[RESOLVED] Map Network Drive in Windows 7
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [RESOLVED] Map Network Drive in Windows 7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Philly, PA USA
    Posts
    131

    Thumbs up [RESOLVED] Map Network Drive in Windows 7

    I'm trying to map a network drive in Windows 7 Home Premium and it will not connect. I'm using the exact same settings that I used on my other PC with XP and it connects fine. I did some research online and everything I found says you need Windows 7 Professional. Is this correct? Is there no way to map a network drive with Home Premium? The settings I'm using are:

    Z: drive - \\192.9.2.25\shared

    Username and passsword connect in XP.
    They don't work in Windows 7.

    Anyone have any suggestions?
    "Where are all the stupid people from? And how'd they get to be so dumb?"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    2,668
    What happens/doesn't happen when you try to map? Are you getting an error?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Philly, PA USA
    Posts
    131
    It asks me to enter my network password. I enter it and it's stating that it's incorrect. It's not though. It works fine on the XP machine.

    This is what I get....

    LEN\rfuser1
    (password)

    The specified network password is incorrect


    It also gives me the option to use another account. If I click that, I can change the username and password. Below that section it has the domain as LEN. LEN is the name of the computer that I'm using that's trying to connect to the Z drive. It's not the name of the computer that I'm trying to connect to.
    "Where are all the stupid people from? And how'd they get to be so dumb?"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    2,668
    Are you sitting at the Win7 computer and trying to map to another PC?

    If yes - its asking for the user name and password of the other PC...If the other pc is XP and does not have a password - then you need to add a password since Vista and Win7 have newer security features.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Philly, PA USA
    Posts
    131
    I'm sitting at the Win7 PC and trying to connect to a Unix based computer that has a folder that is Windows accessible. That Unix system has a password and user name that I use to connect to it. That's what I'm using on the XP machine when I connect through that one. With the Win7 machine, it's telling me it's wrong.
    "Where are all the stupid people from? And how'd they get to be so dumb?"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Philly, PA USA
    Posts
    131
    Found the fix while searching online....

    For win Home Users:

    you can edit the registry yourself by doing this:

    1) open Notepad:

    2) copy this text and paste in notepad:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa]
    "lmcompatibilitylevel"=dword:00000002

    3) save the file on your desktop (or anywhere else) as name.reg - ".reg" is important.

    4) run the file and press yes on the 2 poppups.

    Now it should be fixed.


    I tried it and it worked for me.
    "Where are all the stupid people from? And how'd they get to be so dumb?"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1

    Thank you!!

    I signed up just to say that little bit of code worked great and thank you! I've setup this drive on quite a few XP and Vista computers around work and it's a two minute job tops! Windows 7? 3 hours of hacking with no fruition until this. Thank you!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Philly, PA USA
    Posts
    131
    Glad it helped. If I didn't have this forum I'd be lost!
    "Where are all the stupid people from? And how'd they get to be so dumb?"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1

    Need A help on Error Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    What happens/doesn't happen when you try to map? Are you getting an error?
    Hi Jones sorry i know this thread is marked as solved But was searching for a help on Windows 7 Home Premium Mapping Network Drive and came across this website and seen your reply asking for the ERROR message which i think is my case . I have connected my laptop to my office network through WiFi . Our network installed PC's has Windows 7 professional SP1 on them and my laptop has Win 7 Home Premium . It connects and and i can see all the PC's and NAS devices on the network under my Network folder in windows explorer BUT when i tries to open/access their shared folders and drives or tries to Map a drive/folder it gives the error exp. "\\abc is not accessible. you might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the Administrator of this server to find out if you have access permission. The Specified Network Path is Invalid." even i logged on as a Admin. our PC works under WORKGROUP and we dont have domain . Is this the OS issue or something else ? Your Help will be appreciated . Thanks Bilal

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •