 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
    16 kilobyte primary memory cache
    2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    64-bit ready
    Hyper-threaded (2 total) Board: Acer G945MK
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
    BIOS: Award Software International, Inc. R01-A2 06/09/2005
    Drives Memory Modules c,d
    270.46 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    47.94 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

    3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

    QUANTUM FIREBALLlct20 20 [Hard drive] (20.42 GB) -- drive 0, s/n 052116146807, rev APL.0900, SMART Status: Healthy
    WDC WD2500AAJS-55M0A0 [Hard drive] (250.06 GB) -- drive 1, s/n WD-WCAV2C945764, rev 01.03E01, SMART Status: Healthy 2040 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory

    Slot 'A0' has 512 MB
    Slot 'A1' has 512 MB
    Slot 'A2' has 512 MB
    Slot 'A3' has 512 MB

    Hope that's enough. If not please let me know specifically what it is you would like and I'll get it..

    But that said nothing about graphics, did it? Well all I can find is in a spec sheet and it only says: Intel 945G Extreme 'integrated graphics'.

    Last edited by abrogard; February 22nd, 2014 at 08:31 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,972
    2yp16dt.jpg

    So a quick google search is, your board is (at least) a few generations old (LGA775 socket). You said you had some spare video cards around; do you know what they are? From what I can tell, you should have (at least according to google) 1 x16 pcie slot available for a modern video card.

    Maybe others would like to chime in here in case I'm wrong.
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz (3.2 GHz), 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs., Windows 8.1 Pro

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    16
    Yep, I know it's old. I try to build computers for the family from cheap old boards and cpu's I buy. Socket 755 is a good niche for me - cheap cpu's, cheap boards, cheap(ish) ram.

    Usually no problems. I mean, I've got old compaq EVO's running google earth. This is the first time I've ever ran into something like this.

    My video cards won't fit. Two are PCI I think - the PCI that has a three section tongue? The PCI slots in this mobo have two section tongues.

    One of them's AGP.

    I just bought from eBay this card:

    ATI RADEON 256MB PCI-E GRAPHICS CARD DMS-59 LOW PROFILE B276 - 109-B27631-00

    Maybe that'll work.

    So when I put a card in I have to go to BIOS on boot and find a switch for video?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,972
    I know the feeling

    According to google you will need a pci-e capable vid card (so no pci or agp vid card cards will work).

    That ATi radeon board SHOULD work with proper drivers (from windowsupdate or amd.com). So when you reboot your computer, go into the bios and choose discrete graphics (instead of onboard).

    Do you happen to know what mobo you have?
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz (3.2 GHz), 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs., Windows 8.1 Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    16
    Well I said that in the beginning, you've been making replies sound like you're aware of it... I'm confused now...

    It's an Intel 8I945AE. Reading it off the board.

    Belarc refers to it as: Acer G945MK


    Last edited by abrogard; February 23rd, 2014 at 06:11 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,266
    Instead of using outdated Belarc software, try others such as Speccy.
    If trying to get drivers for system in question, since that mobo is proprietary, download/use drivers from the system manufacturer's website. If system was from Acer, drivers should be provided by Acer.
    Make and model of the mobo means nothing in this situation except to try trace down brand/model of the system.
    With that said,
    If system in question is an Acer Veriton 5800, VGA drivers for use with WinXP 32-bit listed at acer.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for that. I downloaded/installed the driver from your link and now GE runs in
    DirectX mode well enough.

    Downloaded speccy, too. It seems okay, thanks. Has it got any specific real advantages over Belarc that I should be aware of? Or it's just generally more comprehensive perhaps?


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1
    Hello abrogard..!

    You're kind of pushing it unless you have added some ram. Here are the System Requirements. Make sure you have the latest video drivers and DirectX. There are various articles on the web about running GE with the Intel GMA 950 graphics that are probably what you have.

    If you want to continue to try and run the latest version you can download the full install from the Direct Installer Links Here. This may solve the installation problems. If it will install but you still have problems try the remedies in Crashing and Graphics Issues.

    Because of the computer and WinXP you will probably not be able to run version 7. You can download version 6.2 from the same Direct Installer Links. This has been working better with WinXP.

    Let me know how it goes.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    16
    Old thread this now, isn't it? Sorry I didn't let you know how it went. It went alright. It's been fine.

    But now I'm getting an error 'No accelerated openGL mode'.

    This is not Google Earth now.

    This is Minecraft (cracked) for my son.

    But the machine has Intel Graphics Media Accelerator Driver.

    Is that what was said earlier about needing Acer stuff rather than board manufacturer stuff?

    Though I thought I did that.

    Perhaps it is time to spring for a new graphics board if I'm going to (he's going to) continue using this machine?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •